We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Pretoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Pretoria”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband stays at this hotel quite frequently for business and last week I joined him. Pleasant location in Hill Street, which at the right time of year is lined with Jacaranda trees. The rooms are clean, bright and spacious with kitchenettes. There is a small pool area. Breakfasts are goodl. The hotel operates a happy hour from 6-7pm. Staff are very courteous, friendly and helpful. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 20 is on two levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    49
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
28
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel is my default location when I'm in Pretoria for business. Conveniently located in the embassy district and minutes away from all the government buildings (literally a few blocks from the Union Buildings).

This is a typical Courtyard Hotel with separate rooms spread out across the property. All rooms are small suites with a bathroom, sitting area and foyer/kitchenette. The hotel also has a convenient arrangement with Woolworths foods allowing you to order items for delivery to your room. An extensive take away/room service selection is also available.

The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel also offers free drinks and snacks in the evening and serves a lovely breakfast (although we normally opt for muesli in the room). An extensive guest office with free printing is available. One suggestion would be that they increase the paltry 30MB free Wifi allowance (this is really silly).

With the opening of the new Hatfield Gautrain station, the hotel is extremely conveniently located - only a stress-free train ride from the airport. The Gautrain Bus stops only a block from the hotel. If you need to move about I would recommend getting a rental car though.

In short, a good hotel for a convenient business stay in Pretoria. It is not very luxurious, but the homey feel makes up for this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good Wifi - some of them have bad reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I don't write a review every time I stay here, which is often. This is still a fantastic hotel in quiet location close to everything in central Pretoria. If you don't have a car the hubbub of Hatfield is a short and fairly safe walk through the embassy district (with associated security) and if you do have a car (which I recommend) it is easy to access from the freeways.
This isn't a resort hotel, other than a pool and the comfortable lounge there isn't much else to do here, but it's perfectly fine for a business stay. The staff are always terrific; friendly, helpful and professional and the breakfast is good too. The food delivery arrangement with nearby restaurants works well and there is a Woolworth supermarket a few blocks away to stock up your kitchenette.
The laundry service is a weak spot; don't send your best items or anything complicated in, as you can never be sure that it will come back pristine. The rooms are starting to wear badly and it’s a bit of hit-and miss whether you get one with a noisy air conditioner and sagging bed or not. If you can, try to wangle one of the few rooms in the main manor house. They are huge and quite special.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel feels just like home. From the warm smiles at reception to the complimentary drinks and snacks in evening to the well laid out rooms, everything lines up to say: Welcome. When I visit Pretoria I don't even bother looking for other hotels. Only negative is the in-bath shower curtain arrangement.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I've stayed here many times when I have business in Pretoria. Even if I don't need to be in Central/Arcadia area it is still worth it to stay here. Its close to everything you might need for a business stay; gym, shops etc.. Having a well-equipped mini-kitchen in the room is great for when you get sick of restaurant food. Rooms are huge, clean and well maintained. The breakfast is great and the staff are friendly. I go out of my way to stay here time after time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

stayed at the arcadia while attending the rugby at loftus versfeld.... if you are expecting 5 star luxury then dont stay here, but this really is quite twee, very homely. for sports fans its a great location round the corner from versfeld stadium and eastwoods tavern... and Hatfield a 10 minute stroll away
Rooms are a little dated but very peaceful and have lots of facilities, kep spotlessly clean by very friendly staff: reception staff also very firendly and willing to help...great bonus though is the free bar for 2 hours each night, always well received by your average rugby fan!
As I said, not a 5 star place but you dont get those in Pretoria anyway, so make the most of this place if you get the chance....

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oxfordquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

. Courtyard Arcadia
I have stayed at 3 Courtyards now and many others in the City Lodge group. The accomodation in this one is utterly comfortable and luxurious, in fact because all rooms are Suites with quality furniture and finishes; it puts 80% of 5 star hotels to shame. We stayed in room 68 part of a quiet cluster of 4 on there own in the quietest end of the property. The range of toiletries and bathrooms are also excellent.
The free drinks and snacks in the cozy lounge between 5 and 7 p.m. is always a nice touch and our attendant was friendly and willing.
You can also get coffee or tea throughout the day at no charge. The grounds are immaculate and pretty and it is a totally peaceful and relaxing environment. The breakfast was excellent and we had the friendliest omelette cooker on this planet. Nothing was too much trouble and all this with a smile. Pity more egg cookers don’t get there acts together.
So to the buts!!!
The reception staff were at best just moderately helpful. You get the feeling that if anything untoward were to happen they would be completely out of there depth to deal with it. Surely the owner of these establishments should walk in every now and then unannounced and in disguise to evaluate the performance of these people..
This is the most vital component surely to create a good initial impression. Recently on a trip to Mauritius we encountered such utterly charming service, everything will be now compared to this.
Then once I had unpacked and opened up all the windows and curtains I noticed that the carpet was actually filthy, as if it hadn’t been cleaned in weeks. I felt really uncomfortable about that as it would be nice to walk around bare feet while relaxing. The next day I asked the cleaner to spend more time cleaning the carpet and when we returned later it was as if a quick brush was done and there was still pieces of grass and other fragments of stuff… yuck, I left it at that as any further involvement with the staff there would have spoilt my weekend, but a more fastidious person will cause havoc for them.
There was also no turn down service, a small and easy to do touch that is generally appreciated.
Once again, this should surely never ever happen if the staff took pride in their work. I will bring this to the attention of management and hope they respond.
Overall though, I still HIGHLY recommend these hotels for the right reasons and I am sure 95% of people will enjoy a quality stay in these establishments.

  • Liked — UTTERLY COMFORTABLE, HOME FROM HOME
  • Disliked — DIRTY CARPETS
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#22 of 73 in Pretoria
90 reviews
2.0 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.6 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 73 in Pretoria
495 reviews
3.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
232 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Arcadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Arcadia

Property: Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Address: Corner Park & Hill Streets | Arcadia, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#14 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Arcadia 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built around a lovingly restored, turn of the century manor house in leafy 'Embassy Row', in the suburb of Arcadia. Park-like gardens are wonderful for walks and guests are invited to sit back, relax and enjoy the grace and charm of a bygone era. The hotel is situated minutes away from shopping centres with cinemas and restaurants as well as the Loftus Stadium and the trendy suburb of Hatfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Arcadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Arcadia Hotel Pretoria
Courtyard Pretoria
Pretoria Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing