We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stef's table

Stef's table
Ranked #38 of 680 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Wow - what an incredible restaurant! If only we had found it sooner. We've been coming to Hartbeespoort for years, and it was only because I was trying to find a restaurant that catered for vegetarians that we ended up finding this place online.

We were a group of 7 who had a late lunch on the terrace of the restaurant. The service from Stef and his partner was perfect; attentive, a bit of banter, informative. The food was unusual and satisfying. I had the pork with crackling and the calamari, which were excellent. The duck was also fantastic.
All finished off with some great wine and a beautiful setting. And the bill was not too bad either!

Make sure you book and tell Stef in advance if you have vegetarians, dietary requirements or any special occasions.

Highly, highly, highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Gen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    12
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food in intimate setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Small intimate restaurant, excellent food, pleasant ambience. This is an ideal venue for small business functions or private birthday parties. The Stef mentioned in the name does the imaginative culinary work, while front of house duties are handled by his partner Athlone. The decor can only be described as eclectic with old oil paintings and Tiffany lamps. When we dined there the starters were Gorgonzola & plum salad, Green Thai prawn tails, Mediterranian Calamari. Main courses included the following selection, Flambe Fillet of beef wrapped in bacon in mushroom sauce. pan fried kabeljou fillet with roast capsicum salsa, Malayan lamb shank, oriental loin of pork, Indian lamb curry. Our party of four each had a different plate and all agreed it was an excellent meal. However why is there always a however, service is decidedly slow and I mean slow. If you drive there for Sunday lunch...we came at 12.30 and we only finished four hours later. Fortunately we were not in a hurry ! Booking essential as seating is limited (about 30 covers)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikec004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendliest chef in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Yesterday evening for the second time we had dinner at Stef's Table and this time we brought our parents with us, because they deserved a nice evening with great food. And that's what we got!
Stef and Athlone make sure you feel more welcome than you've ever felt in any restaurant and not only are the decorations and the atmosphere unique, also the food is amazing. I had the Flambe Fillet which was rich with taste and the other dishes looked delicious as well. During dessert (best chocolate ever!) Stef turned off the music and started playing on the piano. This personal touch made our evening complete and we will be back someday soon!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DiloCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Special!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Very cosy, top class food, use this place for special occasions and you will remember it forever. Your chef,host and occasional entertainer all in one and makes you feel like it was all for you only!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ABSaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A fabulous evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

A recent visit to Stef's table in Hartebeespoort, resulted in an exceptional dining experience! We found the service to be first class, warm and friendly still allowing for an intimate dining experience. Delicious prawn tail starter, Duck and orange pie, beef fillet wrapped in bacon with porcini mushrooms and a chocolate "bomb" for desert. What stands out in our minds is, besides a wonderful combination of flavours, great presentation and well thought out flavour combinations, was the use of absolutely fresh ingredients! No ginger powder, bottled garlic or parsley - all fresh and subltly combined resulting in an above average delivery! Well done guys, we will most certainly return!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stef's table also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Stef's table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing