We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DINNER”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saigon

Saigon
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Rivonia
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
JHB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“DINNER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Lovely meal. All very fresh. Love the spinach thing with the leaves and the peanut sauce. Atmosphere is great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    25
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So good, it's almost "Hanoi-ing"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant so many times it boggles my jaded mind that I have yet to have a bad experience. I say yet, because according to the law of averages it is bound to happen, but for now, Saigon, Rivonia remains one of my favourite restaurants in Joburg.

The food is authentic Vietnamese, with Vietnamese Chefs in the kitchen. The ingredients are as spot-on as you can get this side of the Mekong Delta and the service has always been great. Something that never ceases to amaze me is the consistency of this restaurant, and I swear that no other restaurant in Joburg does Crystal Spring Rolls quite this well.

I have at times had a waiter that fails to explain the starters or manner in which to eat certain dishes quite as well as they should, but very rarely.

Give this gem a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikecabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Ripoff deluxe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

This place has had it's day Overpriced and taste less food
Portions here are also small

Rather Go Thai as this place will be leaving you feeling empty and ripped off

On a positive note the decor n venue are very nice but are staring to show there Age now

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ab1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rivonia's oriental foods choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

liked - wonderful range of sushi and oriental foods. Try their combination platters!
Prices were reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank henryandsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarens, Free State, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

the waiter was great, he was relaxed and friendly. also very helpful in explaining dishes i did not know about. the food was good.
i really loved the baked battered banana dessert.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dylan006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saigon also viewed

Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
 
Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing