We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I used this hotel to run a workshop for approx 40 delegates, some of whom were staying at the hotel, including myself. The workshop facilities were generally fine and I would use this facility again. We did, however, have a problem on the first when a number of delegates went to the Radisson Blu Gautrain hotel which is about 300m away...advice to Radisson would be to put the word 'Gautrain' down the side of the hotel, rather than just at the front!
On a personal level, the check in was good and the rooms are well appointed and very clean and comfortable. The lifts have to be the most irritating thing in this hotel and management must surely do something about it...a few minutes in the lobby and the chaos is obvious. The hotel offers free wifi which worked well in the room, but kept dropping out in the workshop meeting room.
Breakfast and dinner were fine, but to be honest the restaurant and bar service was very poor considering the large number of staff who seemed to be quite happy to stand around talking between themselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor - we are really happy that you enjoyed your room & conference facilities whilst you stayed with us.

We are extremely grateful for your feedback regarding the wifi & lift challenge as we continuously strive to improve on our services offered to our guests & this will most certainly be on our list to discuss in the New Year.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in 2014.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    451
    158
    59
    41
See reviews for
91
230
61
630
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you're looking for a business hotel in Sandton this is it. Once you have gotten used to the elevator system, the rooms are good, internet works, room service with good food, great location and really nice breakfast.
You also have access to a very good gym. Reception there rather unfriendly but the gym is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Good day,

Thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on your most recent visit to Johannesburg & thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your positive comments is music to my ears of our hard work in ensuring our guests feel at home whilst staying with us however it is disappointing to hear that our front line staff were not as welcoming as they should be - I will be sure to address this with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Johannesburg upon your next visit.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I've stayed here and the Hilton Sandton a number of times and prefer the Radisson. It is modern, rooms well equipped, nice bar & restaurant, with great views from the rooms and restaurant.
The food isn't too bad for hotel food, possibly a little pricey, but restaurants are nearby.
I haven't had any issues with the wifi like some others have. I've spend number of days working from th hotel with uninterrupted access and good phone reception.
The gym second to none & the spa is one of the best around. Also they do include hair conditioner which often hotels don't have which is useful!
The shuttle goes every 30 mins to Mandela square £ gaurtain station & they will also come and do an adhoc pick up if necessary.
Definitely my choice of hotels in Sandton.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank UK_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear UK_Jen,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stays with us & extremely pleased that you have experienced consistent wifi connectivity - as we strive to continuously improve on our services to our clients your comments help us to recognise what we are doing right.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in the near future.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel is a disappointment, I could never get the internet connection to work during my 5 days stay, and when it did work, it was always too unstable. Hotel staff was unhelpful , slow response.
It's a good location but only if you lower the standards, this hotel cannot be qualified as 5 stars, weak service, substandard furniture and decoration that are far from providing the experience it promisses.
One pathetic example is the bad frame for a super king size bed and the bed, king size. That is the side table on one side is near the bed and on the other side there is a 40 centimeters gap between bed and side table.
The elevators are energy saving but do not take into account the morning rush, so users end up standing on a line to be able to call the next elevator to reach ground floor only after the full one is gone as if you plug in the floor it keeps pointing to the lift that clearly will not accomodate all guests willing to use the elevator.
There are a number of other incredibly poor solutions everywhere but the worst is to promise a internet connection that never works, and no plan B for when it goes completelly dead.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Clo1111,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am concerned to hear you did not enjoy your stay however we have taken your comments very seriously as we strive continuously offer great services to our clients.

We are in the process of assessing our internet as this is a must for any traveller.

We hope that you will try us again on your next visit to Johannesburg & allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just back from the Radisson Blue in JNB..i was very impressed with the rooms and quality of the hotel, its modern and very secure IE reception on the 13th floor and a key operated elevator system..the room service was slightly disappointing but hey your in South Africa why eat in ? the pool area is very quiet and relaxing..if you want a modern very clean hotel, This is the one for you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear ian h,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on TripAdvisor from your most recent visit.

Your comments are extremely positive and for this we thank you.

With the amazing weather we have been having of late I can only agree with you on how great our pool deck has been.

We look forward to your next visit to Johannesburg & hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lightwater Uk
Level Contributor
308 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Located closely to the Sandton shopping mall and conveniently for the main rail station and the Gautrain to JNB airport this hotel has many benefits. The reception on the 13th floor is spacious and there was no wait to check in. My room was spacious and spotlessly clean, the huge bed was comfortable, but the pillows were far too soft and spoilt what would have been an excellent nights sleep. The bathroom is very well appointed with a large bath and seperate shower, high quality toiletries are supplied. There are two pools, one outside with plenty of sun loungers and shaded areas, the other inside near the spa. The indoor pool is huge compared to most hotels, and the fitness centre spread over seperate floors is superb. As with all parts of the city, the hotel do not recommend you walk anywhere after dark, instead happy to arrange local transport for you..

Room Tip: Rooms on the 13th floor are quiet and on the same floor as check-in, therefore very accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garygeorge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear garygeorge3,

Thank you for your review & for taking the time to write this on TripAdvisor.

I am thrilled to hear your experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton was a good one. We strive for service excellence & are extremely proud of our hotel so to hear this response is excellent news.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit.

With kind regards
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before flying on to Victoria Falls. I was pleasantly surprised at the size and comfort of the room we had. Concierge service was great booking a trip for us to apartheid museum and recommending The Butchers Shop as a fairly local excellent restaurant. Had a slight hiccup over delay in pool lunch and the couldn't care less attitude of restaurant manager but this was more than made up by Sharon the customer service manager who went "the extra mile" to make sure we were happy. The hotel shuttle bus was great and punctual. Good place to stay for business or short stop over

Room Tip: We had no problem with noise but did not have a room overlooking the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear GillyT,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your feedback in order to fine tune our operations.

I am sorry you had a disappointing experience with your lunch on our pool deck which we will thoroughly investigate, however I am extremely happy to know that Sharon was accommodating and managed to assist with your query.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Johannesburg on your next visit.

With kind regards
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rezidor, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing