We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant refuge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birdwood Guest House

Birdwood Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pretoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birdwood Guest House
Ranked #61 of 357 Pretoria B&B and Inns
N England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very pleasant refuge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Stayed for 4 nights. Slightly faded colonial look, very comfortable, good breakfast and very friendly helpful staff. A good choice if you don't want a big hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Birdwood is run by a wonderful and friendly team who make you feel very welcome and where nothing is too much trouble. Feels like you're staying with friends. They are very flexible in their approach.

There are a range of well appointed rooms set amongst lovely gardens. The food served in the dining room is top notch.

Located amongst the embassy precinct in Hatfield.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

This is a beautiful, well kept B&B type of place. The rooms are lovely, modern, and spacious. Surroundings are very quiet and you can even hear the birds in the morning. Lovely green and lush gardens. And a beautiful small pool. Wonderful breakfast. The service is impeccable. No hesitation to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaAylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

A wonderful guest house! I stayed in the Main Room and the bed was so comfy, the sheets were amazing and they supplied more than enough pillows and blankets to keep me warm and cozy. Cable television, a small complimentary bottle of wine and dried fruits in the room the rooms were excellent. Also very flexible with checkout time as I had to wait for my transport to the airport. A great place to stay, but I would suggest making sure you are in the main house as I saw one of the other rooms on the property and it was quite a bit smaller and less elegant than the one I was in!

  • Liked — safe location, wonderful linens and bed
  • Disliked — no devoted check in desk so often difficult to find someone to ask questions
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lisa095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#16 of 74 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#19 of 74 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
0.8 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdwood Guest House

Property: Birdwood Guest House
Address: 976 Arcadia Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Hotel Class:4 star — Birdwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing