We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage India”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Louise Terrace Guest house
Ranked #3 of 11 Rivonia B&B and Inns
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vintage India”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

It is a constant delight to come back to Louise Terrace, a place that I personally consider "my only home in Johannesburg and in South Africa in general", and my stay there is always very relax, revitalizing and conducive for my work whenever I am in Johannesburg.
Nicolas, in addition to his amazing customer care, has become more than a host, and his warm hospitality also adds to the home feeling that Louise Terrace welcomes you with.

This time around, for my 4th stay at Louise terrace in the last 2 years, I was happy to see that the place has grown in size and extended.

The highlight of my stay was discovering VINTAGE INDIA, the new restaurant on Louise Terrace premises. The name is very evocative, as the savors and delicacies offered there will surprise you and send you on a delicious and ecstatic gastronomic journey that adds to the already impressive value for money that you feel everyday of your stay at Louise Terrace.

I miss my SA home already, and look forward to coming back.

Until soon,

Chris,
United Nations HQ,
Manhattan,
New York

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank oftenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    28
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
7
7
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I was visiting johannesburg for training. My booking at a different hotel got cancelled due to renovation so that hotel made arrangements and booked me into the guesthouse. On first appearance it looked a bit worn out. Garden looked like it was not taken care of in a while and the parking is a bit cramped. The room i was staying in was spacious. Furniture needs to be retouched. Some of it is old, Beds are comfortable. Breakfast was nice but limited in what you can order of the menu. Overall experience was intermediate. Not an experience i would freely opt to have again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Helao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a really nice time at this guest house. So conveniently located, lots of attention to detail, and the manager, Brian, was so friendly. He went the extra mile to make us feel at home! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseTerraceBnB, Owner at Louise Terrace Guest house, responded to this review, 28 August 2015
Thank you for the feedback, having spent my childhood growing up in this industry I strive to make a weary traveler at home, your review makes me love what I do even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I booked my mother into the BnB and she has not stopped raving about how comfortable her stay was. The staff was very friendly and Brian was an amazing host. He even allowed for a later than normal check out at no additional charge. Very clean establishment, tranquil, trendy and homely at the same time. Real value for money. I would strongly recommend the establishment and I will be making use of it in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed 1 night in Room 15. Situated on busy main road next to offices, so there isn't much to look at. I was worried about the noise from the traffic, but it did calm down after 8pm so I was able to have a good night's sleep. Comfortable bed and pillows. Excellent wi-fi connectivity. A hairdryer would be good and a chair with a back, and a comfortable armchair. There was a big crack on the cupboard/mirror. The water from the shower did cause a bit of a puddle on the outside. There was a dressing table with a stool, but this is not good if you have to work on your laptop. Nicholas & Brian were very hospitable. It was quiet in the breakfast room when I left and had a good chat to Nicholas and the 3 cute dogs. For longer stays I would prefer a guesthouse that has a lovely garden to look out to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecsonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I usually stay with friends when I am in South Africa, but it did not work out this time. So I decided to stay with Nicolas Brett (the owner) at his guest house in Rivonia, for the whole of October 13, as I met Nicolas in May this year…was suppose to stay in the guest house but had to cancel as we stayed in our house – and at that time, Nicolas gave us back all the deposit – amazing! I live overseas at the moment and usually go to South Africa once a year to sort out all our stuff like medical tests, tax, house issues (rented out) etc. and of course visiting family & friends. This was the first time in four years that I stayed in rented accommodation when coming home and it was a great experience. The location of the guest house could not have been better. My gym, which I always sign on with when I am in South Africa, is just down the road. Many of my friends, my old company & places I had to go to are close by –so perfect. I had my own drive-in entrance where my car was parked securely just below the staircase of my spacious 1-bed apartment, which also had a small balcony with 2 chairs & table. I had a small kitchen with cooker, microwave, fridge and washing machine (absolutely needed that!) & kitchen counter, separate bathroom with shower & specious bedroom with very comfortable, large bed, wardrobe & 2 comfy arm chairs. The room had lots of light, due to the large windows. I also had wireless internet as part of the deal! I woke up every morning early to the twittering of birds, which was wonderful. I could see the branches of a large tree through my bathroom window. There are also lots of trees around in neighbouring properties, which are visible via the large windows….but nobody could look into my room! Although the guest house is in the middle of businesses and roads, I never really heard street noise. The location of my dwelling was so private – I never really saw other guests. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was cleaned every day – By the way, there is now also a wonderful restaurant on his premises – open for breakfast & lunch…for now! I had a wonderful stay at this well located guest house. When my husband accompanies me in the future – or if I need accommodation again for myself in the future, we/I will definitely stay with Nicolas in his guest lodge!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Every time I stay at the immaculate guest house, I receive nothing short of personalised hospitality. Last time I was there for business, on a not so friendly budget and Nicolas was flexible enough to ensure that me and my colleagues have confort way way beyond our budget. Oh and the breakfast is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hon Remmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 77 in Sandton
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Vieille Ferme
La Vieille Ferme
#2 of 7 in Rivonia
28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunton Guest House
Dunton Guest House
#1 of 11 in Rivonia
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louise Terrace Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louise Terrace Guest house

Property: Louise Terrace Guest house
Address: 123 12th Avenue | Louise Terrace, Rivonia 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Louise Terrace Guest house 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best rates in the area, Louise Terrace is a luxuriously appointed AA recommended guest house in Rivonia that caters for guests desiring exclusivity, luxury Rivonia accommodation, and personal service, in a secure environment close to Sandton and is easily accessible. Louise Terrace Rivonia Bed and Breakfast offers to its clients superior rooms. 5 Self catering rooms which can be rented on a month basis at reduced rates, each en - suite room is appointed with wireless internet connectivity, and is decorated in Natural fabrics and is comfortably appointed. Each room has an HD LCD flat screen TV, and has a Coffee/Tea service in the room. Breakfast is free with a choice of either full English or continental breakfast. Please note that there is NO Breakfast served on Sundays Relax in our luxuriously appointed lounge and in the courtyard and terrace under the trees in this secure property. We offer a new conference facility that doubles as a function venue that seats 20 comfortably adjacent to our dining room,patio and Covered veranda. Relax in our luxuriously appointed lounge and in the courtyard and terrace under the trees in this secure property. We offer a new conference facility that doubles as a function venue that seats 20 comfortably adjacent to our dining room,patio and Covered veranda. Louise Terrace B and B in Rivonia is ideally located a mere 15 minutes from Fourways, Montecasino and Sandton Central. Numerous gourmet restaurants, coffee shops, boutique shops and restaurant bars are only 5 minutes away at Rivonia Square, or at Chilli lane in Sunninghill. Lanseria International Airport and OR Tambo International Airport are a mere 35 minutes away, along with Northgate shopping centre and the Coca Cola Dome. Louise Terrace is situated in Gauteng Province located in the leafy suburb of Rivonia. Louise Terrace is available for exclusive use for Corporate stays or families. 5 Standard rooms which can be rented on a month basis at reduced rates from R9900 (Self-Catering From R11900) per month including Bouquet DSTV, Utilities, Weekly cleaning, Linen and fully furnished. Free Wi Fi , Rooms can accommodate 2 people in 2 3/4 beds or 1 person in a Queen or King size Bed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Louise Terrace Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louise Terrace Guest House Rivonia, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing