We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap accommodation”
Review of Road Lodge Rivonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Road Lodge Rivonia
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This place is relatively cheap and nice to stay in. Staff are friendly. Breakfast will feed you until you are full. AC in the rooms! Nice.

Not the most private of bathrooms, just a sliding door. Shower is pretty much in the bedroom.

Helpful, friendly and supportive staff.

Secure car park.

I have stayed here on multiple occasions. The last time I booked I had to cancel and at the time of booking they said non refundable, however when I got home after my trip they had refunded me. Very happy about this! I will return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing the main road are a bit more noisy, best to go for a room facing the car-pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

Hello.

i stayed in Road Lodge in Rivonia this past November in a non-smoking room for 2 nights. I have to be honest, I was so disappointed with the fact that the room was smelling of cigarette and by the time I checked out I had a blocked nose and terrible headache. I used to stay in this Lodge back in 2005 and the standard has gone really low considering that a non smoking room is like a smoking room..
This January I stayed in Road Lodge in randburg and there is a huge difference, the non smoking room I stayed in did not smell of smoke.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nankie M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Had to visit Modderfontein which does not have a hotel. So the taxi dropped me there. Filthy and comes with bed bugs. An insult for the average guest.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesheikhfromdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Stayed here for 1 night prior to joining a tour. Hotel public areas were clean, rooms a bit on the small side and quite noisy as we were on the road side, but adequate for 1 night. The staff are slow but to be fair they are everywhere in South Africa. Breakfast poor once the 1 pot of coffee between 30 guests has gone that's your lot, best get in early.
That's the good points now the bad. Do not order a taxi from the hotel staff we asked for one to be booked, the staff discussed who to ring for 5 minutes, we agreed a price on the phone at time of booking, when the taxi arrived we confirmed the price which had increased 150 rand to 450 rand for a 40km round trip, on return the price once again increased to 900 rand which we refused to pay, so we returned to hotel and confronted the hotel staff re agreed price, the driver was well known to all the staff and the girl who booked the taxi then lied through her teeth. We agreed on a price and that was the end of it. However the so called taxi remained on the hotel car park until we left the following morning and the driver was seen around the hotel. I believe he is an hotel employee and the so called taxi (it has no markings) is in fact the hotel courtesy bus. Not a good first experience considering we'd been in the country for 4 hours.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My mum and I stayed here for one night before our Safari tour started. First of all they tried to tell us our transfer was not included, even though I had been assured by my travel agent it was. Secondly, we needed to get to a medical centre on the first say (long story!) so we used the same taxi driver that transfered us to the hotel (he seemed to be known to staff in hotel, and mey even have been emplyed by them?) We asked him how mich it would be and was quoted 20 rand. I told him we did not know how long we would be and rather than him waiting for a long time, if we thought we would be a while we would let him no and give him a call when we wnated to be collected. We were rather a long time so 3 times my mum went out to try and find him, but he was nowhere to be seen. After about 50 minutes we were finished when he shows up. We were taken back to the hotel then told that the cost would be 200 rand as he had had to wait! We protested but felt we had to pay!

The next morning we had to get up very early as our Acacia tour started. We had been told the previous night that breckfast was included but thought we would be to early for it as was ready by 6am. We waited in the lobby and I asked if I could have a drink to take some medication. The man behind the desk said that breakfast was ready and to help ourselves. So we both had a bowel of cornflakes and some scrammbled egg with ham and cheese with a cup of coffee. The the same taxi driver came in, looked at us and said something to the man behind the till that we could not understand. Immediately after this the mandfrom behind the counter came over to us and told us that the breakfast had not in fact been free and we owed them 45 rand each! This we really did protest about and fortunately our tour guide arrived and stood up for us!

Accomodation overall was very mcuh like cheap travelodge and staff unfriendly. Overall a poor stay in an awful hotel set out to rip off tourists!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We've booked in advance before checking in. The place is very far from anywhere you want to be, if you're a tourist (it's near Soweto, known not to be a safe area). Directions are hard to find to actually get there for the first time.

We arrived in advance and weren't given a room till the Check-in time of 11am, although they had vacant rooms. Rooms are just enough space for you to stretch your arms wide. The bathrooms don't even have space for that.

If you want lodge quality, go for it. But definitely not this one, unless you plan to travel down South of Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

This was a good budget hotel. The rooms reminded me of my student dorms in the UK and were clean. A basic breakfast is available for some around 5 euros.

Most of the staff was great there but there was some that were asking for tips or else they were rude.

Don't use the taxi driver of the hotel, he charges crazy prices!!! I used him a couple of times and after getting ripped off (a 2 km ride cost me 20 euros) I found another phone of a guy that was charging me less.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
3.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
5.5 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#42 of 66 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
3.6 mi away
Signature Lux Hotels
Signature Lux Hotels
#30 of 46 in Sandton
61 reviews
2.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Rivonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Rivonia

Address: Cnr 10th Rivonia Road, Rivonia 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Price Range: £34 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Rivonia 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 30 km from the Johannesburg airport and situated approximately 2 km from the N1 highway, 2 km from Sunninghill, 5 km from Sandton City and within walking distance of Rivonia Boulevard for shops, restaurants and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Road Lodge Rivonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Rivonia Hotel Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing