We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My one night at your guesthouse”
Review of Silver Birch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Birch
Ranked #3 of 27 Roodepoort B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Excellent stay. Clean, neat and a well-served breakfast. I will definitely recommend your guesthouse. I would recommend some snacks for late at night arrives. It is sometimes stressful to drive in Jhb.

Boards well displayed on the route.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thanks for the kind words. Next time ask us for something to snack on. Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay - as usual. Good friendly service, room was clean and well furnished/supplied. Location is perfect for the purpose that we needed it for. We are happy to recommend Silver Birch for stays in the Florida area


  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Loius was good to see you again. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband is still raving about your place! I've always preferred hotels to B&B's..but Kevin's hospitality changed all that!! The place is clean, safe and the food is divine. I'd recommend it to anyone who is looking for accomodation in Johannesburg West.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zimkhitha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Hi Zimkhitha. Thanks for the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Xcellent hospitality. Friendly staff & room were cleaned.
The quiet environment worked great for my focus required. The close proximatimaty of Spar & eating places are ideal. Strongly recommend 2 any 1

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Soekie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Hi Soekie

Thanks for the kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Many thanks for your hospitality. I had a great time at Silver Birch, which is clean, comfortable and secure. The host, Kevin, is incredibly helpful and friendly, and I would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

What a wonderful and restful stay I had at this underrated establishment!! From the moment I arrived until when I had to reluctantly leave, I felt at home and safe. The breakfast offering was also great. Why not pay them a visit to experience it yourself?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank StanleyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The place is safe,Kevin is friendly and very helpful,one might mistake it for his or her own place. This was my second stay @ the Silver Birch and I still had a pleasant stay. The single room is too cold,otherwise all was just perfect
. The place is well located ,away from high crime rate areas and close to a major shopping centre and the Central.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sifiso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roodepoort hotels
2.2 mi away
Town Lodge Roodepoort
Town Lodge Roodepoort
#1 of 2 in Roodepoort
28 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Roodepoort by Marriott
5.1 mi away
Amadwala Lodge
Amadwala Lodge
#1 of 7 in Roodepoort
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alicia's B&B
Alicia's B&B
#2 of 27 in Roodepoort
133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eagles View Guest House
Eagles View Guest House
#4 of 27 in Roodepoort
21 reviews
5.7 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Ruimsig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Birch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Birch

Address: 19 Mulder Street | Ontdekkers Park, Roodepoort 1709, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Roodepoort
Price Range: £30 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Birch 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well designed bed and breakfast is set in a tranquil garden and in a safe suburb. We cater for both leisure and business travellers. For the business man its home away from home and for the leisure traveller its a sample of true Soutrh African hospitality We are 3 Star Graded by the SA Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Silver Birch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Birch Roodepoort, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing