We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night and handy for the rugby.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were only in town one night for the Bulls vs Force game and i wanted somewhere we didn't have to walk far. I got my wish there, as its right outside the ground.

The room was ok, if a little small, but the bed, shower and a/c were fine.Not sure about the bathroom window, as people walking past (maids etc) can easily see in.

The breakfast was good, buffet style, but go hungry, as the cost per person was as much as many evening meals we had in SA, so you'll want to eat your fill.

There is a decent lounge that we used, as our airport transfer was not until 5pm and that helped use up a few hours. An ok stay, but watch that breakfast cost!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinmc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for your comments and recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

This hotel is nicely laid out in courtyard format, with lots of nooks and crannies (both inside and out) in which to sit and work or relax. I was in a studio queen room, which was large and comfortable, and very clean and well-maintained. My only (small) criticism was the lack of hairdryer. Also the flipside of having a room that looks out onto open spaces is that you can sometimes be a bit exposed to people walking past, etc. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We are gald you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I come to this hotel on business with other colleagues and have stayed for two weeks. It's just 40 mins drive from Joburg. They offer free drinks from 5pm to 7pm each day, and free muffins in the morning at the entrance. I like the terrace the most because I've spent many happy evenings there relaxing. Rooms are spacious and with simple kitchenett, and are set in small houses instead of dull massive building. They have a small swimming pool which is nice to sit by, but probably don't expect you can swim inside.

Just some weird things here: water from the shower will spread over the floor no matter how hard you try to avoid; the cleaner will not replace your shampoo and shower gel until you've finished the last drop.

Room Tip: Try to choose one close to the reception which would have better wifi coverage (but wifi is only fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresitaCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Charming and sweet, and you can't beat the nice happy hour on Friday evenings. The Internet was a bit slow -- not uncommon on this trip -- but everything else was top notch at the hotel: spacious and nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinaj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Located in a safe area of Pretoria, this charming hotel offers great rooms, full breakfast and very charming staff. There is a small pool in a nice green garden. Great place for a stopover or longer stay. Most rooms have a kitchenette.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Rodo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stayed here for two nights recently while visiting Pretoria and the Cradle of Humankind. The main building is a restored manor and is charming and unique. Other buildings have been added and we stayed in a large one bedroom. It had a kitchenette equipped with small fridge, microwave, dishes, etc. Large windows and a balcony overlooking pretty gardens complimented the dinette and sitting room. It is a homey feeling and we were comfortable. I had a rental car and I always felt that parking was secure. Room service is available as well as delivery from a local restaurant; both were pretty tasty. Halfway through the second night the aircon started squeaking to the point where I had to turn it off. The staff is very helpful and happy hour is a nice touch. While this is not normally the type of accomodations I choose, it was comfortable, clean, safe, and well-appointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank logansrun98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again at this hotel or at another one of the hotels in our group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I travel to Pretoria for business at least once a month and we stay at the Courtyard for a week at a time. It has become like a second home. The staff is so friendly and helpful and that is what makes the place great. The rooms are spacious, comfortable beds, and microwave/fridge. The location is in a quiet area and you can walk to some shops about 10 min away, but not safe at night, better if you have a car. Breakfast is typical courtyard buffet, not amazing, esp considering the price but it is fine. There is wireless but after the first 15 min you have to pay per min/gb. There is a nice happy hour every day from 5-7 pm with free drinks and snacks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMS1122_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
93 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
517 reviews
3.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
#12 of 73 in Pretoria
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor
0.6 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
2.0 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Arcadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Arcadia

Address: Corner Park & Hill Streets | Arcadia, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#14 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: £75 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Arcadia 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built around a lovingly restored, turn of the century manor house in leafy 'Embassy Row', in the suburb of Arcadia. Park-like gardens are wonderful for walks and guests are invited to sit back, relax and enjoy the grace and charm of a bygone era. The hotel is situated minutes away from shopping centres with cinemas and restaurants as well as the Loftus Stadium and the trendy suburb of Hatfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Arcadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Arcadia Hotel Pretoria
Courtyard Pretoria
Pretoria Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing