We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fixed price and assured quality, nothing more”
Review of Road Lodge Rivonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Road Lodge Rivonia
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fixed price and assured quality, nothing more”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We've booked in advance before checking in. The place is very far from anywhere you want to be, if you're a tourist (it's near Soweto, known not to be a safe area). Directions are hard to find to actually get there for the first time.

We arrived in advance and weren't given a room till the Check-in time of 11am, although they had vacant rooms. Rooms are just enough space for you to stretch your arms wide. The bathrooms don't even have space for that.

If you want lodge quality, go for it. But definitely not this one, unless you plan to travel down South of Johannesburg.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    30
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
13
29
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

This was a good budget hotel. The rooms reminded me of my student dorms in the UK and were clean. A basic breakfast is available for some around 5 euros.

Most of the staff was great there but there was some that were asking for tips or else they were rude.

Don't use the taxi driver of the hotel, he charges crazy prices!!! I used him a couple of times and after getting ripped off (a 2 km ride cost me 20 euros) I found another phone of a guy that was charging me less.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I stayed in the hotel for South Africa 2010 World Cup, were my 9 years old kid and me.
The hotel is no luxury but exactly with we need.
The room was not very large but confortable, while in the hotel we spent much of the time in the Lobby watching the futbol games with people from many different countries.
The hotel staff were very frindly, help us order food for dinner.
Just one block from the hotel there is a mall with many restaurants, Mcdonalds, KFC and two suppermarkets, which was perfect for us.
We stand a whole week, at the end of the week we started to use shared taxis to go to sandton shopping center and mandela squere, so didn't need a car.
I don't recomend the hotel if you're looking for spacious or lexury but it's value for money

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agilito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed here, booked on their website prior to a Safari trip. Good security, helpful staff and felt completely safe walking the 2 blocks to Rivonia Boulevard and down to Rivonia Village Shopping Centre for supplies, bank lunches etc and if early evening walking to the restaurants there was fine but taxi back was the option to choose. Clean room, bed and linen very good, breakfast for 50 Rand, with other choices at Rivonia Village shopping centre.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, UK
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

A good value hotel, with few frills.
Usual SA style security (large fence, electric gates at the front, security man, sign in and out)
Accomm is basic, 2 beds in room, noisy air con, small shower room, no phone in the room.
Reception seemed OK, you can have a basic breakfast for extra (I did not)
Location is OK, good for Rivonia, just off the main road and opposite maibn Rivonia strip.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2008

It did the job - we were only there for one night as a stop over before moving on. We felt perfectly safe there and the accomodation was clean and comfortable.
The staff were helpful when trying to ring through food to be delivered.
WOuldnt necessarilly recommend it for a long term stay but I would definaltey recommend it for if passing through or to use as a base for a couple of days while exploring.

  • Liked — Safe and clean
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Streets23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We stayed for one night at the Rivonia Road Lodge, as this was our pick up point for a safari to the Kruger National Park.

Room rate was very cheap at under £20 per night and the room itself was very much like a UK Travelodge, no frills but clean with a good power shower. The room wasn't the biggest though and people with mobility problems will find it difficult to get around.

The area was so so, we had already had 2 nights in Sandton so we were aware of the concerns for safety in the evenings. In the daytime though there was a mall about 5mins walk away, and some restaurants...in the end we had a meal at Mugg & Bean (think Starbucks with hot meals) and opted for an early night (we were being picked up at 5am the next day).

All in all if you find yourself in this area the Road Lodge is a good cheap option but you will need a car to explore further.

  • Liked — Modern rooms
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ju123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
5.5 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
38 reviews
2.1 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 47 in Sandton
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
4.4 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#40 of 66 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
2.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Rivonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Rivonia

Property: Road Lodge Rivonia
Address: Cnr 10th Rivonia Road, Rivonia 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Rivonia 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 30 km from the Johannesburg airport and situated approximately 2 km from the N1 highway, 2 km from Sunninghill, 5 km from Sandton City and within walking distance of Rivonia Boulevard for shops, restaurants and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Road Lodge Rivonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Rivonia Hotel Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing