We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms with big, comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The best thing about the hotel was the bar, open all day, with wifi and a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, always buzzing with comings and goings. Free bus to nearby places including Nelson Mandela square and sandstone convention Centre. The bathrooms are good too, modern with an enormous shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breezy-view8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Nickym31,

Thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor.

We will make sure that your positive comments are passed onto the relevant departments. Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel already several times before and decided now to review it after my last stay here end of 2012. The hotel is amongst the best one can find here in Johannesburg i believe and I thoroughly enjoyed every visit of it. The view in the lobby is breathtaking as are most rooms on the top floors. The spa and fitness center are huge and holds a large swimming pool. Dinner can be a bit of a waiting experience yet serves food of great quality. If you can catch one of the few tables near the window, your breakfast experience will double its value for sure. This hotel is a true gem here in Jo'Burg and I will always opt to stay here on any future visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VOYVOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear VOYVOY,

Greetings from a sunny Johannesburg! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you had the opportunity to experience the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on numerous occasions and have enjoyed your times with us.

Johannesburg is a busy city and coming back to breathtaking views of the city is one of many positives we can agree on!

I look forward to your next visit & hopefully have the chance to meet you in person.

With kind regards
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Getting into the hotel was bit awkward based on its location on the corner. The front staff was very helpful and courteous. The room was great, cleaning was top notch, the large roomy shower was awesome. The bed was very comfortable. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the dinner was extremely good. Joburg itself nothing to write home about but the hotel is a great place to stay for a night when you first land before moving on to better locations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purebliss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear purebliss1,

Thank you for your positive feedback. Your excellent comments have been communicated to the team which goes a long way in motivating the teams to continue the great work they do.

Cleanliness is a top priority in the hotel and it's wonderful to hear your feedback first hand. I am also pleased to see you experience our staff's unique Yes I Can! service on your arrival at the Concierge.

I look forward to hosting you again at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in the near future.

With kind regards
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As it's been said...great gym & pool-but you need a hat...a rip off 80R here or 26 in the mall.... Ok rooms...what's with single beds???? I was upgraded to a business room-really no different....couldn't see the benefit of it.
Happy hour poor-no wine, beer only???
Not the best room service menu, but food was ok....
Staff very friendly ...hotel will drive you to mall & local restaurants with in a 5 mile radius.
All in all...ok for a 5* hotel???not fantastic???but ok....

Room Tip: Front rooms very noisy due to traffic ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahWH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Sarahws888,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on your last stay. We are pleased to hear that you experienced our friendly staff & enjoyed the use of our shuttle bus to & from the shopping mall.

We look forward to hosting you again at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in the near future & hope to meet & exceed your expectations.

With kind regards
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stay here when in Joburg to take advantage of the 3 story gym with extensive weights, arobic machines, yoga classes, etc. The staff are helpful and positive, the room is fine, the location convenient for my business.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cant_see_enough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Cant_see_enough,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor and for taking the time to rate our hotel.

We are extremely happy that you enjoy the Platinum Planet Fitness Gym linked to our hotel - it is a great asset to the hotel & we are extremely proud to have such a fantastic facility for our guests.

With our Yes I Can! attitude our staff go the extra mile to ensure guests feel at home & this has reflected in your response to us.

We look forward to your next visit to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotels entrance was a bot awkward.
You enter the hotel thinking you are in the Lobby, but you have to take the elevator to the 13th floor. Then again from there another elevator to your room. I did not see this as user friendly.

The rooms were good. Nothing great about it. I spent only a night there.

The breakfast was good, and you have good views of town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salah_Sharaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Salah S,

Thank your for reviewing your recent stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not find our elevators user friendly but are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast & views of town.

We strive to ensure guests are happy with all our services offered. We hope to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

First time I've stayed at this hotel and was reasonably impressed. Beds are comfortable and they have spacious bathrooms. Good views of the surrounding city. Staff friendly and helpful. I can't comment on the food as I ate out during my stay. Hotel is conveniently located for many of the local restaurants. However, it is not advised to walk the streets at night. The hotel will provide a shuttle bus even for the five minutes it takes to get to the nearest eatery. Overall a good experience for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear DavidH1959,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We will be sure to pass on your great comments to the staff for ensuring you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street | Johannesburg, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £86 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing