We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely one of the very best in Pretoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osborne Guest House
Ranked #66 of 364 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We've stayed at Osborne House twice already, and it will always be our first choice when going to Pretoria. Sunette and Pieter have set up something special in this very characterful old Edwardian home, dating back more than a century. We have had the chance to stay here for a week in both summer and winter, and enjoyed both of our stays equally. The rooms are warm in winter, and on the other side of the coin, there is a fantastic swimming pool available for hot summer days. The gardens are immaculately kept by James.

Each morning, a superb cooked breakfast was prepared by Hanneri, in addition to a good selection of cold breakfast items and coffee. Sunette and Pieter are fantastic hosts and are always available with advice, and even to prepare great dinners on request.

There is nothing to fault about Osborne House - the rooms are great, the service is top class, the staff and hosts are fantastic, the house and gardens are very well presented, and the location is in a very good neighbourhood of Pretoria. Five stars, will definitely go back again, thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdviceTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

It was our first visit to Pretoria, what a find in our overnight stay at Osborne House a stunning period guesthouse. A fabulous genuine welcome from Sunette and her team, nothing was too much trouble. The guesthouse is divine, fabulously styled by Sunette, and so comfortable with lots of original artwork to admire. Being a great cook she serves a delicious breakfast with a modern twist. The only shame was we only had one night to savour these lovely surroundings. On our day out in Pretoria we did take the opportunity to visit Freedom Park Museum where we took in a slice of the history of the South African people and the Nelson Mandela memorial statue, which towers above the Union Buildings - both absolute musts to visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually styled, so every one is a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACInns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Review from characterstay.blogspot.com

Finding a tranquil and stylish little haven in a convenient location within a big city is an exciting discovery. And I have to contain myself not to use too many indulgent adjectives, as this one is close to my heart. Situated in the leafy suburb of Brooklyn, right on the edges of busy Pretoria, Osborne House is everything a city character stay should be.

A historical building with rooms cleverly placed in different corners of the property, either facing the lush gardens or spacious pool. Each room is individually decorated with minimalist warmth, with trendy calm colours, the silkiest of linen, clean-lined antique furniture, and objects of interest. The host’s keen interest in decor is evident in every corner, with restrained use of beautiful upholstery, cushions and pictures. The resulting look is very South African, balancing the historical and modern with an easy style.

What I love about Osborne House:
Pretty period building in a leafy suburb close to restaurants, embassies, government offices and businesses of Pretoria
Owner-managed, with genuine hospitality and warmth
Spacious rooms with every traveller convenience
Classical wooden furniture, beautiful linen upholstery and elegant decor touches in every room

Accommodation experience from characterstay.blogspot.com
In my family we were always cautioned against too much enthusiasm about anything, with the well-intentioned concept that intense happiness often ends in disappointment and tears. So it was with secretive delight that I found myself hopping around my beautifully appointed pool-side suite. The understated, yet bold expression of the quintessentially South African look resonated with a happy hum. It is a clever creative space which can release such pleasure in the midst of a city work trip and Osborne House is recommended for even the most jaded traveller, with unbridled joy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We came for business. The landlady was accommodating and helpful. The room was spacious and beautiful decorated. Service was at the top end. This is the place for the traveller who want an atmosphere like home. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda031CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I have left South Africa a while ago, but when we lived there, this is the place we went to as a matter of course. Love the house and the owners. The rooms are tastefully furnished as is the house. The garden is beautiful and the pool sparkling clean. Ask your hostess if there is something you are after and they will supply.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked at the last minute to stay at for first 1, than 2 nights. Sunette was a welcoming, lovely host. The house was beautiful, with the most amazing artwork. Our room lead directly onto the pool, where we were able to sit under an umbrella and enjoy a glass of wine. It was very well situated, close to everything we wanted to see and do. Our only request, would be to have a fan in the room, as the nights are pretty warm. Really fabulous, thank you Sunette!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We lived 4 years in South Africa (Pretoria) and left in 2002. We have visited every year since then and have stayed in various Hotels/Guest Houses. Osborne House is the best guest house that we have stayed in and we will be returning there again in 2013. It is a really lovely old house, beautifully decorated and run by a very friendly family. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the courtyard and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
10.1 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#18 of 74 in Pretoria
144 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Amper Bo Guest House
Amper Bo Guest House
#218 of 364 in Pretoria
7 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
1.9 mi away
TreeTops & Treats Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Guest House

Address: 82 Anderson Street | Brooklyn, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £63 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Osborne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Osborne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing