We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, low budget facilities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Court Sandton City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Sandton City
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good service, low budget facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel last week on business and found the service of the staff fantastic. Check-in and out was a pleasure and in general the staff was very friendly and attentive. However, the hotel does not have in-house room service, and the restaurant from where food can be ordered is not great. Also, the room itself was small, basic, facilities low budget and old and didn't seem clean. My bed had a thin blanket and sheet on it (no duvet) which meant I was cold the whole night. The bathroom is old and in dire need of upgrading. On the positive side, it is very close to the Sandton City shopping centre and convenient for business travel but in future I think I will try another hotel with better facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VonniCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ameliand, Reservations Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Guest Thank you very much for you postitive comments, and for making Garden Court Sandton City your choice of hotel to stay at. We do have room service facilities from 11h00-22h00 available at the hotel, I am glad to share with you that our hotel will be undergoing an upgrade on our bathrooms next year, once again thank you for taking time to post your comments.Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    587
    176
    54
    22
See reviews for
235
236
80
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

The only thing good about this hotel is the location, absolutely, nothing else to mention.
Is dirty, is smelly, breakfast is pathetic......

Room Tip: Go across the street to any other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CesarAlonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ameliand, Reservations Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comments, and for making Garden Court Sandton City your choice of hotel to stay at. I am excited to mention that our hotel will be undergoing an upgrade in the rooms next year, I have forwarded your comments to the relevent managers with regards to the cleanliness and the breakfast poor service areas that you experience, thank you once again for taking time to post your comments.Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Hi, My name is Margaret Mwembe Omukubi from Kenya. I have stayed in this hotel with my family during our Xmas holidays in 2008 and 2009. This is definitaly our choice hotel anytime we will be Joburg. It is close to the Nelson Mandela Square shopping mall which makes it easy to go shopping with the children. Staff offer excellent service delivery. I must mention Sydney Sachiwo at concierge and Gloria at rerservations whose services we will forever remember. My children cant wait for another opportunity down south. We will come again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ameliand, Reservations Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for you postitive comments, and for making Garden Court Sandton City your choice of hotel to stay at.
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have stayed at this hotel countless times over the past few years. It's by far the best value in Sandton and can't be beaten for location; it's just across the road from Sandton City shopping mall and Nelson Mandela Square. There is ample security and walking to/from the hotel at night is fine. The rooms are comfortable with flat screen tv's with plenty of international news and sport channels. The beds are very comfortable and the showers are excellent. Buffet breakfast is much improved and the staff, once a bit surly, are becoming friendlier. The hotel is excellent value for money and is surrounded by hotels costing much more.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Andrea23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ameliand, Reservations at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for you postitive comments, and for making Garden Court Sandton City your choice of hotel to stay at.
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed at the GC Southern Sun Sandton for a week recently and we had an amazing time. From the beginning, when I made a reservation their response was prompt and i was lucky that closer to time they even informed me the room rate had further reduced than what was originally quoted. I appreciated their honesty and that was when i decided GC Sandton is the place for us. Our check in was efficient they had no problem in finding our reservation. Staff are nice and helpful. The rooms are clean, with tea/coffee making facilities & free cookies, there is a safe and room service menu, the bathroom was clean too although I was disappointed to realise that they had re-packed a used bar of soap, thank God i had my own, this was a put off as i would not have expected it from a Southern Sun property anyhow, we didn't allow this to change our general opinion about the place. There is no fridge in the room, although i hope in the near future they could consider having one. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety. We had dinner at the Cafe Maude one night which was slightly expensive but the food and service was great. The hotel seems to be very popular with business people as it was busy during our stay!
The location is excellent too, especially if you are looking for something near the sandton shopping mall. You do not need a taxi as you can just walk and it is a safe place and it is a stone throw away from Sandton Convention Centre and the Nelson Mandela Square. Garden Court is right opposite the very expensive Michelangelo towers and in the same street as the Intercontinental and the Da vinci is also a walking distance away. The location is the same with these more expensive hotels therefore we were very happy to have discovered GC as it was great value for the money. Also, Sandton is big and by 6.00 p.m we didn't really see people walking around, Katherine Street is a bit far from the Mandela Sq and Convention Centre. So i would highly recommend the GC Southern Sun hotel anytime and would definately be staying there again!

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms always have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yolanda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ameliand, Reservations Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments, about your stay at our hotel, please be assured that you comments with regards to the soap has been communicated to the housekeeping manager.
Your comments with regards to the fridges and the pricing in cafe maude has also been noted and communicated to our sales and marketing.
Thank you for choosing Garden Court sandton City as your preferred hotel for your trio to Sandton.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirboo North, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

A wonderfully located hotel in the ever growing city of Johannesburg. The rooms are large and very comfortable. Although we requested inter-connecting rooms when we booked with our travel agent we didn't get them/ Our rooms were on the same floor and only about 2 metres apart (over the hallway). The food here is fantastic and the service was great. Staff very friendly and did offer to show us the connecting rooms but we couldn't get them straight away so we didn't change. being so close to a large shopping centre makes it an ideal place to stay in Jozi and well the kids will be older the next time we go.

Room Tip: use a travel agent, emphasise your room choise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garlick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ameliand, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your making Garden Court Sandton City your choice of hotel to stay at on your recent visit, I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay
Thank you once again
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

I've been to the Garden Court in Sandton several times on business and will be going again on vacation for a 3 day stop in Joburg.

The hotel is great, but nearly not as luxurious as its surrounding partners. It's the best option for budget travellers who want to stay in a safe and convenient place in the city.

The services and facilities are about what you expect when you pay these rates: good, functional with no big frills.

I thought the breakfast was excellent and the fitness centre is great. Room service was always fast and good - and I ordered a lot!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ameliand, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor
I am delighted that you choose Garden Court Sandton City as your preferred hotel for your most recent stay in Sandton
We look forward to welcoming you back again
Once again thank you for choosing our hotel
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Sandton City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Sandton City

Property: Garden Court Sandton City
Address: Cnr West and Maude Streets, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Sandton City 3*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish urban design and fuss-free approach to accommodation, Garden Court Sandton City is situated in the heart of Johannesburg. It is here that functional design meets smart technology, resulting in a surprisingly simple hotel that is easily able to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. The convenient location meanwhile has plenty of advantages for all guests. Business travellers are within easy reach of the acclaimed Sandton Convention Centre along with the rest of the Sandton CBD, while leisure travellers can enjoy the world-class shopping, entertainment and sight-seeing attractions found within the area. Getting around has never been easier, thanks to the high speed Gautrain route that spans across the city.Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Features A total of 444 rooms are offered, each furnished in a modern style. Aside from basic features such as baths and separate showers, facilities in each room include invitingly comfortable double or queen beds, workstations, air-conditioning, tea and coffee stations, DSTV, plug points and porter service among others. Wheelchair-accessible and smoking rooms can also be arranged on request. Other facilities that can be enjoyed within the hotel itself include free WiFi, complementary Gautrain station shuttles, Riffs Bar & Grill, a breakfast room, Sandton Sun Spa and access to other nearby amenities. Conferencing venues and facilities include two full-service meeting rooms, with packages on offer to suit your business needs. As a guest at our hotel, you can also look forward to a host of specials that add more value to your stay, such as our Frequent Guest loyalty programme. Take the stress out of travel planning with Garden Court Sandton City – an ideally located hotel that understands your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Garden Court Sandton City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Sandton City Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing