We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some big deficiencies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town Lodge Roodepoort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roodepoort
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Looking at the hotel from outside you can see something wonderful!
It is really clean and all the staff is really kind BUT:
- there isn't the elevator (my room was at the third floor)
- in the room I didn't have a safe-deposit box
- the only water you can havem you have to buy it from an automatic distributor, also during the breakfast (when I asked for some water, the girl answered me that I should had to buy it from the distributor)
- no restaurant in the hotel, there is a take-away service that bring you everything (good meat), but you will have your lunch/dinner pratically in the lobby.
- good breakfast
- safe place (and here in Johannesburg is really important)
- free wifi only 15 minutes per day, if you want more you have to pay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiPiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Roodepoort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for your comment. Town Lodge Roodepoort is a two star hotel which we as a group believe offers above average two star services. We are glad that you received good service and found the hotel clean and safe. Some of the other services and facilities that you mention - such as room safe, coffee shop etc - are available at our three star City Lodge brand which is well represented in the Johannesburg area. Once again, many thanks for you comments which we will certainly evaluate more closely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2009

Very courteous and helpful staff – had a wait for check in but we were there about 10am, and were served tea/coffee and muffins while we waited. Rooms on the small side but well laid out and clean, large bathrooms and shower – no bathtub. Breakfasts were good, no in-house restaurant but can order-in from selected local restaurants’, which one of our party did one night and found the food good and reasonable. The in-house taxi service is reliable but expensive, check prices before booking. The best thing about this hotel is its staff whom are delightful and extremely helpful and friendly, a particular mention for Glorious at reception an asset to any employer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dees-Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pberbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Roodepoort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roodepoort
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Roodepoort by Marriott
4.9 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#4 of 8 in Randburg
39 reviews
9.9 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Garden Court Milpark
Garden Court Milpark
#16 of 66 in Johannesburg
388 reviews
7.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#33 of 66 in Johannesburg
19 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Lodge Roodepoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Roodepoort

Address: 1 Constantia Boulevard | Constantia Kloof, Roodepoort 1709, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roodepoort
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Roodepoort 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated close to the N1 highway just off 14th Avenue in Roodepoort, this lodge offers business and leisure guests 106 rooms in a variety of double, inter-leading and twin configurations. It comprises features synonymous with Town Lodges around the country – such as spacious rooms with maxi showers, ample free parking, a swimming pool, breakfast facilities and an evening bar service. It offers ideal accommodation for visitors to the rapidly growing western edge of Greater Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Town Lodge Roodepoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Roodepoort Hotel Roodepoort
Town Lodge Roodepoort South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing