We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place with even lovely hosts”

Meintjieskop Guest Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meintjieskop Guest Lodge
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a lovely place with even lovely hosts”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was overwhelemed by the freindlyness of the owners. I am vegan and Merci cooked the first time in her life vegan. It was so well done! Great - I was positively overwhelmed and when I come back to Pretoria I will exchange vegan food idas with Merci. Willem did everything to make me feel comfortable and every morning I had my soy milk and all the smiles you need in the morning. Great place to stay!

Dankie!

Christian from Germany

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chwolke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Guest House is run by a couple of South Africans: Merci and Willem. They are lovely people, open minded, discrete and very warm. The location is a few hundred meters from the Union Building, in a quiet and safe residential area. The rooms are surprisingly spacious and comfortable, with a very natural vintage style. Very large beds. Garden and small swimming pool. Brekfast very rich and, upon request, a delicious family cooking. All at a very competitive price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnzoCaputo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

A lovely spacious room with a balcony overlooking the pool, very thoughtful and friendly hosts who show the best of Afrikaaner hospitality. They make you feel like a guest in their home and not just customers. The proximity to the centre of town makes it very conveniently located. The most impressive thing is the beautiful wooden floored bathroom with a beautiful, old, free-standing bath tub.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

My parents stayed here while visiting me in Pretoria. They raved about Mercia and Willem Steenkamp's excellent service, especially the fabulous breakfasts. The guesthouse is ideally located, within walking distance to the Union Buildings, Hatfield and the embassies, in a beautiful, safe part of town. The building itself is beautifully furnished with a pool and lots of space to lounge around, with tons of great reading material and a wonderful garden. The hosts went above and beyond, even offering rides to my parents and very helpful advice. The parents of two other friends stayed here and both had great experiences. I highly recommend Meintjieskop!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jb2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort walton beach, florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

Willem and Marcia Steenkamp and family are superb hosts! Even though we spent just one night, they were welcoming, made a great dinner, and their son drove us to the station next day. If you want to learn how an Afrikaaner family has adapted to the inevitable changes in S. Africa, they are thoughtful, and interesting people. Plus, we loved our balcony overlooking the pool, and the walk down Government Street is safe and really pretty, particularly when the jacarandas are blooming in Oct/Nov.
Strongly recommend!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank cincobayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2006

I stayed at Meintjieskop for several weeks during consulting jobs in South Africa. The hosts are a true delight and are always on hand to see to your every need while still giving you space if needed. They are very willing to give you guidance in travelling or in my case living in Pretoria. It is very spacious and clean, the food is great, and the location is central while still being very secluded and quiet. While staying there you will find many return guests and that probably says it all.

I recommended the guest house to several fellow consultants who were staying in full service hotels. As far as I know, no one has gone back to hotel living after staying in Meintjieskop. I wouldn't consider staying anyplace else in Pretoria.

Stayed December 1999
Helpful?
3 Thank SavannahGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#15 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.0 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#5 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.7 mi away
Picture This - Pretoria North Lodge & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#10 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
9.7 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meintjieskop Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meintjieskop Guest Lodge

Property: Meintjieskop Guest Lodge
Address: 145 Eastwood Street | Eastwood, Pretoria 0084, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Meintjieskop Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meintjieskop Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing