We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night stay over”
Review of The Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Farm Inn
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Saturday night stay over”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Reception @ this hotel pathetic ! Took 15 minutes to book in and another 15 to find the room ! Parking a distance from the rooms . Rooms no aircons just a fan that hardly turns ! This place is over rated ! Checking out took another 10 min with only one person at the counter answering the phone !

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maniephw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    75
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
46
33
5
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I booked a much needed stay at The Farm Inn. We looked forward to relax in the well kept gardens; the beautiful rooms; the wonderful food! When you look at their website, it seems as if everything is too good too be true!! BUT......
From the moment you arrive, things look neglected. When you turn into their driveway from the main road, their menu is written by someone in his own hanndwriting with yellow paint on a black board! Really would suggest they let a professional printing company take care of that! Next is the gardens - neglected! Weeds growing; no cutting of grass... Parking area - nets need urgent attention etc.
The we booked in..... the room.... Want to agree with all the others - EIGHTIES!! In need of urgent attention! Old furniture; old tv's; bathroom stained; old cupboards...
The staff are very friendly and helpful though! That was unfortunately the only positive thing about The Farm Inn. I would suggest that they close the place, and renovate it urgently. They definitely do not AT ALL deserve a 4 star rating! I think they earned it maybe a long time ago....
They are portraying a false image on their website as well. This is unacceptable!
The Farm Inn has lots of potential - but is in need of desperate attention. I really hope that the owners make time to read all these reviews!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnitaKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

Farm Inn has a very African feel to it, thatched roof, wildlife pictures, animal heads on the walls and even lions roaring at night. The food was more than adequate and the staff nice and friendly and with a little reserve which you can go around too (at a small cost), it was quite a nice place to stay. The economy rooms however (the ones we/friends stayed in #69, 70 & 71) were terrible. Small, very dated and with probably the worst bathrooms I have seen in years. Whoever gave this place 4 stars certainly didn't look in the rooms. Having said that, the rest of what we saw was very nice and certainly gave you that 'African' experience. Would visit again for sure, but would be hesitant about spending a night there until they refurbish the bedrooms.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnAnnaResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great hotel, friendly "wildlife "atmosphere. The bush in the city. Good food, served inside or in the gardens. Staff very friendly. Well situated for access to highways. At night you can hear the lions roar. If you want to stay in a nice hotel, with great ambiance and ecxellent service, stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My husband thought to surprise with a romantic evening away from home and noticed that The Farm Inn had a special on - Book a standard room and you will be upgraded to a deluxe room for the same cost - R510.00 per person sharing incl. breakfast". The photo's of the rooms looked very nice and he confirmed the booking.

When we arrived at the hotel we checked in and were taken to our room......WHAT A SHOCK!!! It's definitely not the same as the photo's on the website! The room dates back to the early 80's and must have been one of the first rooms built! The furniture were old, the bathroom was also very old and the bath was stained light yellow - perhaps age?

The food, garden and surrounding area is fabulous. But the rooms is definitely due for an upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJAFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
184 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I attended a 5-day workshop here and got a good feel for the place. As a conference facility, it works well. It's located in a quiet safe suburb of Pretoria on the outskirts of town.

The property is very much sprawling with plenty of room to move around, and during the time I was there, there were several days when there were 3 or 4 concurrent ongoing functions. Staff were friendly and accommodating and appeared easily able to handle multiple groups of guests and functions.

The highlight of my stay was the food which was excellent, consistently good every meal. The breakfast buffet had a good range of meats, eggs and vegetables, as well as cereal and juices. There were several vegetarian choices that pleased some of my colleagues. The lunch and dinner buffets also good with a big range of choices including meats, salads, and sweets. We had a brie several nights at a facility down at the end of the property, which also had a bar, and was great. The chef clearly takes pride in presenting good food and he personally came around to our group at each meal time to ask us whether we were happy with the food.

The room I stayed in was in the South Stables building, a stone construction. I found it spacious enough for two people, but cold and dark. Furniture was adequate but looking old. There was a bathtub but I had to hold the hose over my head to take a shower. The towel rack was small and towels had to be pulled out with force to use them and they could not be put back easily. Water temperature was inconsistent. The path in front of the rooms was worn, uneven and dusty. Overall the rooms are in need of renovation, and outsides of the building in need of a facelift. The building was near the edge of the property opposite the caged lions. They called at night early in the morning and it felt like I was off on safari somewhere. An interesting wake-up call.

The meeting room was large enough for our 30 plus group and met our needs in terms of the arrangement of desks, projector table, screen and flipcharts. The coffee breaks were done well except that next time I would not choose sandwiches but cakes or cookies. The toilet inside the room is in need of plumbing.

The dining rooms, bar and lobby area were crowded with stuffed animals over the walls, and antique furniture, and gave a bit-dated flavour of Africa. Like the bedrooms, the interior design could be in need of a pretty major upgrade.

Room Tip: Rooms further from the main building may be more quiet except when lions are calling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the Farm Inn to be pleasant overall. We were three and as such had a family room. It was comfortable and convenient for us. We had drinks in the bar and lounge - service was good. The rooms however do feel as though they need a little bit of attention.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstinWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
9.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#13 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
6.2 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#6 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#5 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
6.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
9.1 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#11 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm Inn

Property: The Farm Inn
Address: Silverlakes Road, Pretoria 0041, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farm Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing