We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere and free drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and free drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I also stayed in this hotel on a business trip for almost two months! Being small houses surrounded by gardens made the stay more pleasant. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast great: different fruits, cereals, croissants, meats and buffet of English breakfast. The other pro of this place are the free drinks served from 5 to 7 as well as some snacks. I have never seen this anywhere else!

Just a few things, completely agree with Teresita in "the water from the shower will spread over the floor no matter how hard you try to avoid" and also the wifi coverage is weak very weak in some rooms (24) and is not free. The air conditioner system of the rooms is quite nosy in the terrace.

Overall it was a great experience and I will recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms close to reception have better wifi coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sin_Rumbo_Fijo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thanks for staying with us for such a long time - we're glad you enjoyed our sundowner drinks. Thanks also for the other constructive points you raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    49
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
27
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were only in town one night for the Bulls vs Force game and i wanted somewhere we didn't have to walk far. I got my wish there, as its right outside the ground.

The room was ok, if a little small, but the bed, shower and a/c were fine.Not sure about the bathroom window, as people walking past (maids etc) can easily see in.

The breakfast was good, buffet style, but go hungry, as the cost per person was as much as many evening meals we had in SA, so you'll want to eat your fill.

There is a decent lounge that we used, as our airport transfer was not until 5pm and that helped use up a few hours. An ok stay, but watch that breakfast cost!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinmc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your comments and recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This hotel is nicely laid out in courtyard format, with lots of nooks and crannies (both inside and out) in which to sit and work or relax. I was in a studio queen room, which was large and comfortable, and very clean and well-maintained. My only (small) criticism was the lack of hairdryer. Also the flipside of having a room that looks out onto open spaces is that you can sometimes be a bit exposed to people walking past, etc. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We are gald you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I come to this hotel on business with other colleagues and have stayed for two weeks. It's just 40 mins drive from Joburg. They offer free drinks from 5pm to 7pm each day, and free muffins in the morning at the entrance. I like the terrace the most because I've spent many happy evenings there relaxing. Rooms are spacious and with simple kitchenett, and are set in small houses instead of dull massive building. They have a small swimming pool which is nice to sit by, but probably don't expect you can swim inside.

Just some weird things here: water from the shower will spread over the floor no matter how hard you try to avoid; the cleaner will not replace your shampoo and shower gel until you've finished the last drop.

Room Tip: Try to choose one close to the reception which would have better wifi coverage (but wifi is only fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresitaCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Charming and sweet, and you can't beat the nice happy hour on Friday evenings. The Internet was a bit slow -- not uncommon on this trip -- but everything else was top notch at the hotel: spacious and nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinaj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Located in a safe area of Pretoria, this charming hotel offers great rooms, full breakfast and very charming staff. There is a small pool in a nice green garden. Great place for a stopover or longer stay. Most rooms have a kitchenette.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stayed here for two nights recently while visiting Pretoria and the Cradle of Humankind. The main building is a restored manor and is charming and unique. Other buildings have been added and we stayed in a large one bedroom. It had a kitchenette equipped with small fridge, microwave, dishes, etc. Large windows and a balcony overlooking pretty gardens complimented the dinette and sitting room. It is a homey feeling and we were comfortable. I had a rental car and I always felt that parking was secure. Room service is available as well as delivery from a local restaurant; both were pretty tasty. Halfway through the second night the aircon started squeaking to the point where I had to turn it off. The staff is very helpful and happy hour is a nice touch. While this is not normally the type of accomodations I choose, it was comfortable, clean, safe, and well-appointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank logansrun98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again at this hotel or at another one of the hotels in our group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#19 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
3.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
#12 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
1.7 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Arcadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Arcadia

Property: Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Address: Corner Park & Hill Streets | Arcadia, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#14 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Arcadia 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built around a lovingly restored, turn of the century manor house in leafy 'Embassy Row', in the suburb of Arcadia. Park-like gardens are wonderful for walks and guests are invited to sit back, relax and enjoy the grace and charm of a bygone era. The hotel is situated minutes away from shopping centres with cinemas and restaurants as well as the Loftus Stadium and the trendy suburb of Hatfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Arcadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Arcadia Hotel Pretoria
Courtyard Pretoria
Pretoria Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing