We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osborne Guest House
Ranked #75 of 364 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed for two nights and Sunette made sure we were comfortable and relaxed. Breakfast was amazing, our room was beautiful, we were close to our work and the entire experience made our stay and work in Pretoria a definite pleasure. Our room had every possible comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewJerseyLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2010

We spent 5 nights at Obsborne Guest House in April. It is one of the best guest houses I have stayed in, in South Africa - if not the best.

The room was huge, extremely comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was delicious and quite a spread and Sunette couldn't have done anything more to make our stay more pleasant.

If I ever needed to stay in Pretoria on business, Sunette would be the first person I contacted.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeBZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

A super find. This guest house is in a leafy suburban area well placed for access to Pretoria and the motorway network. The house is Victorian, beautifully decorated and crammed to the rafters with antiques. There is a quiet courtyard with pool and each of the rooms opens onto this area. The rooms are all different and individually furnished. Hearty breakfasts and a very helpful owner who went out of her way to give us local recommendations and advice. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenOrton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

A friend recommended this guest house, which turned out to be delightful. It's probably the most beautiful property I have ever stayed at.

Highlights:
-Friendly owners
-Quiet neighborhood (not counting the songbirds!), with several churches and embassies nearby.
-Beautiful garden and small pool
-Very nice hot breakfasts to order plus fruit cereal, toast, coffee, tea, juice.
-Large rooms with high ceilings
-Very attractive decor
-Just a few blocks from the University of Pretoria
-Clean
-Laundry service available
-Reasonably-priced mini-bar in room
-Good rates (credit cards accepted)
-Lovely hot showers with lots of water pressure (though I couldn't keep water off of the bathroom floor)

Possible issues for some travelers:
-Limited outlets in room
-No in-room telephone
-Real animal skins and antlers in room
-Area is residential, so a car or willingness to walk 20 min to shops or restaurants are necessary
-The property itself is small

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again. It is just a really nice place and a great value. A very nice choice for couples. Other guests were mostly South Africans in town for business and Dutch tourists.

There are only a few rooms and I saw most of them. Though the rooms do vary, most are large, and all are clean and well-appointed.

Breakfasts were a highlight for me, with fresh papaya and other fruit, and beautifully-presented hot eggs/omelet/croissant sandwich. I also enjoyed having tea and biscuits (provided in the room), by the pool.

Some rooms may have telephones, and internet access may also be available, but I didn't ask. The owners were communicative by email. If you have specific needs, it would make sense to email in advance to see if they can be accommodated.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellevret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres sur le patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Philippe1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tillmann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mikesierra52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay Tree Guest House
Bay Tree Guest House
#24 of 364 in Pretoria
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
About Guest Lodge
About Guest Lodge
#83 of 364 in Pretoria
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Street 137 Guest House
Murray Street 137 Guest House
#65 of 364 in Pretoria
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brooks Cottage
Brooks Cottage
#7 of 111 in Pretoria
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Wardrobe Guest House
The Wardrobe Guest House
#23 of 364 in Pretoria
65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Farmers Folly Guest House
Farmers Folly Guest House
#14 of 364 in Pretoria
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Guest House

Address: 82 Anderson Street | Brooklyn, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £66 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Osborne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Osborne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing