We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Perfected!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Location Perfected!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a reasonably priced and comfortable hotel right next door to the best shopping mall in Joburg.. This ones it!! It's practically next door to Mandela Square, a staircase outside the hotel entrance/exit leads straight to inside the mall! The mall itself is packed with great restaurants Butcher Grill to Nando's and some of the best shops, designer to Edgar's to Checkers.

Very very convenient if you're traveling for business and need a place in the evenings to shop and dine at!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nabata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Wow, What a great review "Nabata", we highly appreciate your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back the Holiday Inn Sandton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    252
    143
    45
    33
See reviews for
38
84
57
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Having stayed in holiday inns for the last 40 years, I wasn't exactly entralled to hear I had been booked into this one.
However, there were a number of features which I particularly appreciated:
First and foremost, there was a general air of moderate happiness amongst the staff; everyone was trully friendly, glad to be of service, and (sometimes a bit of a problem in South Africa) appeared to be happy with their work.
The hotel was efficient, very clean, and (sorry) but I appreciated the fact that there was no bath, but 2 very effective showers. THe world's water crisis is there, and hotels need to act, rather than pretend that they are doing something.
THe hotel is in comfortable and safe walking distance of Nelson Mandela square and the Sandton Convention Centre.
The free WIfi was the best that I have yet to come accross in South Africa, and worked very well indeed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear CapeTownCurtis,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is highly appreciated.

We look forward to hosting you again when you next visit our beautiful city.

Yours sincerely
Nikola Jelenovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed at Holiday Inn Sandton for 4days from Sunday to Wednesday. It was a very nice experience. The rooms are clean and nice. Very courteous staff. Breakfast was lovely and nice. The breakfast chef, Comfort, was good at what he was doing. The free WiFi facility is a plus for guests as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonaventure K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear "Bonaventure K"

Thank you for your great review and your kind commendations, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Please do pay us a visit again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton.

Guest Relations Manager- Nonku Sithole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in Holiday Inn, Sandton for 4 days. It is centrally located in Sandton and has nice, spacious, well furnished, clean rooms with a courteous and helpful staff. The breakfast is good in terms of variety and quality. The Hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to Sandton Gautrain Station as also to close-by locations. Good value for money.

Room Tip: On one side of the Hotel, there is demolition work going on. Ask for a room on the side opposite to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear "Kuala Lumpur"

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your great comments, and this time with regards to the amazing stay you had with us in particular.

At the Holiday Inn Sandton,our main aim is guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

Please be assured, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton in the near future.

Nonku Sithole- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel, while on a business trip. Very hard to fault anything about this hotel, clean, modern comfortable rooms, two nice bars and extremely friendly and helpful staff.

The hotel also runs a free shuttle service across too the Nelson Mandela, square, which was very useful as I was on my own.

The only thing to mark this hotel down was the Restaurant. They only offer a buffet in the evening, which was of the greatest quality, however the breakfast was good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank neilinbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear "neilinbarton"

Thank you for the great review and your kind recommendations, they are highly appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, here at Holiday Inn we pride ourselves in the service we provide to our guests and I am glad that our staff were able to provide you with excellent, friendly and efficient service. Please note that while we offer buffets in the evening, you are still welcome to order from our ala carte menu if you wish to do so. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Guest Relations Manager- Nonku Sithole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

excellent welcome, staff in the hotel, breakfast hall etc... very good room, fast internet access
I really really appreciated my stay. Will definetely come again. perfect if you do business in Sandton area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna_douchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Anna_douchka,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is highly appreciated.

We look forward to being your choice of hotel when you next visit our beautiful country in the not to distant future.

Yours sincerely
Nikola Jelenovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have been staying at the Holiday Inn on Rivonia Road for many years and for many years I have been able to access the free Wifi in my room.

This time - however, my invoice reflected a charge for Wifi usage. I raised this at the checkout desk, but the amount was not reversed. I called the hotel when I returned home; i followed this up with an email and I have had no response whatsoever.

This hotel adverstises Free Wifi all over the hotel - i noticed the signage in the lifts. i believe that the hotel is in contravention of the Consumer Protection Act by charging me for a service that is advertised to be free. However, even more stupid, is the fact that they are prepared to treat a very loyal and frequent business traveller this poorly. I will not be returning to this hotel!!! This was once a really good hotel, but the service levels are noticably lower every time I return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear guest,

Apologies once again for the inconveniences caused. We have already spoken to one another last week and were able to clarify the situation on our free wifi offering at our hotel. I am glad that we have been able to solve the matter and would like to once more assure you of our best intentions.

We sincerely hope we are able to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Rodney Bull - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 47 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Property: Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing