We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Threepeat customer - perfect little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is my third stay at the Hatfield City Lodge and I always enjoy my time here. The staff are wonderfully courteous, always ready with a smile and salutation. Check in and out is easy. The rooms are perfectly proportioned for a business traveler - not too big, not too small. There is a nice desk and reliable internet (for a price). The bathrooms are clean, the bed is comfortable, and I appreciate the big windows that open on to the pool. The pool itself is on the small side, but serves its purpose, as does the fitness center. Both have been welcome ways to ease stiffness after long transatlantic flights. The hotel breakfast is excellent, with a large buffet to choose from. As other travelers have noted, there are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The higher floors have slightly less noise from the Gau-train. I once stayed on the floor directly...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

Rooms are large . Bathrooms were spotless and spacious. If you open the door for fresh air, you hear a lot of traffic and street noise - even at 11 PM and well after midnight in weekends. Location is near mall, food courts, restaurants, and 2 blocks away from Gautrain. So for the business traveller, it is a perfect location for a brief 2-3 night stay. Breakfast options are good. However, I would never stay here if my stay exceeds 4 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickTimepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Overall the hotel is decorated nicely and is situated in a good location, however it is not suitable or safe or families with small children. We reserved a "family" room that had no safety features. The windows open directly with no screens. We were given a room on the 5th floor and when our 3 children decided to take a look at the view realized there is no screen or bars whatsoever. Just a straight drop to the patio by the pool. To make matters worse there is a ledge the kids can stand on inside the room that boosts them right up to the windows level. One of our children is a 2yr old toddler and the door handles are about 31/2feet high and the locks are below the handle. Even when the lock is double locked a turn of the handle disengages the lock. There is no lock, latch, or chain above three feet, and the dead bolt is disengaged when the handle is pulled. We spent the first hour repeatedly pulling the baby away from the door because he could easily reach it and bolt down the hallway. We spoke to the office who had no options as all the rooms have the same doors and windows down low. We had to push a chair in front of the door and stack suitcases so the little one couldn't walk out of the room.

My husband stayed here on business and had no issues, in fact he said it was great. However this is not suitable for young children.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed here with my family and arrived late at night. Had booked an interleading but the door between refused to open up. No manager around so it took some time for plan b, which was to split up the family. No train smash. Good rooms of relatively generous proportions. Big enough bathrooms to swing cats, if we had one! Overall very fresh feeling but then again id expect that from a new hotel! Nothing to fault at all except the horrible 100% acrylic brown blankets that hotels still persist in using, 2011. Mind you, I had that recently at a 5 star hotel at 3 times the cost so at a 3 star it may be forgiven. Breakfast very standard but perfectly ok. The one thing that bugged me was that the ac was on even though it was in the middle of winter. I told one of the waiters but they could not do anything so i almost caught a cold. But the best was the lovely receptionist. Not only pretty but the most wonderful smile and very helpful and alert. She will prob go places. Needed to visit a consulate in the area which was on a walking distance so the location was perfect. The value was excellent here but that is also due to me using the hotel express card that gives half rates at city lodges. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed at the City Lodge in August for a work trip. It is located right in the Hatfield center, so very easy to walk to restaurants and the grocery store. The was also a spa in the gym next store where I had a very relaxing facial. I found staff to be very friendly and the service good. Breakfast was so/so, but the cafe salads and sandwiches were EXCELLENT.

The best thing about the City Lodge was the rooms! My room was large and there was a good heater/AC. I was on a higher floor corner room with 2 sides of windows. BUT, the blinds were blackout curtains so I was not woken up on weekends. Also, there was a very long bathtub so I enjoyed taking relaxing soaks before bed.

Improvements to be made: the WiFi was not stable, I do not remember a fridge in the room, the is not room service (you can go to the cafe order and wait, or you can call for takeout)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a brand-new and well-equipped hotel in a brilliant location. Rooms are big enough for a single business traveller or a couple staying for one or two nights. There are no black-out curtains so if light disturbs you bring a mask. Room equipment is good and the bathroom is huge and well-designed with separate bath. There is limited free Wi-Fi or a free computer for use in the communal areas. The buffet breakfast was good, the restaurant is now open for good light meals at night and the hotel bar is one of the most reasonably priced bars I've even come across. There is room service from nearby hotels billable to your room. The location is unparalleled, half a block from the front door to the train station and 20 meters to a large gym if the small hotel fitness room isn't enough. Burnette street eateries and activity is 20 meters in the other direction but there was no noise at all from there at night. The staff were brilliant, obviously well-trained in the art of service. I got a room for 30% cheaper through an online travel agent than was offered directly on the hotel website, but either way this place is really cheap for the location and product. The courtyard arcadia will still attract me for longer stays because of the convenience of the in-room kitchenette but for a trip of a few days I will always stay here in future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed there last week since I took part in a seminar close by. The rooms are large and nice, and the bathroom is also large with a separate shower and a tub. Breakfast were very good. The only problem was that the restaurant did not serve dinner at night. However, it was possible to order takeaway food and have it eaten in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Screwcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#18 of 73 in Pretoria
100 reviews
2.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
#12 of 73 in Pretoria
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
1.1 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
2.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Hatfield

Address: 407 Hilda Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range: £76 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Hatfield 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of the Gautrain’s Hatfield Station, the 184-room City Lodge Hatfield is the ideal accommodation location for business and leisure travelers in the Jacaranda City. It is close to Pretoria’s CBD, just a few minutes from the city’s sporting and cultural attractions, and has excellent access to the city’s major roads and surrounding freeway system. With two meeting rooms (a 10-seater and a 12-seater), it’s great for meetings as well. The hotel is also equipped with all the other facilities that City Lodges have become famous for around South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing