We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean, safe hotel with good amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I travel to Pretoria on a quarterly basis for work and this is a quaint, clean, well managed hotel. The staff are courteous, the breakfast is good and the gym and pool are adequate. The breakfast, while a little overpriced, is nice. I would recommend if you can get a good rate.

Room Tip: Make sure you request if you want a king or double bed. I was stuck with two singles, which isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Hatfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the review. We're happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed the breakfast. We will look into the issue you have raised about the windows. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

I'm a frequent traveller to Pretoria. I have been to the City Lodge before and had a hard time sleeping because of the noisy street and people shouting in front of the building. So when I checked out, I asked for a quiet room for next time. When making the reservation for that visit, I again asked for a quiet room. When checking in, I again asked for a quiet room.
What I got was a room facing a discotheque down the road that was pumping with noise even during the week. I had a to finally give in and use earplugs the first night, which led to what I had dreaded - not hearing my alarm clock the next morning, sleeping in and missing a meeting. The next evening I wanted to change rooms, but they told me they were completely booked and I couldn't move until the next morning. That night, the club pumped their music until after two, then came the drunkards who were shouting beneath the windows. I finally found sleep at 3:30h.
As if that hadn't been bad enough, when I talked to the manager the next day, all she could come up with was that she was sorry, it shouldn't have happened and she would "follow up on it". If it would make me feel better: They are in the process of suing that club (which only tells me that they are well aware of the problem!). When telling her that I wouldn't be coming back to this hotel, all she said was that they would surely try to give me a quiet room next time, although of course she couldn't guarantee anything. As for the trouble caused, she said they have my mail and she would "think of something".
That is two months ago now. I never ever received even a note of "we're sorry", let alone an email or an offer for recompensation.

If you want to sleep (which should be possible in a hotel, really!) or feel like your concerns are taking seriously, stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: rather stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinchenBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

stayed at there for 4 nights while attending a conference. Building is fairly new with nice architecture. Rooms are a bit on the small side. Our room was facing the main road and it was noisy, especially on Friday and Saturday evening and night with the mall and restaurants just across the road. The window did not close properly. Breakfast was good and generous, breakfast restaurant airy and light with access to the garden and pool deck. Staff friendly. Proximity to Gautrain, almost walking distance. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelMeilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Hatfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the review. We're happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed the breakfast. We will look into the issue you have raised about the windows. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights in i thought would b budget hotel. New, modern and clean. Has onsite restaurant nice outdoor pool terrace area and serves decent breakfasts. Free underground parking and wifi can be purchase from AllwaysOn. Got reduced rate by booking online. Its also possible to bid for weekend bookings at most of the four branded hotels in the chain.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My business partner is currently staying in the City Lodge Hatfield, doing business in Pretoria. The rooms don't have direct dial numbers, so when I needed to call her to discuss progress, I had to phone reception and be forwarded to her room. A little out-dated, but not a huge issue.

The woman who answered my call on the first day was acceptable but apathetic. The man who answered my call on the second day was apathetic on my first call, but when the connection dropped and I had to ring back, he became incredibly rude - only routing the call after making it clear that doing so wasn't worth his while, and that this was a stupid thing to be asking.

An incredibly disappointing and unnecessary experience for such a vital requirement (with no other alternatives). This isn't a hotel to recommend for those that need the most basic of business amenities. They also only offer 15 minutes of slow WiFi each day, which is poor for business needs.

My (large) company won't ever be staying with this chain again - despite our regular working in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank displeasedbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel was used as part of a sporting tournament that I was involved in. From the Road it looks a bit small and basic but this is deceptive as once you get passed the reception the hotel opens up and the rooms are fantastic as are the other facilities. My room was big and had all I required over my 8 night stay. The breakfast was great but they don't do dinners but there are so many restaurants close by. This is a great location and I would stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that faces the Road as Friday and Saturday nights are very noisy and I found it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for one week for our training in our office based in Pretoria. Facilities are good; with nice pool, cafe and clean room. This is strategically located in the university area where there are also lots of place to eat, dine and shop. It is a 10 minutes walk to the office, thus very convenient. What makes it excellent is their hospitality and friendly atmosphere. Never had I encountered problems or issues with them. They are ready to assist and serve with a kind attitude. Generally I have observed this kind of attitude in the whole South Africa; from the baggers in the groceries, restaurant servers, etc.. they are all kind and nice.

I have been to many countries and South Africa is unique in that way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worknleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
#15 of 74 in Pretoria
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#19 of 74 in Pretoria
105 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Hatfield

Address: 407 Hilda Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range: £78 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Hatfield 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of the Gautrain’s Hatfield Station, the 184-room City Lodge Hatfield is the ideal accommodation location for business and leisure travelers in the Jacaranda City. It is close to Pretoria’s CBD, just a few minutes from the city’s sporting and cultural attractions, and has excellent access to the city’s major roads and surrounding freeway system. With two meeting rooms (a 10-seater and a 12-seater), it’s great for meetings as well. The hotel is also equipped with all the other facilities that City Lodges have become famous for around South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing