We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopped for a beer - wished we had stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farm Inn
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stopped for a beer - wished we had stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

On our recent trip to South Africa, my partner and I stopped here for a beer on our way back to our hotel. We were really impressed with the hotel, it was great fun to see the animals. When we saw the standard of the rooms we immediately wished that we were staying here - it was so much nicer than the Protea in Centurion! Lesson Learned - next time we stay at this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soton-mike80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    75
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
44
33
4
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I just spent one night with my mom and daughter, we stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. The accommodation was comfortable and neat.
The website and other sites underplay Farm Inn - it surpassed my expectations. I have been to many 4 star establishments and this was definitely at the top end. There was lots to do for my daughter and we went on an amazing game drive for just about nothing.
It is a lot bigger than expected and is a fantastic place for conferences and events like weddings and parties.
The service was excellent.
I have decided to go back at least every 2 months for a weekend or longer.
For around R1000 a night with breakfast and only 45 min from Jhb - it's a treat.
Location is breath taking

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekendsaway45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here for one night in October. Would definitely go back and would stay for longer. The staff on reception are extremely friendly and helpful, the gardens and buildings are beautiful and the animals are awesome. The room itself was amazing and tastefully decorated.
I was able to do a cheetah experience on short notice after I arrived - thanks to the efficiency of the staff. They also advised me well in advance of a change to the time I would do this experience. This is an incredible opportunity to interact with a truly amazing animal. The game keepers are friendly and knowledgeable and prepared to answer questions and take photos. If you do get the opportunity to do this please be respectful of the opportunity you've been given to get up close with this beautiful cat.
The reception area is a sight to behold. Some of the lions who lived at the farm have been stuffed and now hold pride of place as you walk into the building. There are many pictures, carvings, sculptures and paintings throughout the foyer and lounge area that continue the animal and African theme.The restaurant continues the theme of the rest of the premises. The food is very good, as is the service.
Farm Inn, as well as being a hotel is also involved in important conservation work. Game drives around the property help to raise people's awareness of conservation issues for some of the animals at the farm, such as lions, leopards, cheetah and wild dogs and they are part of breeding work as well. Some of the animals, such as the white lions, won't ever be able to be released into the wild but they serve an important educative purpose.
I did the morning game drive on the day I checked out. Dion is an excellent guide, friendly and very knowledgeable about the animals. It is obvious he cares about the animals and the work. The animals are well-cared for and the enclosures are well-maintained and quite large to allow the animals to move around freely. The giraffes, wildebeest and other herbivores free-range in the grounds.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheetahgirlBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Came here on a Sunday on our last day in Pretoria before heading back to Australia. Our family who live in Pretoria did not even know this place existed right in Pretoria.
The game drive was rather was on the average side, quite sad to see such large beautiful animals cooped up in cages. It felt like more of a zoo than a 'game park' The driver was was knowledgeable and you can see that he enjoys his job however at the same time you could see he was going through the motions for the umpteenth time that day.
The Sunday lunch was excellent, so much food and so much variety. I loved the fact there was so much South African cuisine-would highly recommend this place for lunch as the food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaryd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Conferencing started out on a bad note, got to the conference room and sound did not work. Took 3 technicians and 2 hours later to have the problem sorted. Rest room facilities around the conference area is not efficient especially if a big group is being hosted.

The accommodation made up for it, beautiful rooms, big bathrooms, comfortable beds. Only disappointment was that wifi is not free. One would expect an establishment like this would have at least free wifi.

I did not have time to do the game drive, but heard from other guest that its worth it, food was good, service a bit slow.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

A great place to spend a day in the wild with those beautiful animals! It was an enjoyable experience and the hotel is beautifully decorated with the African flavour.

The grounds were beautifully kept and laid out.

The petting zoo and playgrounds were a nice touch for those visiting with children.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarefulChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuf-Brisach, France
Level Contributor
210 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed from 4 to 6 Aug 2013 again for two nights in this nice hotel. Spacious room (11) equipped with everything I need, breakfast with broad range of choice, including individual prepared eggs, omelette etc. Very nice and friendly people everywhere, perfect maintained facilites. The restaurant offers high quality food/cooking and service, the bar is a perfect place for relaxing from challenging business days. Will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malefisohu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
9.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#13 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
6.2 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
6.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
9.1 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#10 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm Inn

Property: The Farm Inn
Address: Silverlakes Road, Pretoria 0041, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farm Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing