We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I took my wife to the Holiday Inn Sandton for her birthday and we had a great time. Even though this might be a bit more of a business hotel with a corner desk etc we had a very nice room, spacious bathroom and very comfy bed. The service was really good and the Skye bar makes fantastic cocktails - the pink mojito is really good and there are some great views as this is on the 9th floor so perfect for a sundowner drink. would not mind staying there again

Room Tip: Currently construction happening on both sides of the hotel so but the noise is well taken care off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divanbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear "divanbrits"

Thank you so much for the brilliant review, we highly appreciate them. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time. Your comments will most certainly be conveyed to the rest of the team. We do hope that you will both visit our hotel again in the in the near future.

Best regards
Rodney Bull
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Like this hotel a lot for its location and value. Walking distance to the Mall makes for a great place from which there are many dining out options and shopping. The quality is very good for the price. Internet is reliable and strong. The rooms are set up well and the staff are all very service oriented. Haven't tried the food as there are too many nearby options so don't have an opinion to share.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank TCWASHDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear "TCWASHDC"


Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review about your recent experience with us , they are highly appreciated. I will convey your comments to the rest of our team. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Yours sincerely
General Manager
Rodney Bull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is in an ok location, close to Sandton shopping, restaurants etc. The rooms are nice and relatively spacious, except for the bathrooms which are too small and poorly planned with a large door that hits the toilet when opened....
The WiFi internet connection seems flaky, sometimes relatively fast, but very slow in the evenings. The service is overall poor and very slow compared to other similar hotels in the area. The first few days I was there no newspapers were provided in the lobby, or at breakfast in the restaurant. Breakfast was included, but the procedure when entering the breakfast restaurant involved filling out a slip with your room number, name and signature. That was very annoying and time consuming, unlike in most other hotels where you just give your room number. Usually none of the staff in the restaurant was interested in serving any coffee/tea, unless you managed to catch one of them. The breakfast buffet was more or less ok, except for sloppy signage, and display of fruits. The boiled eggs were cold.
Overall the hotel doesn't get anywhere close to the normal expected service level, probably related to poor management/leadership since most of the employees seems disengaged and not particularly interested in providing good service. One of the staff at the breakfast mentioned to me that they had told the management that the breakfast procedure with filling out and signing the slips was too complicated and that people (including me) were complaining. She said that management were insisting on the current procedure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plog60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest.

First of all,thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton and for sharing your valuable and constructive feedback with us, we highly appreciate any comments made by you and can assure you that we take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet our guest expectations.

While I am delighted that you found our hotel to be ideally located and that you enjoyed the spacious rooms, it concerning to read that you did not entirely experience our true hospitality that we strive to offer each of our guests.

Therefore I sincerely apologise for the lapses in the level of services and standards that you received and the frustration and dissatisfaction caused. I can assure you that your recent experience is not a true reflection of our standards and services we pride ourselves in.

Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with management and all team members responsible and corrective measures have been taken in the meantime to ensure that this is not a re- occurring incident and that all the short comings are addressed and corrected. Though I am not able to undo the negative impression received, I would highly appreciate if you would give us another chance to prove to you, that we can do much better than what you recently have experienced with us. Please be assured that we do look forward to a continued relationship with you, and we all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton.


Warm Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Nonku Sithole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have stayed here several times due to the location which is convenient for our business. We have complained several times about the quality of the breakfast and the whole dining experience but so far haven't noticed any improvement. Breakfasts consist of limited fruit selection, even resorting to canned peaches, stale pastries, cold plates and very average hot food station. We had the misfortune of having dinner there and after being served stale bread, the pure beef burgers as stated in menu are nothing of the sort and just cheap shop bought patties. The other items ordered off the menu were in edible.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear "Jenny M"

Thank you for your constructive feedback, I am very disappointed to learn that you did not experience the true hospitality that the Holiday Inn Sandton has to offer, I can assure you that this is not a true reflection of the level of services that we pride ourselves in.

I have communicated the feedback to our executive chef, whom I believe you had a chat with during your dinner regarding the beef patties, I will be sending you an e-mail shortly regarding the feedback.

Thank you for assisting us to improve our service levels on an ongoing basis, your concerns and interests are very important to us and we highly appreciate your feedback.

I do hope that you will be returning to the Holiday Inn Sandton to experience our true excellent service soon.

Warm Regards.

Nonku Sithole
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

if you are looking for luxury,comfort and hospitality unblemished,then Holiday Inn is your destination of choice.Me and my girlfriend had a marvelous experience and we are definitely coming back.I had asked them to plan a little surprise for my girlfriend on her birthday,Sadi and they did a sterling job and we were treated like royalty the whole of our stay there.The friendliness of the staff is beyond reproach.The prices quite affordable but the rooms exquisite.Shuttles comfortable and always on time.Simply put business professionalism reigns at the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Executive Suites are quite spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear " Kasi F"

Wow, what a great review, Thank yo so much for your kind recommendations, we highly appreciate your feedback. I have shared the feedback with the entire team who are all delighted to hear that they were able to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton for your next visit to South Africa.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager- Nonku Sithole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed only one night there on April 12,2014.I met very warmly welcome and easy and quick check in with my group. Nice welcoming drinks,clean room,excellent complimentary wifi access,friendly and helpful staff there.Bathroom was a little bit small but ok for me. Breakfast very tasty and perfect.Location excellent for our group and safe as well.Only suggestion for hotel housekeeping due to small notification card on the counter top wrote down as Forget Something? If they have forgotten any essential toiletry item such as razor,shaving cream,comb,toothbrushes,cotton wool and sanitary napkin,guest should be contact to housekeeping department and they will be deliver with compliments.But I didn't found anymore and actually housekeeping department serving as reduce cost.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TUN1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Sandton, I would like to firstly thank you for the wonderful feedback and the kind recommendations,we highly appreciate it, we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is pleasing to learn that our staff provided you with efficient, warm and friendly service and that you enjoyed our breakfast, WiFi as well the ideal location of our hotel.

I am however disappointed to hear about your housekeeping experience, I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you in that regard and can assure you that it not a true reflection of our service standards and corrective action has been taken to ensure that this is not a re- occurring experience. we really appreciate your constructive feedback.


We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Guest Relations Manager- Nonku Sithole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a reasonably priced and comfortable hotel right next door to the best shopping mall in Joburg.. This ones it!! It's practically next door to Mandela Square, a staircase outside the hotel entrance/exit leads straight to inside the mall! The mall itself is packed with great restaurants Butcher Grill to Nando's and some of the best shops, designer to Edgar's to Checkers.

Very very convenient if you're traveling for business and need a place in the evenings to shop and dine at!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Nabata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIS, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Wow, What a great review "Nabata", we highly appreciate your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back the Holiday Inn Sandton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 46 in Sandton
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Sandton
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £76 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing