We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 10 May 2012

A good clean hotel , with a great little shopping centre next door.
Security could be an issue with an attempted break in to our room, but the hotel had a lot of security.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warrenandjodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Your kind feedback is truly appreciated and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Sandton soon!

Greetings from the "INN" team,

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road is very conveniently located for most of the Sandton malls and attractions. The property itself is modern and well appointed with all the expected fittings of an international Holiday Inn. As a repeat customer and Priority Club Platinum I received vouchers for complimentary internet, complimentary drinks at the Skye Bar, a welcome snack platter, complimentary bottled water and complimentary ironing. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant is also exceptionally good. What really stands out is the friendliness and excellent service from the staff. This is definitely my go-to property when in Sandton.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeanMendis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Hi sm105,

Wow... We are humbled by your "EXCELLENT" comments on your stay with us, especially as it comes from such an experienced TripAdvisor reviewer such as yourself with over 60 reviews behind your name.

Great to know you have become a true ambassador for the Holiday Inn Sandton!! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon...

At your service,

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Very clean, very nice rooms. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Great breakfast selection and service (ate far too much at breakfast!). A few minutes walk to Sandton City and also close to the Gautrain station.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keishamaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Great to hear you enjoyed our sumptious breakfast at the Holiday Inn Sandton! Greetings from the entire team at the hotel and make sure you come back to South Africa soon!

A big Holiday Inn greeting!

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I'm not a great fan normally of big chain hotels because of the lack of personality and character but the Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road made me revise my opinion. The staff is really above expectations when it comes to welcome, information, assistance, from the security guards at the gate to the breakfast cook who makes exactly what you like with a heartwarming smile.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THIERRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

GREAT HOTELS GUEST LOVE.... that's our motto! We are so excited to hear you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and we have managed to turn around your perception of "big chain" hotels.

Looking forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to South Africa. Regards to everyone in Winznau, Switzerland!

Warm regards,

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I am a frequent traveller due to work, and have stayed at numerous hotels in South Africa and abroad. Holiday Inn in Rivonia Road surpasses all expectations. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and special. The food is delicious. During breakfast, the chef cooking eggs had a huge smile on her face the entire time and used words like "darling" and "lovey" when requesting my egg preferance. A bit strange I know, but nonetheless made me feel very special. Well done guys keep it up.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TANYA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

FANTASTIC comments on the service received by our FANTASTIC "INN" TEAM... We are thrilled to hear you truly enjoyed your stay with us and we cant wait to welcoming you back soon when returning to Johannesburg!

Warm regards,

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We hosted a Hollard Procurement conference at this hotel in March and the service was amazing. Staff are friendly and very willing to accommodate, rooms are great and the dining is pretty good to. Excellent Conference facilities, Great location - Close to the Gautrain and Sandton City.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zeenat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Hi Zeenat66,

Being successful in business requires a good host while being away from home. We are extremely excited to hear we have been able to successfully fulfil this role and deliver on the Holiday Inn brand promise by creating “Great Hotels Guest Love”.. Your comments on the service received are much appreciated and will be shared with all of our team members.

Greetings to the Hollard team and we look forward to seeing you all back soon.

Yours sincerely,


Garnet Basson – General Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed there recently when I attended an exhibition in Johannesburg.

Nice business hotel, Rooms are comfortably big enough for my colleague & myself.

Hotel had the normal 3 pin & 2 pin wall plugs at the study table which I felt was really good so I did not need an adaptor. In-room electronic safe was also provided. Good variety of tv programmes so I could watch TV in my limited free time.

They also had a comfortable lobby which we could sit down and discuss work with our laptops or at the lazy corner where they had ample seating.

Service at the conceirge was very friendly & helpful. They were always ready to answer your questions or get you a taxi.

The hotel also had someone who was standing by the lobby lift (presumably to deter unwanted "guests"). We all know that it could be a little unsafe in South Africa at times, but generally, Sandton is safe.

Did not use the Skye Bar nor the business centre so I cannot comment.

However, i felt that wifi could be provided free in the rooms (being a business hotel) since the rates are quite steep actually.

Breakfast was sumptous but a bit pricy (again).

Had an incident when i was in the shower late at night (about 1am) when the water supply stopped suddenly. I was stranded in the shower for about 15 minutes with soap all over my body. Fortunately the water supply came back on and i quickly finished my bath.

Barring that incident, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archenemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Hi there "Archenemy",

We are extremely excited to hear we were able to deliver on the Holiday Inn brand promise and create "great hotels guests love".. Apologies for the inconvenience caused by the sudden loss of water pressure. I can assure you the issue has been addressed accordingly.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 46 in Sandton
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £76 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing