We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BB ~ just like a mother's touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tree Guest House
Ranked #25 of 365 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This BB/guesthouse is our home for 18 days -- and we love it.

The owner, Renee, is caring and thoughtful. She is very hands-on and makes sure that everything is alright, if not perfect. The service is personalize. Her husband, Fred, is equally warm and friendly.

There's a garden and a pool to relax.

Security is good.

There's even a laundry service --- and the charge is reasonable.

Renee and Fred have reliable and efficient assistants --- Silia, Dalsy and Sam. They are nice and friendly.

Breakfast is huge -- eggs, ham/bacon and sausages with rice/bread/pork&beans. Yogurt, fruits and cereals are always available.

This place is clean and tidy. Our room is big. We have a small fridge, a mini kitchen with cupboard. It has a closet. The king size bed is always tucked. Toilet and bath are clean.

Wifi and cable-tv are available.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yokoramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2011

We spent a wonderful time at this guest house. We had never expected such a personlised welcome and hospitality and we are very happy that we have chosen the Bay Tree Guest house.
Renee, the owner is a wonderful person and she makes her guests feel that she really cares about all of us. She went not only the extra mile but the extra marathon for our group, down to the point of taking one of our participants to the hospital, setting up an appointment with a specialist for another guest, taking us to the ATM, waiting for a missing guest on a saturday night and coming to the restaurant to tell us the missing guest did not show up, confirming flight tickets, adapting the dinners to the home cooking of some members of our group, organising our transfers and taxis, taking care of all our little and big needs and everything with a warm and caring attitude.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annAalborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

On arrival we were warmly greeted by Renée Mc Cleary and spoiled with coffee and a slice of home baked 'melktert', a true South African treat. Beds were made up as requested in advance with sheets and a blanket - the bedroom was spacious.

We went out to a family 'DO' in the evening and I had the misfortune to pick up severe food poisoning.

In the morning Renée graciously offered to take my husband to the function, and I remained in bed. On her return she looked in on me, and insisted on taking me to the nearest ER where she made sure I was comfortable and being attended to, before she left to do her chores. In fact I never realized just how ill I had been until the doctor showed me the blood test results a couple of hours later.

When the hospital was ready to discharge me, Renée returned and took me back to her home/guesthouse. Nothing was too much for her, and it was all done with the warmth and kindness of a friend.

Renée went way beyond what anyone would expect a guesthouse owner to do, and she did all this with true concern and generosity of spirit. My husband said the breakfast was excellent, and there is no doubt that Bay Tree Guesthouse is superbly positioned for any visitor to Pretoria.

As far as value for money - as an ex-Pretorian, I can tell you there is no place finer in the city! That was why I had picked to stay there in the first place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We were booked into Bay Tree by our employers and it was perfect. Renee runs her guest house with the efficiency and conviences that you would expect of a top class hotel. But of course it's much nicer to be in an unprentious atmosphere, to enjoy peace and quiet and still the amenities (excellent wifi, coffee/tea, pool).
Breakfast is terrific, fresh fruit, eggs, great bread, Lisa takes care of that, even when we needed it at 0630 am.
The swimming pool and garden is a perfect place to wind down and relax. And lovely tea and cake is offered to you.
There are many restaurants around the corner, all within walking distance. Our favorite 'the pond' is in a park with antilope, blue cranes and more, and of course good food.
All in all a great place to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telefoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank meijer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
10.6 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#19 of 74 in Pretoria
145 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Amper Bo Guest House
Amper Bo Guest House
#216 of 365 in Pretoria
7 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montpellier Guesthouse
Montpellier Guesthouse
#64 of 365 in Pretoria
25 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree Guest House

Address: 489 Roper Street | Bailey's Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £46 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Tree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing