We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best to be avoided”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The good: staff at reception were friendly and helpful at all times, but clearly the problems they faced were neither of their own making nor always within their power to solve, at least not immediately. They did, however, try their level best to solve issues, even if it did not work out, and for that they deserve a big compliment (no passing of the buck as is often seen at many hotels).
The rooms are functional (although a broken light at the desk that was not fixed during two days, despite repeated requests, which made hours of working on a notebook at night a pain).

The not so good: parking is an issue, especially late at night. Even though the hotel is located within a secure business park with loads and loads of empty spaces at night, I was forced to park on hotel grounds by the business park security, but alas there was nothing available.
Also, the hotel is close to absolutely nothing, not a thing.

The bad moving on to the quite bad: meals can be ordered from another location that arrives at the hotel lukewarm at best, but what to do if the order is entirely, fully, completely wrong and it has just gone past 9.30pm when the last orders could be placed? Go hungry? Drive somewhere? That is not an option as it is a minimum 20-minute drive to anywhere.
Breakfast was not exactly a welcoming affair. A sign instructs you to wait to be seated, but after 10 minutes waiting a cleaner took pity on me and told me nobody will seat me, just pick a table. The warm food was dried out (bright green, fully desiccated scrambled eggs) and again lukewarm. Repeated requests for a coffee mug went unanswered till about 3 minutes before my meal ended. And to top it all, on both mornings all guests were entertained to very vocal fights coming from the kitchen. On the second morning a breakfast staff member decided to join in at the top of her voice from the middle of the breakfast room. This was funny for about 10 seconds max, thereafter it was just annoying and ultimately embarrassing that she did not have the awareness that she was shutting down conversation for about 15 people.
The bar closes very early and sells wine at about 6-7 times the retail price. But compliments to the extremely pleasant bartender on both nights who - just like his reception colleagues next door - was fully focused on delivering excellent service.

The infuriating: I had booked a non-smoking room with a double bed - which was confirmed - and very nicely received a smoking room with twin beds. The twin beds were no problem as I was traveling on my own, but smoking in this day and age? Seriously? Got moved to a non-smoking room the next day and it had three ashtrays in it! What? And the room reeked of smoke! Hardly surprising, you expect a smoker not to see that as an invitation to smoke?

The lack of meal options, the very poor breakfast and the quite bad price-quality ratio overall means this hotel should best be avoided. It need not be so. Improve the food issues and you will be halfway there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisAlmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear ChrisAlmere,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the restaurant service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a "working weekend" in Johannesburg. I was met with friendly smiles and Exceptionally Friendly Hotel Staff. I have not been to a hotel in along time where the Front Office and Housekeeping staff are so energised and motivated to treat the guests like they are kings. The hotel was busy'ish and the staff were very attentive to everyone's needs. The Room was very clean and all amenities were adequate and in working condition (in fact I think the hair dryer worked better than my own).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NtongaManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX_11, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear RicCharl

Thank you for taking the time to complete a comment on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Express Woodmead.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding staff friendliness, rooms clean and impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope we can welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Liezl Bekker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Please do check your booking and tariff paid online. When you are extending yout stays also, check the rate. This morning I was being charged for a night which was already accounted for having extended my stay for 2 nights. The duty manager with whom i checked in and paid the 2 nights found it normal to tell me there is an outstanding amount. Bloody thieves.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ashwin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Used this hotel as a first stop when on business travel, stayed there for 3 nights. Hotel is placed between three major roads so the traffic noise will be your constant companion. My expectations were not great following the other reviews, but even recommended by other guests "quiet side" with the golf course view did not allow to sleep well. Also, there are no entrance indications so you will need some luck locating the way in. You will make way better use of your money booking one of the guesthouses available nearby.

Room Tip: bring your earplugs, you will need them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blablabla9887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

It's a good business hotel and reasonable location to places like the lions park and the airport. Otherwise it a bit of a dead area as it's really made for the local businesses. Rooms were ok but found the hair dryer and a wall socket not working. Bathroom could do with a bit of TLC too. It's relatively nice but this is just a clean place to sleep with a reasonable breakfast.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank VeggieLondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

If you are looking for a short stay hotel near Midrand this place is a good choice. The hotel is a few years old and in good condition.

Access to the hotel from the M1 highway is via a busy road which can cause delays during peak times.

We used GPS to locate the hotel and ended up at the old site which strangely still has a roadside sign indicating the hotel is there.

The coffee machines require a service as it does not dispense cappuccino with milk - the same occurred when we stayed here in December 2013.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Imtiaz_ctn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We slept at the hotel while attending the Bruce Springsteen show, thus spent limited time in the room. Located in a office complex it could be difficult to find, but our GPS took us there. The room while small, had everything we required for the short stay. The double bed felt minute as own bed is a king. The breakfast buffet was good, although not the choice was a bit limited, thus not a problem with a short stay. Our room faced the N1 highway, and there was noise intrusion from the traffic.

Room Tip: Request a room facing away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
4.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#28 of 47 in Sandton
793 reviews
4.9 mi away
Signature Lux Hotels
Signature Lux Hotels
#26 of 47 in Sandton
93 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#24 of 47 in Sandton
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Silver Oak Luxury Accommodation
4.8 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead

Address: 54 Maxwell Drive | Woodmead North Office Park, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range: £45 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Woodmead, Sandton. The hotel is located in the heart of a major business district in Sandton. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity to the newly built shopping mall. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead features 155 contemporary style bedrooms individually air conditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit box and televisions. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Hotel Sandton
Sandton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing