We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi, cool decor”
Review of Lotus Thai

Lotus Thai
Ranked #448 of 686 Restaurants in Pretoria
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great sushi, cool decor”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I had sushi here and found it to be among the nicest we've had in Pretoria so far. Really liked the ambiance they created with the beautiful wall murals, the umbrella lamps and the 'hole-in-the-floor' tables. Service was reasonable. Book ahead on Thursday nights though as the place can get busy due to their current specials.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NBeetonKempen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Fantastic dining experience”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was totally impressed with the food.
Everybody at our table raved about the fantastic food and good service.
Pretoria definitely needs more restaurants like this.
I can definitely recommend any of the green curry dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 461raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is not a five-star restaurant but the food is good. It has a nice ambiance. But the service during lunch can be improved. There is nice Thai music in the backround.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heartensoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of our regulars”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

I absolutely LOVE this restaurant. Intimate and the service is a notch up from the mainstream in Pretoria. Their sushi are really good and we actually enjoy their whole menu. Always a struggle to decide what we will have when we dine there, since everything is so good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Lotus Thai has a great ambience and the beautiful murals and Thai music add to the atmosphere making one feel as if you are in Thailand. We agree that Lotus Thai serves the best sushi and their Thai dishes are amazing as well. My personal favourites are the Rainbow California rolls, Kaeng Massaman and Singha beer. We often return to this restaurant for a special evening with family or friends, or for a romantic evening just for the two of us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia_coetzee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lotus Thai also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Lotus Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing