We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for transit guests” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Road Lodge Rivonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Road Lodge Rivonia
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice for transit guests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I visited twice in Road Lodge and I notice that the acoomodation was nice the room quate small but confortable. Well located near shoppings and restaurants at Rivonia. Have to provide internet for guests and variate the breakfast menu. I recomend this hotel for people in transit.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pedro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We thank you for constructive review. We're happy you found the rooms comfortable and the location of the hotel convenient. With regards to the wifi issue - we're constantly working on upgrading our wifi offerings for our guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    30
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
12
28
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

For a quick overnight stay this is a perfect choice. The price per room per night was very reasonable. Conveniently situated if you have to do business in Johannesburg. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean. We were thankful when we asked for a room on ground floor to get one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We thank you for the good review. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of the location and that our staff were both friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

check in was very friendly! room was comfortable

my problem is there was no shower cap in the shower room!! receptionist told me they don't provide!!!

receptionist who was working night shift was singing his lungs out!!! we could hear him from our room(229)

Room Tip: please provide shower caps in the rooms with shower!! and coffee station in the rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndoni X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We thank you for the review. We're glad you enjoyed the friendly check in. We also noted your issue regarding the shower cap. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rivonia hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My stay at this hotel was a pleasant surprise in many ways. Although I had some idea of the place before this was my first time to actually spend several nights there and appreciate it first hand. I arrived without prior booking but was checked in quickly and efficiently. The friendly and helpful receptionist in fact made the check in an enjoyable experience. The rooms are indeed small but not any more smaller than similar budget hotels in Europe or elsewhere. In fact, if you read some of the rather negative reviews beforehand, you may find the rooms to be more than what you expect.

As is the case with most establishments in Joburg the room as well as the bed and bath are neat and well maintained. Nothing broken or out of place. In short you are sure to find the attention to detail that you are used to in all Joburg hotels at the Road Lodge as well. I didn't eat breakfast there so I cant comment on that although I would have to say the good aroma that comes from the dining place in the mornings is very inviting. Location wise the hotel is only a few minutes from Sandton (Joburg's posh business district) but sufficiently protected from the hustle and bustle. You can also find nice pubs like News Cafe, a medium sized shopping mall and, if you are into it one or two night clubs, within a few hundred meters.

There are of course one or two things which could have made the place even better. One is access to internet. The money they charge for data bundles is so expensive you would think they are compensating the low price of the rooms with the internet cost. Another thing which was equally bothersome to me was the knock by the cleaners around 8:00 in the morning checking if they can make the room up. Wednesday May 7th was election day in SA and I was hoping to catch a good morning sleep until I was woken up with a loud knock on the door. You can of course put the DND sign outside but really how many of us remember to do that. Frankly the management needs to think of a better system for this.

Finally, would I recommend it to others. Certainly if you are a budget traveler and don't require lots of internet access.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We thank you for the wonderful review. We’re glad you found your check in efficient. We have also noted your issues regarding the internet as well. We hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urunga, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The check-in was friendly and efficient with a good chat about the cricket.

The rooms are basic but very clean and functional. Towels and soap are provided.

For dinner a range of food is available via a delivery service. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel but it looked very satisfactory. A small shopping village is within walking distance with restaurants, internet, post-office, chemist and supermarket.

The pillows could probably do with replacing but overall a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt7668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Check in was efficient but not done with any sign that they were in the least bit happy to have you stay ,very indifferent. The room was well cleaned although the toilet door was supposed to sliding one it wasn't oiled so stuck half way open. Internet was free or just 15 mins per day! The corridors unlike the clean room served to be less cared for, a split bag of crisps(chips) remained on the lower staircase for 24hrs.
It's possible to order in food and have it delivered, this was efficient and fairly cheap to do. Clement the taxi driver was very friendly and provided a transfer from the airport.
Overall don't expect great service but its a safe & clean place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge,CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This place is a joke!! Stayed here one night back on Nov. 2nd as our tour departed here the next morning. When we arrived after traveling all day, took the front desk staff(three people at the front desk) almost 10 minutes to find my reservation. One girl said we did not have a reservation. I had to give her the printout. Then after they finally acknowledged they found the reservation, they asked for our passports. My wife has a brazilian passport. One of the girls, after seeing it was a brazilian passport, turns to one of the other girls and starts shaking her whole body and dancing shouting BRAZIL!! Totally inappropriate and completely insulting. Then after the fact they have all of our info on their sheet including passports and contact info they wanted us to fill it out again. I finally told them you have everything. Then supposedly they said the reservation was not paid for. My travel agent told them it was paid for. It turns out that central booking for this chain made 2 reservations at the city lodge airport hotel instead of 1 night at the airport and one night here. They made us wait another 40 minutes. I offered to pay for it now so we did not have to wait any longer and we could figure it out later. They would not allow us to do that. I don't understand why they would not allow us to go to our room if it was being settled one way or another. The manager named Valerie walked by us during all of this about 4-5 times. I was getting upset with the front desk. I asked her you hear us getting upset with the front desk and they are not doing their job, why won't you do something? Her response was not that she was busy, but she had too many things in her hands????? I told her about the girl who made the inappropriate remark and after talking to her she she just liked my wife's hair. If that was the case, then why was the comment not about her hair? Since when is shaking your whole body have complimenting somebody's hair? After the whole situation was explained to her she made no effort to help or expedite us checking in, or even allow us to go to our room. We just had to sit there while the incompetence took place right in front of us. They could care less.

As for the room itself, super tiny. There is a pocket door that separates the bathroom and bedroom. you can barely fit in the shower. there is no elevator. the hallways smell of cigarette smoke and the carpet is pretty worn. I could deal with all of that, but the rude, insulting, and incompetent staff and manager have insured I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottinLA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will certainly look into the points you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
5.5 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
4.7 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.6 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 49 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Rivonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Rivonia

Property: Road Lodge Rivonia
Address: Cnr 10th Rivonia Road, Rivonia 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Rivonia 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 30 km from the Johannesburg airport and situated approximately 2 km from the N1 highway, 2 km from Sunninghill, 5 km from Sandton City and within walking distance of Rivonia Boulevard for shops, restaurants and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Road Lodge Rivonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Rivonia Hotel Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing