We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not your average "mall" restaurant”
Review of Baobab Cafe

Baobab Cafe
Ranked #46 of 686 Restaurants in Pretoria
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Sushi, African, Seafood, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely not your average "mall" restaurant”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a great place to take a break in between visiting the shops in the Menlyn shopping mall.

The view is amazing and the terrace seating extensive, well spaced out and the service friendly and helpful.

The menu is extensive, well priced and you can't really go wrong with any dish (the salads are amazing!).

A well rounded restaurant that you never get tired of.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    102
    30
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best fillet ever!!!!!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is the first time I have ever been to this restaurant, and I'm so sorry I never tried it while I lived in Pretoria. Another first was having a steak, which I never do in a restaurant, oh my nerves......wish I could have that fillet very week!!! We were a large table and the service was excellent and the view overlooking Pretoria was breath taking for the guests that I was hosting from Durban.
Thanks to all the staff at Baobab Cafe and Grill, Menlyn, you were all great xxx

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 250765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great view of the east”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have been to Baobab a couple of times, it's a convenient place to stop for a spot of lunch and a drink after shopping. It has a really modern decor, warm and inviting, however, I think that the smokers have the best part of the restaurant. Management has built a new gorgeous cream white, breezy terrace, upstairs, with has the most spectacular views of Pretoria east. It makes one want to brave the smoke, just to experience the view from up there. It's a great restaurant to sit and have lunch and/or sundowners in, but I wouldn't recommend the breakfast. On my previous visit, I had a breakfast meeting at Baobab and I must say that the food left a lot to be desired. Lunch, is a different story, it's usually well cooked and well presented. On this occasion, I had the Cajun chicken wrap, which was rather good. Their wine selection, needs a bit of work, however, they have a good selection of cocktails. The service is ok. I find that some of the waiters can be a little overbearing, but for the most part they are professional, but not always efficient.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thandz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful rooftop terrace”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed 2 Weeks in pretoria and we went there three times. Very nice food, both traditional and modern. The best is the great view from the terracce!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freibolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food with a good atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was my 3rd time I ate there and every time the food was good, warm and tasteful. The food was how I like it and the plates were warm, which mean that I could take my time to eat my food and still have a conversation with friends without worrying that my food will get cold. The atmosphere was also very good. No noisy children as they do not have a play park in the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vixen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baobab Cafe also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Baobab Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing