We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FernIvy Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Kievits Kroon(Pretoria)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$184
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Illyria House(Pretoria)
US$251
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
23
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

If you have meetings with government departments in the Union Buildings or environs, Marguerite Kruger is the hostess and owner of Fernivy they take good care of you.
The rooms are very well appointed. Fernivy is in a quiet, leafy part of Arcadia, wlaking distance from all gov departments in Union Buildings and Hamilton street governemnt departments.
Access control, parking, comofrtable and roomy.
This was my third overnight stay and not the last

Room Tip: ask for a room on the lower lever- pool and garden
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernguest, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Andy, thank you for taking time to post a review
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.
Hope to host you again in the near future!
Warm regards
Marguerite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have been using Fernivy for a few years when working in Pretoria. This is a very good guest house, the rooms are spacious and well appointed. Microwave, kettles etc. are porvided in every room along with free (good connection) WIFI. Marguerite the owner is very friendly and helpful as are all her staff.

The area is mostly diplomatic and hence fairly safe, there is a small Mall about ten minutes walk with a good restaurant and some other shops.

The rates are reasonable for the quality and location of the guest house. It is about 30 mins drive form Jo'burg airport and easy to find.Their web site gives full details.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernguest, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for positive feedback.Always glad to know that our guests enjoy their stay at FernIvy!We aim to please:)
Marguerite and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A big thumbs-up for Marguerite and her staff at 'Fernivy Guest House'. We have stayed at this lovely guest house on a few occasions and have never been disappointed. The neighbourhood is peaceful and safe - yet not too far from anywhere.

We always stay in room 1 - away from it all at the end of the upstairs corridoor and overlooking the pool. The room is beautifully-decorated, the linen quality is great (lovely crisp sheets) and there are nice touches like dressing gowns and slippers and a good selection of bathroom goodies. The kitchenette in the room is well-equipped with microwave, fridge etc (and a Mr Delivery menu if you should wish) - and a generous tray of teas and coffees - and even rusks. The chocolates and the little decanter of sherry are a lovely touch!

Breakfast is bountiful and there is a great choice of cereals, breads, pastries etc ... and a hot breakfast to order as well.

'Fernivy' really is up there with the best!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank immels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernguest, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you so much for positive feedback!Always a pleasure hosting the Immelmans from KZN:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I have stayed at FernIvy on many occasions and have always have considered it to be my home from home. One is always welcomed with a smile and made to feel comfortable as soon as arriving. I would not even consider other accommodation in Pretoria as it is conveniently located and the service and rooms will always be of the highest standard.

Thank you Margerite for upholding and always ensuring the standards are exceptional!

Room Tip: If you can get room 7... my favorite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernguest, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thank you very much for the positive feedback Darryl!Always a pleasure to host you!
Marguerite and FernIvy team.Hoop jou kuit herstel 100%!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

On recommendation of our Travel agent (South African) we spent 6 nights at Fernivy Guest house in Pretoria. Tis an 8 room Guest House that is "Old World Charm". Host Marguerite made us most welcome and we enjoyed 'sunset' drinks on the terrace and chatting about South Africa and their history. Our room was very comfortable and nice size for our 6 day stay.

We were well spoilt each morning at Breakfast in their 'antique' style dining room with literally 'silver service'. Staff, Magdaline, Sarah & Betty were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for them in looking after us. Oscar the in-house parrot fooled us with his expert rendition of the 'telephone' ring tones. Location was great within walking of Union Buildings and couple of lovely restaurants.
If visiting Pretoria this Guest house is worth a comfortable stay and a break from the big hotels.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook pool area. I believe couple of rooms slighly larger than others, so if staying more than a night or two suggest request larger room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Tom & Glenda,

We also enjoyed your visit from our side. Receiving people as well traveled as you are, is always a pleasure. We hope you return to South Africa some day and visit us again.

Eitel & Marguerite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews