We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough”
Review of Amadwala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amadwala Lodge
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I want to like this place more - it has very tastefully decorated quaint little cabins, pretty landscape and easy access to the tourist delights outside of Johannesburg. The staff were helpful and accommodated our needs and requests. A little on the pricey side perhaps given the location, but they helped us organise some great trips out to Pilanesberg and a great evening meal out at the Carnivore restaurant nearby.
The restaurant was very pleasant inside but the food was dreadful - including undercooked chicken that I had to send back to the kitchen twice to have it cooked sufficiently. The lodge didn't feel especially safe which is always a concern in Johannesburg. Low cut fences, inapparent security made me feel nervous at night - and I've lived and traveled extensively in South Africa so am accustomed to dealing with safety issues.
On the whole probably worth a stay but definitely needs some improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaarin2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Amadwala Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Awesome venue with awesome clean comfortable lil cabins among these beautiful trees, perfect for a romantic weekend away but not too far from JHB. They have an incredible view on top of a rock that you can easily spend an sunny afternoon. Food is very good as tehy are a wedding venue and service was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJakes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We booked in for two nights and we were so dissatisfied with the accommodation that we only landed up staying one of the two nights. Below is a list of all that which we were dissatisfied with:

The resort is poorly maintained with far from sturdy banisters , walkways are plagued with rotting wood and holes and further there are empty ponds littering the resort. The chalets are advertised as each being equipped with a working and usable fireplace; we arrived to discover that the gas fireplaces have not been in use since 2010 and thus could not make use of our own. There was no lock on the outside door of our chalet, from a security point of view this was a massive concern. There was not enough hot water in the morning for two people to have a shower. No TV, dustbin or cupboards were provided in the chalet. The outside area of the chalet was littered with previous occupants rubbish which had since not been tidied. The resort advertises a functioning restaurant; it is far from functioning: as per the chef's admission it is not ready stock wise to receive guests, no menu's exist, breakfast provided was abysmal and far from edible.

The place should be closed down.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank K5134509876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We bought a Groupon for a Christmas Lunch Buffet 2012. It was a bit pricey, even with the discount, but having enjoyed other Christmas buffets in the past we decided it would be worth it. Espeically considering the place - we thought it would be fun to enjoy the "real" Africa!
We were wrong. We arrived and it was dirty, the ponds all half filled and smelly. There was no enough space in the Boma - all the tables were right on top of each other.
We recieved a warm and flat welcome drink of champagne and orange juice, with bugs floating in it. Our waiter took us to our table and after we had squished ouselves in, he disappeared and we never saw him again. After about 20 minutes we managed to get hold of another waiter who had no clue what he was doing. In fact, it seemed all the staff had been picked up off the side of the road that morning. They had no experience, and they smelled like they had not bathed in weeks. Not exactly what you would expect after paying so much.
The table was decorated nicely, but the crackers provided were the cheapest ones they could have found. None of them even had a prize.
The "buffet" was nothing like advertised. Half the food was not there, and all of it was cold and dripping in oil. When asked if there was gravy, my father was pointed in the direction of a big pot and told to "stir it well and take it before the oil settles on top". Disgusting. The woman who appeared to be in charge was rude and did not seem to care about anyone's problems.
There was no wine list and when asked what wine there was, 3 bottles were brought to our table - 2 whites and 1 red. Not exactly the selection that would be appropriate for such an expensive event.
One or two tables even left before they had finished eating - obviously as upset as we were by the selection of food on offer. We left hungry - something that NEVER happens at a buffet.
Needless to say we will never be returning there again, and will be adivising our friends not to waste their time or their hard earned money. It was the most horrible Christmas we have ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

on christmas day, me and my husband decided to go somewhere for christmas lunch. to avoid a messy house. i had found Amadwala and booked. it was very cheap. apon arrival i was greeted with friendly faces and the smell of ham in the air. we sat in the boma and had helped ourselves to heaps of food as one does on christmas. The food was tasty . staff where a bit slow - but at least they where able to make a few good tips in-order for them too to have a good christmas. The only complaint i do have however is the attitude and disrespect some people have. a family sitting to my left sought out to "bully" the owner of the place ( i have never seen such behavior in my life) . I guess there is always one. Me and my husband are going back to Amadwala to look at it for his 40th birthday. the rooms look beautiful too. keep up the hard work guys. OH and P.S - the only thing my stomach felt after eating your food was full and happy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The Christmas Lunch Buffet which was hosted by Amadwala Lodge on 25.12.2012, was such a disappointment. There was no organisation, it was totally understaffed by persons who appeared to have never worked as waiters previously and the woman in charge, was aggressive and disinterested. Only about half of the dishes that were advertised, were provided and the remainder was poorly prepared and soaking in oil. Three of our party of four, had upset stomachs after eating the food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Strange how often we pass places without take note, and then one day as they usually do a taxi came to hold in front of you and then you notice the places around you.
This happen a while ago while sitting in my car waiting for a taxi off load all his passengers. I notice Amadwala Lodge and this was literally 7km away from my house, a little get away in the bush.
I booked a weekend and later after reading the reviews I felt very weary. I spoke to my husband and he said lets go and see for ourselves and take it from there.
Wow big was my surprise, a place in the city but yet in the bush, the view was awesome and what made the place was no TV’s or radio to spoil the bush feeling.
Yes you hear the cars but bare in mind you are in the city, if you stay in a fancy hotel or guest house you bound to still hear cars pass by.
The peace you experience while you in the “bushveld” and the view it was just amazing. So don’t read the reviews just go and experience Amadwala for yourself. The staff is amazing and Christine the owner made our stay memorable.
Christine thanks to you and your staff you are 100% in my books and we will definitely visit you again.
Johan & Rina

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roodepoort
5.8 mi away
Town Lodge Roodepoort
Town Lodge Roodepoort
#2 of 2 in Roodepoort
26 reviews
5.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
#1 of 2 in Roodepoort
63 reviews
5.9 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
8.5 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#23 of 66 in Johannesburg
191 reviews
5.1 mi away
Silver Birch
Silver Birch
#3 of 27 in Roodepoort
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadwala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadwala Lodge

Address: 203 Pierre Road | Ruimsig AH, Roodepoort 1724, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Roodepoort
Price Range: £41 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amadwala Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amadwala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadwala Lodge Roodepoort, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing