We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large comfortable rooms, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Large comfortable rooms, friendly staff”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before flying on to Victoria Falls. I was pleasantly surprised at the size and comfort of the room we had. Concierge service was great booking a trip for us to apartheid museum and recommending The Butchers Shop as a fairly local excellent restaurant. Had a slight hiccup over delay in pool lunch and the couldn't care less attitude of restaurant manager but this was more than made up by Sharon the customer service manager who went "the extra mile" to make sure we were happy. The hotel shuttle bus was great and punctual. Good place to stay for business or short stop over

Room Tip: We had no problem with noise but did not have a room overlooking the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear GillyT,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your feedback in order to fine tune our operations.

I am sorry you had a disappointing experience with your lunch on our pool deck which we will thoroughly investigate, however I am extremely happy to know that Sharon was accommodating and managed to assist with your query.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Johannesburg on your next visit.

With kind regards
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    461
    159
    63
    41
See reviews for
96
240
63
642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

There is nothing negative I can say about this property. Great rooms, friendly staff and an excellent restaurant. Perhaps location is not it's strong suit.
The first clue is that the lobby has to be accessed by an elevator to the fourth floor, with security on the ground floor.
It is a self contained oasis but not in an an area that you would want to stroll about at night. By day, it is within blocks of some of the best shopping Johannesburg has to offer.
Staff was very helpful in scheduling day trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent the one night at the Radisson while on Honeymoon (waiting for the next days transfer). The hotel really surprised us and went well above what we expected, bed decorated with petals, chocolate covered strawberries delivered to the room.

If we're ever back in Joberg we'd stay at the Radisson again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo_and_Franny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Jimbo_and_Franny,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! Your positive comments are tribute to our amazing staff who go the extra mile using their unique Yes I Can! service to ensure you leave happy and excited to come back.

We wish you many years of happiness and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

We look forward to your next visit to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level 6 Contributor
677 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Reasonably modern place with an odd lift system where you enter the floor before you enter and then you rush to the lift indicated before the door closes as it gives you little time before it speeds off empty.

But my big beef if the noise I stayed on the 19 th floor and reception which is on the 13 th floor. It is like an atrium and the noise is amplified and it was very very noisy in the room. I have written maybe a hundred hotel reviews and this is my first complaint about the room

The room had lots of long hairs in the bathroom

Breakfast was fine and easy access to Mandela square

Overall about average despite big rooms and ok service .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear barcaranger,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor - this helps in areas that we need to improve on. I am sorry you experienced noise from our atrium, we will ensure that on your next visit you are allocated a room away from the atrium & as high up as possible so you are not affected by this again.

We have addressed the issues concerning the cleanliness of your bathroom with our Executive Housekeeper who will discuss a way forward with her team that this is not experienced again.

We are pleased that you did enjoy the room & hope to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in the near future.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed overnight at the Radisson on two separate occasions en route/returning to/from the Kruger National Park. The pick up from Jo'burg railway station to the hotel was nearly 2 hours late, and the taxi to the airport on the way home was never booked! Although the hotel promised to investigate, ultimately nothing ever happened. This shouldn't happen, the taxi firm are in the hotel and sit alongside the concierge desk on the ground floor! Apart from this, the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear ray s,

Warm greetings from Johannesburg!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We take all our guest incidents very seriously & would like to apologise for your transfers being delayed & incorrectly booked, we will discuss this with our in house transfer company to avoid this from happening to other clients in future.

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our hotel - we hope you enjoyed your time in the Kruger and look forward to having you stay a little longer on your next visit to Johannesburg.

With kind regards
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

It was weird going to a high floor to registration, but it is what it is. Rooms are OK, when i took a shower, the shower/bathroom got flooded and I've heard someone complaining of a similar problem... nothing fancy - just a normal, regular business hotel room.
the gym though is excellent! strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoraTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear LoraTraveling,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on TripAdvisor - we really appreciate your feedback.

We have done extensive work on our showers to improve the drainage facility & are sorry to hear you experienced a flooding bathroom - our Maintenance team will address this issue in your room to avoid future guests experiencing the same thing.

We are very encouraged that you enjoyed the Platinum Planet Fitness Gym - we are very proud to be able to offer this amazing facility to our guests - the state of the art gym helps to wind down after a busy day at the office.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I was here Nov 2012 for 5 days and could not fault the hotel. The rooms were spotless, great in size and had everything I needed. I only ate breakfast at the hotel as was out at night for dinner, but could not fault this either, there was a great variety. Staff were extremely helpful and done more than I expected of them. I arrived at the hotel early before my check in time and they could not be any more accommodating, held my luggage and also provided me with a changing room and shower facility to freshen up until my room was available.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Charlie B,

Thank you for your amazing review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

It makes us proud to know you had a faultless stay & enjoyed each aspect of the hotel from the room, breakfast as well as the friendly staff we have.

Our team always go the extra mile to ensure our guests are happy and this is wonderful to know that you were well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on your next visit to Johannesburg.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1,303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing