We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louise Terrace Guest house

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Louise Terrace Guest house
Ranked #4 of 12 Rivonia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I usually stay with friends when I am in South Africa, but it did not work out this time. So I decided to stay with Nicolas Brett (the owner) at his guest house in Rivonia, for the whole of October 13, as I met Nicolas in May this year…was suppose to stay in the guest house but had to cancel as we stayed in our house – and at that time, Nicolas gave us back all the deposit – amazing! I live overseas at the moment and usually go to South Africa once a year to sort out all our stuff like medical tests, tax, house issues (rented out) etc. and of course visiting family & friends. This was the first time in four years that I stayed in rented accommodation when coming home and it was a great experience. The location of the guest house could not have been better. My gym, which I always sign on with when I am in South Africa, is just down the road. Many of my friends, my old company & places I had to go to are close by –so perfect. I had my own drive-in entrance where my car was parked securely just below the staircase of my spacious 1-bed apartment, which also had a small balcony with 2 chairs & table. I had a small kitchen with cooker, microwave, fridge and washing machine (absolutely needed that!) & kitchen counter, separate bathroom with shower & specious bedroom with very comfortable, large bed, wardrobe & 2 comfy arm chairs. The room had lots of light, due to the large windows. I also had wireless internet as part of the deal! I woke up every morning early to the twittering of birds, which was wonderful. I could see the branches of a large tree through my bathroom window. There are also lots of trees around in neighbouring properties, which are visible via the large windows….but nobody could look into my room! Although the guest house is in the middle of businesses and roads, I never really heard street noise. The location of my dwelling was so private – I never really saw other guests. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was cleaned every day – By the way, there is now also a wonderful restaurant on his premises – open for breakfast & lunch…for now! I had a wonderful stay at this well located guest house. When my husband accompanies me in the future – or if I need accommodation again for myself in the future, we/I will definitely stay with Nicolas in his guest lodge!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    24
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
6
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Every time I stay at the immaculate guest house, I receive nothing short of personalised hospitality. Last time I was there for business, on a not so friendly budget and Nicolas was flexible enough to ensure that me and my colleagues have confort way way beyond our budget. Oh and the breakfast is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hon Remmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We never had the pleasure as yet to stay at the Louise Terrace Guesthouse but would like to write about my experience with Nicolas.
My husband and I are currently working overseas and planned to visit South Africa for 24 days to sort out various issues. It took me a long time, on the internet, as well as using online accommodation agencies, which by the way were totally useless and just wasted my time, although I had given them exact requirements in terms budget, area, secure parking for 2 cars, internet access, small kitchen and most important exclusive use of a washing machine, as I always do my own washing wherever I go! – I was bombarded with at least 60 emails of unsuitable places.
When I found Louise Terrace Guesthouse and read all the positive reviews, I immediately phoned and spoke to Nicolas. He was just amazing – this is what he did : he allocated a one-bed apartment for us (which took some juggling on his part due to other bookings he had), with private driveway with secure parking for 2 cars – he even went out and bought a washing machine for the unit we were going to occupy – just amazing. Unexpectedly our tenant who was living in our house moved out and our fully furnished home was empty. We knew that there was damage and maintenance work had to be done. I cancelled the booking, for the 23 nights with Nicolas just one week before we arrived in South Africa. He was so kind to me on the phone, said he had total understanding for our situation. I knew he bought the washing machine specifically for us and offered to buy it off him. Amazingly he said that he would utilise the washing machine and gave us back our full payment! Amazing, amazing, amazing – that’s all I can say.
It is very unlikely that our house will be available to us the next time my husband and I are coming to South Africa and we will definitely stay with Nicolas.
Well, our time in SA is nearly over…leaving this Sunday, after fixing many things in our house. Nicolas invited me to have coffee with him before we leave – this will happen tomorrow and I look forward meeting him. Nina

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

i would like to personally thank Nicholas from Louise Terrace Guesthouse for the excellent service offered. i had the most wonderful experience for the past week at this place. it is the most comfortable and homely place i have ever been to. i would recommend this place over any other lodge or hotel in Rivonia.

thank you kindly

Waseem

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waseemw_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Everything from the friendly welcome to the food and rooms is excellent.The meals are always more than you expect and want but nothing is wasted, the internet service is better than our offices. the friendly owner and staff are a delight to deal with. they are very accommodating on meal times and checking in times. I cant believe how quite it is when you are there.

Room Tip: Nicolas is available to you 24hours a day if needed and always has a smile. Makes you feel at home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Having traveled to many guesthouses throughout the world, my 3 month stay at Louise Terrace was perhaps the best I have experienced thus far. From the moment I walked in, Nicolas made me feel like a unique guest. Not only does he make every effort to cater to your every need, but the rooms are equipped with every type of utensil to make your stay more comfortable, and the overall design and layout of the guesthouse gives you cosy, if not homey, feeling. Moreover, it is one of the only places in Joburg that also offers longer short-term stays (i.e. 3-6 months) at affordable prices. It is also so conveniently located in the center of Rivonia, it is perfectly safe to walk to any of the close by restaurants and shops at night. I honestly cannot imagine my experience in South Africa without reminiscing on my stay at Louise Terrace. If I were to go back, I would definitely aim to stay there again.

Room Tip: Certain rooms have their own kitchenette and are all en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 468Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenyang, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed a few days in this guest house and I enjoy the nice hospitable service and central very convenient location in rivonia. The rooms are clean and tidy. You can book for accommodation with breakfast which is prepared in a spacious dining room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maik076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#19 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Rivonia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muco Guesthouse
Muco Guesthouse
#12 of 12 in Rivonia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louise Terrace Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louise Terrace Guest house

Property: Louise Terrace Guest house
Address: 123 12th Avenue | Louise Terrace, Rivonia 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Louise Terrace Guest house 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best rates in the area, Louise Terrace is a luxuriously appointed AA recommended guest house in Rivonia that caters for guests desiring exclusivity, luxury Rivonia accommodation, and personal service, in a secure environment close to Sandton and is easily accessible. Louise Terrace Rivonia Bed and Breakfast offers to its clients superior rooms. 5 Self catering rooms which can be rented on a month basis at reduced rates, each en - suite room is appointed with wireless internet connectivity, and is decorated in Natural fabrics and is comfortably appointed. Each room has an HD LCD flat screen TV, and has a Coffee/Tea service in the room. Breakfast is free with a choice of either full English or continental breakfast. Please note that there is NO Breakfast served on Sundays Relax in our luxuriously appointed lounge and in the courtyard and terrace under the trees in this secure property. We offer a new conference facility that doubles as a function venue that seats 20 comfortably adjacent to our dining room,patio and Covered veranda. Relax in our luxuriously appointed lounge and in the courtyard and terrace under the trees in this secure property. We offer a new conference facility that doubles as a function venue that seats 20 comfortably adjacent to our dining room,patio and Covered veranda. Louise Terrace B and B in Rivonia is ideally located a mere 15 minutes from Fourways, Montecasino and Sandton Central. Numerous gourmet restaurants, coffee shops, boutique shops and restaurant bars are only 5 minutes away at Rivonia Square, or at Chilli lane in Sunninghill. Lanseria International Airport and OR Tambo International Airport are a mere 35 minutes away, along with Northgate shopping centre and the Coca Cola Dome. Louise Terrace is situated in Gauteng Province located in the leafy suburb of Rivonia. Louise Terrace is available for exclusive use for Corporate stays or families. 5 Standard rooms which can be rented on a month basis at reduced rates from R9900 (Self-Catering From R11900) per month including Bouquet DSTV, Utilities, Weekly cleaning, Linen and fully furnished. Free Wi Fi , Rooms can accommodate 2 people in 2 3/4 beds or 1 person in a Queen or King size Bed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Louise Terrace Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louise Terrace Guest House Rivonia, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing