We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening @ La Pentola”
Review of La Pentola

La Pentola
Ranked #24 of 686 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: La Pentola established in 1995 is the perfect venue for executive chef/owner Shane Sauvage's authentic fusion cuisine. The atmosphere is cozy, romantic and relaxed. All food is prepared to order, using only the very best quality ingredients, real butter, fresh cream and fresh herbs.Yes absolutely no MSG! The menu by internationally renowned executive Chef/ Patron & award winning author Shane Sauvage,comprises of a large variety of fresh seafood (Mozambique Style Prawns, free range cuts of beef (KWV Fillet, hand made pasta, exotic game dishes, a great selection of vegetarian fare (Aztec Mushrooms) and a decadent selection of in-house deserts (Chocolate Terrine). La Pentola offers a Diamond award wine list with a large variety of local and international wines. We are an A la Carte restaurant that also caters for corporate functions, intimate weddings and special occasions. Open Monday to Sunday Lunch & Dinner.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Great evening @ La Pentola”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Went to Hermanus on holiday recently and visited the La Pentola there Chef Shane and Chef Hugo made such a fuss about us and made us feel like part of their family, so on my return to Pretoria I decided to give the branch this side also a try!
Must say me and my wife were blown away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not only was the food amazing, the vibe in the shop was awesum too. Our Waiter (Mario) knew exactly what we needed even before we needed it. Thanks to him we ended up spending almost double what we planned too( not that im complaining) every cent well spend! The Chef came out of the kitchen and took the time to make us feel welcome and explained all the dishes to us in detail. It was clear to us that he love his work as he was very passionate about everything! Thank you Aubery, Shane, Hugo, and Staff in both shops for making us feel so welcome and appreciated We will most deff be back for more of the great food and welcoming atmosphere

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willie_kruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    44
    21
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a good time!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Was enjoyable and good value for money! Head Chef went to a lot of trouble as it was a birthday! One of very few places to still offer smoking section!!! Thanks!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NamibTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exellent Food”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Friendly staff welcoming you at the entrance and took you promptly to your table. The place is not what you really expected, but soon the aroma of flavours made you feel relaxed. What an experience! Food from start to finish were exceptional! Will surely visit the place again. It's worth a visit more than once!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wynand C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fusion cuisine”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

La Pentola has been our favourite restaurant for many years. The dishes with mixed flavours and smells are all interesting. The menu presents a wide choice of dishes which makes the food selection an adventure. Aztec mushrooms combines the flavours of cacao with sesame seeds and fried mushrooms, the choc terrine fuses 3 ice cream flavours, and the list goes on and on. Prices are not unreasonable. The music and water curtain compliments the atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IsakL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Does not live up to the hype”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I attended this establishment with high-hopes but were ultimately not satisfied. It is as if the restaurant tries too hard. Positive things first, we had a great welcoming cocktail. That said, my wife’s calamari and cherry fusion dish was drowned in cherry. One would expect a carefully prepared dish, with accents of the flavours. We could not taste the seafood at all. My dessert had to be flambéed with Stroh-rum. After dousing it with the shot, the lighter did not work. At the time the waitress arrived with a new lighter, my dessert was blessed with another shot and set alight. By that time it had soaked up the first shot and it ruined the taste.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank f_labuschagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pentola also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to La Pentola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing