We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Washington D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Convenient for business”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Located on a busy freeway junction the Holiday Inn Express affords easy access to the commercial and business sector. With convenient parking beneath, a large lobby and dinning area the hotel makes life on the road easy. The rooms are simple, adequate and surprisingly quiet for being near the highway. The only downfall is the internet access, metered by bandwidth that seemed to be used up far quicker then expected. Spent nearly as much for a days connectivity as the nights stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InsoucianceAbroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear InsoucianceAbroad,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are glad to read you found our convenient hotel location commendable. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. I am deeply sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectation on this particular occasion. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you encountered due to the internet service received. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps where great attention will be paid to the matter.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    44
    60
    16
    15
See reviews for
18
22
7
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location of this hotel was good and the reception staff very friendly. The rooms were very clean.

The breakfast was quite boring, not a lot to pick from. But the thing that bothered us most is that we had to move to 3 different rooms. the first night.
Room one had a door that couldn't be locked. Room two had a broken heater and room number 3 had a shower that didn't drain. After another error in our last room, we decided to book another hotel. Further away from work, but not as annoying. The room service they offer, is ordering form the restaurant and picking the food up at reception. Not quite room service if you ask me. The food was ok though.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room, they smoking rooms smell terrible. Ask for a room with a view on the go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Marleen H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback regarding your stay with us. I appreciate the compliments on our staff and location.

On the other hand, I am truly disappointed to hear the troubles you had with the rooms allocated to you and sorry that you have to switch rooms. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you. We deeply regret the service issues and negative experience you may have had.

Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandton hotels

Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Hotel for the business travel.

Easy Access to all the major highways in JHB, doubt there is a better located hotel. Rates are aggressive, rooms are neat and clean.

Don't opt to have breakfast or supper at the hotel since this its terrible and the restaurant adjacent to the hotel does not have have the ingredients for the meals they publish on the menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rheinhardt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Rheinhardt,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you mentioned our excellent location and the good quality of your room. However, I was disappointed to read that you did not like the food options available. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Location: I stayed at this hotel from 9th June 2013 till 15th June 2013 on a business trip. Finding the entrance of this hotel is a task in itself. If you are new to the city, it is very difficult to guide the taxi driver about how to reach the hotel? Thankfully, the staff is very friendly and always ready to help with a smile. There is NOTHING close by to the hotel in terms of market, restaurant or food court. The bar down the hotel is average.
Food: The breakfast spread is good and even vegetarians can survive upon the breads, fruits, juices and the yogurt that is included in the menu.
Internet: WiFi is free only for 30MB and then it is chargeable.
Generator Backup: On 13th June, there was a power cut and to our surprise, the hotel does not have a generator backup! Not sure about the hotel's star rating but being generator backup is a must.
Rooms: Rooms are neat and clean and upon your return from work, you will find the room cleaned and things placed at the appropriate location(s).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms located towards the freeway as you will get disturbed by the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTotrru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear GlobeTotrru,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are pleased you liked the cleanliness of your room and our breakfast options. We are sorry you experience you had in finding our hotel and the location of our property was less than satisfactory. We apologize we do not have Generator back up and fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The treatment from the worker of this hotel was excellent. Very clean environment and the breakfast meals are great. The only problem I find (and it is typical of south Africa) is exit and entry gates to the Hotel within the surrounding fence. I feel the apartheid is gone and the need to bring down these high long fences cannot be over emphasised. I don't think the walls make the city any safer. The location, though not bad, the long fence surrounding the series of offices and complex in the area make moving around especially on foot difficult. No problems if you have your own car. I will surely recommend the hotel to anyone, business or family visit.

Room Tip: Of course the golf area gives you a beautiful scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMHaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penistone, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is in a business park in quite an isolated location some distance from Sandton. I could not fault the hotel on cleanliness or comfort -except that that heating was not working and was not fixed despite a request to do so. The hotel does have an adjacent restaurant, 'The Butcher's Block', but that is the only choice and for anything else it is a fifteen minute taxi ride to 'civilization'. The most annoying thing to me as a business traveler was that the hotel bar closed at ten thirty in the evening! On top of that the bartender was the most sullen and in-communicative bartender that I have ever met, definitely a square peg in a round hole!

Room Tip: The hotel is bounded by main roads front and back so maybe the higher rooms would suffer less traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Philwilk,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased you liked the cleanliness of our property. I would like to apologize for the experience you had with your heating unit in your room and the hours of operation of our hotel bar fell below your expectations. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with the location of our property from the nearby restaurants and the service you received from our bar attendant. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

While this hotel has Sandton in its name, it is located in the suburb of Woodmead which is a 15/20 minute drive from the Sandton tourists are looking for (Sandton City/Nelson Mandela Square). It’s located inside an office park along with global brands Fluor, Oracle and GM - overlooking the N1 motorway. The hotel is a 30-40 minute drive from OR Tambo International airport. Once you sign in with the office park security, the hotel is at the end of the road. There is free parking outside and underneath the hotel (but don’t get in too late or there may be no bays left!). You'd definitely need a car.

There is nothing (shops, amenities) within safe walking distance of the hotel. The nearest shops are at the Woodmead Shopping complex on the other side of the motorway - a five minute drive away. There is a Butcher themed restaurant under the hotel but I avoided it based on consistently poor TripAdvisor reviews of it.

The hotel reception is on the first floor - so you need to go up stairs or the lift to reach it. Typical with many Holiday Inn Express hotels, the reception/bar/breakfast room area is one common area. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. I was fortunate to arrive at 11:15am and be given my room right away. The hotel is laid out in a “L” shape, with rooms facing either the outward: motorway/office park or inward: the quad/parking lot.

I had a room on the second floor facing Woodmead Boulevard and Maxwell Drive. The room is a typical modern Holiday Inn Express layout. The colour scheme is dark/navy blue. Comfortable mattress and selection of soft and firm pillows. My room also had a fold out sofa bed. LCD TV with local channels (pity there was no Sky or BBC News). Helpful that one of the desk plug sockets takes european/british plugs. The room has the energy saving system where a card needs to be stuck in the slot to make the power work - normally any card (or cardboard) works - but here only a room key will do the trick!

Standard compact Holiday Inn Express bathroom - with basin, toilet cubicle and shower cubicle. The toilet was annoying in that it kept on flushing and needed to be manually stopped. The shower temperature and pressure were amazing - an example to many hotels! Sadly on my final morning there had been a burst water main in a nearby suburb and the water pressure was pathetic. Shower gel and shampoo, hand soap are provided. The bathroom also has that sci-fi looking blue LED night light!

I only had breakfast at the hotel. Average buffet spread (choice of egg plus 2 other hot items).

This hotel offers 30mB of free data per device, per day... not amazing but something. But the advertising in the lobby says “Free Wifi”! The WiFi service is provided by a well known South African provider - so if you buy access you can use it elsewhere too.

No pool here.

My second stay here - met my needs at a cheapish price. I’d stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
4.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 47 in Sandton
755 reviews
1.6 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 47 in Sandton
112 reviews
3.7 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
4.4 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 47 in Sandton
100 reviews
4.2 mi away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
Address: 54 Maxwell Drive, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Woodmead, Sandton. The hotel is located in the heart of a major business district in Sandton. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity to the newly built shopping mall. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead features 155 contemporary style bedrooms individually air conditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit box and televisions. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Hotel Sandton
Sandton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing