We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home.............”
Review of Brooklyn Lodge

Brooklyn Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pretoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brooklyn Lodge
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A home away from home.............”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

It is a cliché, but it was really how it felt during the 4 nights I stayed in the Brooklyn Lodge on a business trip to Pretoria. Very spacious and clean accomodation with an enormous and well-equiped bathroom. Very friendly and helpful manageress and staff. Good breakfast. Free Wifi - almost indispensable nowadays. Pick-up from - and drop-off at - the J'burg airport arranged through the hotel. Nice and hassle-free.
Within 5 minutes walk from the Brookly Mall - a great shopping area with lots of food outlets. Many good restaurants to choose from, in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cees45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
The Western Hemisphere
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is a small, well-managed property that is well suited to business travelers.

My room was large and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was stunningly renovated and included a deep, free-standing bathtub that I enjoyed my first night. The split unit AC was a bit underpowered, given the size of the room, so that it took until 3:00 or 4:00 am each night until I felt really comfortable.

There is a restaurant/delicatessen in the hotel that opens at 6:30 am (very convenient) and closes around 8:00 pm (not a problem for me; I go to bed early).

There are no recreational facilities in the hotel but the front-desk manager offered to lend me a bike to go to a nearby gym that admits hotel guests gratis.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank _0_0_0_Tim_0_0_0_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The helpful and gracious staff plus a large, spacious room and bath make up for the older nature of this accommodation. Clean and comfortable, but lacking four star quality amenities. If updated, would be very nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2006

We were very happy with our stay at the Brooklyn Lodge. It was recommended by a South African friend because Brooklyn, an upscale suburb of Pretoria, was "safe" and the Lodge is located within walking distance to the Brooklyn Mall and several of the best resturants in Pretoria. The Lodge is a small, family-run hotel with perhaps 10 rooms. From the outside it could be mistaken for one of the office buildings on the same block. Inside it was very comfortable. The rooms, which were recently remodled, are very spacious and spotlessly clean. The fresh fruit and flowers placed in the room each day was a nice touch. Maria, the owner/manager, and her well trained staff were exceptionally friendly and eager to assist us in every way, e.g., Maria arranged tours for us, rented us a car and provided useful information about what to see and do in Pretoria and Johannesburg. Breakfast or afternoon tea were social occassions and we enjoyed meeting the other guests, mostly from the U.S. Freshly baked cakes and an array of other sweets were always on the table all day long. Maria was always busy doing something but was never to busy to answer questions or simply sit and chat over a glass of excellent South African wine. We were very pleased with the Lodge and will stay there again the next time we are in Pretoria.

  • Liked — the location and the friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — a little noise from traffic in the morning
  • Tips/Secrets — street crime is a problem in Pretoria and the Lodge is in a "safe" area, but one still has to be cautious.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank travel2rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.6 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#21 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
AM Milner
AM Milner
#27 of 73 in Pretoria
36 reviews
1.6 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#9 of 73 in Pretoria
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklyn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Lodge

Property: Brooklyn Lodge
Address: | Corner 308 Tram St and Bronkhorst St, New Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooklyn Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklyn Lodge is located in the upmarket business suburb of Brooklyn. Only 200m from the Brooklyn Mall, and in close proximity to many Embassies and Government Offices. We are 5 km from Pretoria train station, 4 km from Loftus Versfeld, Within 5 km to a handful of Hospitals and Private Medical facilities and 9 km from the National Zoological Gardens of South Africa. We have 16 bright individually decorated rooms and suites. Each room has a TV with DSTV channels, air-conditioning, mini-bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, irons and ironing boards for those that choose not to use the laundry facility, and a private patio. Other facilities include a rooftop patio with BBQ, secure undercover and lock-up parking, airport transfers, 24-hour security, and Zoe's Cafe & Restaurant which is fully licensed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing