We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joburg's Best Kept Secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Joburg's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have stayed at the Syrene hotel 3 times. It is definitely my favourite place to stay in Joburg. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The service is quite simply outstanding. The staff and efficient, professional and so friendly. I injured my back and was bed-ridden for 4 days. The staff were unbelievably helpful. The food in the restaurant is also excellent. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor opening out onto the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaniellaFinney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make a review. We truely appreciate your support and look forward to hosting you here again soon. Kind regards Dani Finney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
13
5
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here with my wife for a weekend in JHB and from arrival to departure we had nothing but excellent service, friendly staff, a very good restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and very good amenities in the excellent room. When travelling the last thing you require is stress and a stay at the Syrene is so competently handled that your visit is truly relaxing. The Breakfast is not your ordinary fare and with the stay in itself. My compliments to all concerned.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarareScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaniellaFinney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for you kind review we greatly appreciate it. We are so happy you had such a wonderful stay and hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We were upgraded for free to the presidential suite based on availability. It is our 2nd visit to the hotel, the rooms are absolutely magnificent! The location can not be any better and the hotel offers outstanding value for money. You will not be didsapionted.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aydonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaniellaFinney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for you kind review we greatly appreciate it. We are so happy you had such a wonderful stay and hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I would highly recommend the Syrene hotel. The hotel is professional and they really do look after their guests and make them feel at home. The service was outstanding and I felt at home the second I walked into the hotel. The hotel treated me as if I was the only guest and gave me special attention.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade Smith 87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaniellaFinney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We truely appreciate your kind words and are so glad we made your stay special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naramata, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Syrene hotel is a wonderful relaxing oasis. Everything about it is first class; the friendly staff, the relaxing patios areas, the wonderful Elm Tree Restaurant with top chef Tony, and the beautifully appointed rooms. I highly recommend this hotel for business or vacation travelers. It is also a perfect venue for meetings and for special events.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaniellaFinney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for you review and for the special mention about Tony. We really love to make our guests stay a happy experience and greatly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I went to the Elm Tree restaurant for dinner and had a stunning meal and evening. The staff and service top notch. The hotel is stylishly decorated. After dinner we were shown a standard suite, the Presidential Suite, conference facilities and the Winery. All were absolutely beautiful. We were SO impressed and definitely recommend it to local and overseas visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiloettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaniellaFinney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Tony is especially chuffed with your great experience at his restaurant and we look forward to hosting you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Syrene Boutique Hotel has been a real awesome experience. I spent an entire month with them. I felt like to be home: all the personnel above the standard, room excellent and restaurant with very good selections of dishes. It was an excellent price per service ratio. If you think to be @ Joburg you need to experience The Syrene.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me7048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaniellaFinney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for you review. We always appreciate our guests feedback. We love that you felt so at home here and look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
0.4 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
The Palazzo Montecasino
#1 of 7 in Fourways
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
15.0 mi away
Centurion Golf Suites Guest Lodge
4.7 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Syrene Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Syrene Boutique Hotel

Property: The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Address: 28 Wessel Rd | Rivonia, Sandton, Rivonia 2128, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Syrene Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Syrene Hotel offers an extraordinary experience for the discerning traveller whether it is for business or for pleasure. Our own unique, serene aesthetics and attentive staff meld with Business Class luxury with all the facilities needed for a comfortable and pleasurable stay. A few highlights are our 16 luxury suites and 1 presidential suite, our spacious conference room which seats up to 20 delegates around our hand designed, executive boardroom table, other formations available; we are ideally situated - easily accessible from O.R. Tambo International airport (via the GauBus 10m from our doorstep to the Gautrain at the Sandton Station), highway (motorway) and Sandton CBD, and we are only a short distance away from Johannesburg's other major Business centers; Sandton, Sunninghill, Woodmead, Fourways, Bryanston and Johannesburg Central; Our functioning Winery, the first in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Syrene Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Syrene Boutique Hotel Rivonia, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing