We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Individual Style”

Birdwood Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pretoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birdwood Guest House
Ranked #66 of 363 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I stayed here for three nights on business. They were very accommodating - I arrived at 8am but my room was ready and I was even offered breakfast. The place felt very secure with plenty of security and they also used a good taxi company for shuttling you around.

It does have it's own style and perhaps is not the most modern of places but it was nice to stay somewhere a little different. They have a pool - I did try to use it but this is Pretoria winter we are talking about here - it was FREEZING :-) All meals were available - they cooked me soft boiled eggs (perfectly I have to say) for breakfast at my request. There is no menu really so you can just try and figure out what you want to eat with the ownners beforehand. I'm vegetarian and they cooked me some lovely things.

Internet was in very good working order - although I bought a 50MB voucher which ran down very quickly. Once I informed the lady on receeption of this she gave me 2 x 100 MB vouchers for no charge so that turned out okay. I think this buying internet in terms of MB is a South African thing as I experienced it in a couple of places here.

All in all a great, happy and secure stay. My only complaint would be that I thought prices were a little high for what you were getting as a few things were not quite perfect (eg my room was quite cold as this is not a modern establishment and so doesn't have great insulation) but all in all a successful stay.

Caz

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazmantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Birdwood Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

Katamar, I met you at Birdwood and had to listen to all your comments and complaints and your dissatisfied attitude towards life and Birdwood. My experience was totally the opposite: light and airy room, comfortable bed, delicious food, professional friendly staff and a warm atmosphere, more than adequate lotions and potions, not to mention the convenience of being close to the city and embassies. I feel fortunate and spoilt to have had the luxury of staying at this establishment and have never received any better service or viewed more dedicated staff in my life before IN ALL MY TRAVELS.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Stayed for 4 nights. Slightly faded colonial look, very comfortable, good breakfast and very friendly helpful staff. A good choice if you don't want a big hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirelass32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Birdwood is run by a wonderful and friendly team who make you feel very welcome and where nothing is too much trouble. Feels like you're staying with friends. They are very flexible in their approach.

There are a range of well appointed rooms set amongst lovely gardens. The food served in the dining room is top notch.

Located amongst the embassy precinct in Hatfield.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

This is a beautiful, well kept B&B type of place. The rooms are lovely, modern, and spacious. Surroundings are very quiet and you can even hear the birds in the morning. Lovely green and lush gardens. And a beautiful small pool. Wonderful breakfast. The service is impeccable. No hesitation to recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttawaAylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

A wonderful guest house! I stayed in the Main Room and the bed was so comfy, the sheets were amazing and they supplied more than enough pillows and blankets to keep me warm and cozy. Cable television, a small complimentary bottle of wine and dried fruits in the room the rooms were excellent. Also very flexible with checkout time as I had to wait for my transport to the airport. A great place to stay, but I would suggest making sure you are in the main house as I saw one of the other rooms on the property and it was quite a bit smaller and less elegant than the one I was in!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lisa095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jean-Pierre75018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
9.7 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#21 of 73 in Pretoria
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
2.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
122 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coral Tree House
Coral Tree House
#36 of 363 in Pretoria
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdwood Guest House

Address: 976 Arcadia Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 363 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Hotel Class:4 star — Birdwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing