We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Green Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Gables
Ranked #6 of 11 Rivonia B&B and Inns
Cape Town
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I highly recommend this Guest House.

My colleague and I spend a lot of time on business in Gauteng and Green Gables has become our second home. The service is fantastic, the facilities are world class and the gardens are just beautiful.

Well done!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bokke in UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here twice in February 2014 and honestly I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Jo'burg. From the beautiful rooms (I stayed in the Owl room) to the breakfasts which were held in a a small dining room with other guests and always with either Chris, who was the perfect host, or Nomfundo, his P.A., on hand to have a friendly banter - just the thing to perk you up for your day. The bedrooms were beautifully furnished, the bed comfy and the bathroom perfect. The hospitality tray provided the usual fare but with the addition of a coffee maker, any kind of tea that you could wish for, biscuits and a chocolate and also with the addition of fresh milk which was stored in an honesty fridge in the hallway. My room looked out onto the lush gardens and led to the small swimming pool and the lounge which had a fantastic range of S.A. wines (honesty bar), board games and another t.v. Green Gables is perfectly situated as it is very close to Rivonia centre which has a range of good restaurants, shops and banks should you need them. Sunninghill is also very close with it's world class hospital and it's great range of restaurants, from take-aways to Mediterranean fare. Should you wish to travel further from the guest house, you could always visit the lion park and play with some cute lion cubs (and yes they scratch!) or maybe visit the beautiful botanical gardens. You could also go bunjy jumping in Soweto too - if you are brave enough. I know that should you choose to stay here, you will get a wonderful welcome from Chris and his team (including Victoria and William - the dogs) and they will work hard to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as they can.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyton, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

It appears that nothing is too much trouble for Christopher and his team, as they go about their business making your stay as hassle-free as possible. The property itself is set in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet close to major freeways to get almost anywhere you need to in the northern suburbs as quickly as possible. Fantastically comfortable bed with crisp bedding, but the highlight for me was the spacious shower - not many allow me to shower freely without having to bend my head under the shower head - what a pleasure! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A sudden medical emergency took my wife and I to JoBurg. Not much time to research accomodations. Green Gables is located near the Sunninghill hospital so appeared to fit our needs.
And it most certainly did!
First, our online experience. Christopher, the host, and Evelyn, his secretary, provided fast and accurate communication to all our questions. They arranged a driver to meet us at OR Tambo airport, communicated with our daughter when our flight was delayed and arranged for deferred payment because we arrived with no SA Rand.
Our accommodations were extremely comfortable and Christopher personally explained all the features and controls that might be needed. Our room had a kitchenette equipped sufficiently to allow us to cook several light dinners after our hospital visits. The bedding is first class, warm and comfortable (we were there for their winter; comfortable days but chilly nights). Radiant heat from the floor was warm but a bit different from the system we have at home. The room stays warm while sleeping (we prefer quite cool) but is slow to return in the morning.
Our housekeeper, Geneva, kept the room spotless and the dishes and glasses clean and put away.
Breakfast was light but fit our needs. Coffee, fresh croissants, meats and cheese and fruit. Porridge was offered, but this is something we eat when the temps are bitter cold. There is also cold cereal. Christopher seems to enjoy the opportunity to socialize during breakfast but he does not force conversation if you appear to need some quiet space.
We were not on vacation and so cannot comment on sites to see or things to do. Many in JoBurg advise against walking, however we walked every day to the hospital and to the local plaza for groceries and encountered almost no one. We would consider walking in the daylight a safe activity.
Finally due to family changes, we had to shorten our stay from what we had originally reserved. Christopher was immediately understanding, processed our adjusted costs. There was no penalty or hard feelings.
To close; If you need to stay in the Sandton area of JoBurg, you could not do better than to stay at Green Gables. The price is fair, the accommodations are excellent and the staff are among the most friendly we have ever encounter in our travels.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a kitchenette. Suggest The Wagon Room. But all are quite and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuikAg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Excellent bed and breakfast in a safe and quiet suburb in the Sandton area of Johannesburg. Wonderfully comfortable and well-maintained rooms and gardens, and a very welcoming host, which made for a restful and restorative stay. Convenient Gautrain bus stop less than 100m up the hill, made for a pleasant trip to the airport on my way out of South Africa (but note the bus doesn't run on weekends). Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Home from home convenient safe and a pleasure, well worth the stay

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriswp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I normally stay in 5-star hotels so Green Gables was really unusual for me. But I'm so glad I stayed. It made me realise how important 'connection' really is. And the host at Green Gables, Christopher Hughes, is a Master at it. He's a character — one that could well be on every travel show you see. My morning breakfasts with Christopher set me up so well for each day.

On top of that, this is a great environment with gorgeous gardens (they reminded me a little of Provence in France).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
0.6 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 74 in Sandton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.4 mi away
C.A.G - The Cube
C.A.G - The Cube
#1 of 7 in Rivonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunton Guest House
Dunton Guest House
#1 of 11 in Rivonia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables

Property: Green Gables
Address: 33A 10th Avenue | Rivonia, Rivonia 2128, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Gables is a peaceful & well established guest house which has a Cape Dutch country house ambiance. Our spacious, en-suite bedrooms are all individually decorated and have separate entrances. The sprawling, largely indigenous garden, with a number of private areas, is home to a wide variety of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Green Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Rivonia, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing