We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place and people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Rivonia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Accra, Ghana
1 review
“Lovely place and people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was our second stay at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, and as always such a pleasure.

Breakfast is amazing, plenty of everything. And with the view out to the small pool, birds eating and the dog wandering around. And the easter sweets we got during Easter :-)

Service staff was warm, smiling and helpful.

We booked in advance, no need for arranging prepayment (so lovely with a hotel that actually trust their guests) and had assistance from the hotel even before arrival.

It is convenient located if you have a car and can move around.

We will for sure come back next time we go to SA.

Room Tip: We always book the "expensive" rooms, and are happy with them. This time we travelled with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We were so glad to see you a second time around. Thank you for all your kind comments.Our staff are warm, we agree, and we are so glad you enjoyed our breakfasts. We try to make them quite special. Best wishes from Jill & Gerard Marais and the Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    70
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
126
131
45
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinetown, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

my husband and I went to Rivonia BB again in Febuary 2014 and as usual we enjoyed our stay.The staff is always friendly as usual,theres a lady 'Ms Flitahr' always on standby to make sure we have the best stay.The rooms are fine and comfortable beds.The neighbourhood is very good and conviently near the highway.will be going back there in July14 .don't hesitate to go there.

Room Tip: talk to the management and tell them what you want from a room and they will sure find you one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We look forward to your visit in July. Thank you for commending Rivonia B&B, it motivates us to try even harder. Best regards. Gerard & Jill Marais and the Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parys, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Beautifull place to stay. Great breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Rooms nice and clean. Close to great shopping centres and the surroundings are so peacefull.. Will definitely stay here again with my family.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benita_vancoller_232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for taking the trouble to write in and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from Gerard & Jill Marais and the Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

my husband and I have stayed here on several occasions. Staff and Management are very very helpful and polite. . Receptionist very professional. Cleaning staff so friendly. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Good Wi Fi reception. Breakfast is outstanding, so many choices and good quality of foods.
we will return again and again.

Room Tip: room 39 is great and special for weekend getaways .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coh4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We truly appreciate all the good things you say about Rivonia B&B and we look forward to your future visits. Our very best wishes. Jill & Gerard Marais and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Am a business person, my office clearly asked on the phone if the place had a good wi-fi. We were told it had but the wi-fi is very very poor... pity they have no respect for people that need to work a few hours in the evening. Lady at reception very unfriendly, they have 50 rooms so they think they run a hotel and you are just a number..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MercuriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Your comment regarding the poor Wi-Fi and the unfriendly service is being fully investigated by the owners and the necessary steps will be taken to prevent re-occurrence. Jill & Gerard Marais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Overall, this is a nice place with excellent breakfasts and friendly staff. The location is a fairly convenient near the highway and 15 mins to Sandton. That said, we were on our honeymoon and were given room 40 near the pool...this ended up being very disappointing (especially as we look at photos of what other rooms are like). The room had no AC, the floor was concrete, there is no privacy for showering and the noise was terrible. We were there 2 nights and both mornings, at about 5.30, we were woken by the barking of the neighbors dog who is locked up right outside this room. After that, we were subjected to the noise of staff getting breakfast ready at 6...so needless to say we didn't get good sleeps. As I read the reviews, this is not the first time comments about room 40 are being made.
Overall, I'd give this place another shot but would only hope the room matches the quality of everything else.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CF_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you suffered during your stay. In good faith our front office upgraded you to a more spacious room with a king-size bed. Online, a smaller room with double bed was booked. Room 40 has been very popular with our business visitors due to its proximity to the office, parking and dining area. This room is obviously not suitable for visitors on vacation and this has been noted by our front office. Rivonia B&B has 50 rooms scattered over 1 hectare and 14 buildings. The rooms range from Standard, as was booked online, to our spacious Superior rooms which have air-conditioning. Our rates range accordingly. Our front office always endeavours to find the most suitable accommodation to meet our guests’ requirements, subject to availability. Should you again wish to stay at Rivonia B&B, please contact our management directly. Kind regards, Gerard & Jill Marais and the Rivonia B&B team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

People are really nice here. Pool is nice. You can cook for yourself. All the materials are provided. And we got an early flight to catch. They arranged everything for us. Overall, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylviabei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We really appreciated your comments. We do hope that you will visit us again sometime soon.
Regards. Gerard & Jill Marais and the Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
6.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.6 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivonia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3 River Road | Gauteng, Rivonia 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivonia Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning, country-style guest house is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac, within a security area. Attractive, well-equipped rooms, each with its own entrance, nestle amongst trees in a large rambling garden. Strategically located in Sandton, north of Johannesburg, Rivonia B&B offers easy access to all major highways and is within easy reach of Sandton City, the Sandton Convention Centre, Gallagher Estate, the Barnyard Theatre, Montecasino and Sunninghill and Morningside Clinics. Mouth watering breakfasts, buffet & cooked-to-order, are served daily. Dinners are served Mondays - Thursdays (by arrangement). A shuttle service is available for transfers to & from OR Tambo & Lanseria Airports (charges apply). Rivonia B&B offers free internet access and DSTV (the hotel bouquet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rivonia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing