We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great value for your $. The world in your hands.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Court Sandton City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Sandton City
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great value for your $. The world in your hands.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I am a frequent guest at this hotel. I spent 13 days there on March 2014. Localization is near everything I need. Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City Mall, Sandton Convention Center, Sandton Mediclinic, Gautrain Station, etc. It’s like you have the world in your hands.
Rooms are small but comfortable and clean, with big plasma screens, free wireless internet, in room amenities, etc. Employees are gentle, educated and friendly. Breakfast time is like a party. There is always a great variety of fresh fruits, salads, breads, teas, cereals, meats, etc. There's always someone to help you with a smile.
I did not like the Riffs Bar and Grill. It is not comfortable. The atmosphere is heavy and dark, needing some restyling. The service at The Riffs Bar and Grill is poor and slow.

The Garden Court Sandton City is very recommendable.

Room Tip: Top Floor, 9th. A great view Ask a good room at the reception . They are so kind and helpfull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kool2bbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    589
    177
    54
    22
See reviews for
235
238
81
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location cannot be praised enough, right next to nelson Mandela square, 100m from the train from the airport, and suburb felt very safe., staff were extremely helpful and curious (especial the concierge) food was delightful. I did experience some complications with their laundry service. I dropped of some laundry for their 24 hour laundry service, and the staff did not tell me that it would actually take 48 hours due to public holiday by which time I would have already left Johannesburg. After many phone calls and 2 hours ( at 10pm) my laundry was eventually retrieved and returned to me (unwashed)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie5019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

very good exprence ,nice location ,next to a good shopping mall,room real value , food no problem ,kid enjoyed a lot , great family holiday ,also good hotel when on business. one can take the gautrain from the airport no need for a car.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank YusufOsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I spent two nights at the Garden Court Sandton City and had a rather pleasant stay. \the rooms are of a moderate size with just enough room for 2 adults to move around. The room and bed linen were clean and the bed comfortable. The décor can best be described as basic and reminded me a bit of Ikea DIY pieces. The cable TV selection was alright mostly suited to sports fanatics. I ordered room service on both nights and the delivery was prompt and food really good. The breakfast was alright and offered a fair selection of breakfast items. The only negative was that I was not there was no bell boy service on the night I arrived and yet the key card did not work properly on my initial attempt which meant I had to head back down to the reception to have it rectified which was done promptly. It is in an ideal location and I was able to use the train to the airport which is very convenient to avoid the traffic jams not to mention the time saved. I would definitely stay at the Garden Court again when travelling solo. Check in and out were smooth.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the elevators to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pusrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotels near perfect location right at the Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton Shopping center makes this an ideal spot from which to investigate the city either for business or pleasure and even after 5 nights still find plenty to do. Room service through Riffs restaurant was always prompt and correct with one of the best lamb burgers i have ever eaten.nearby are dozens of other F&B choices.
Service levels throughout my stay from the concierge, to front desk to house keeping were all faultless. Breakfast is a fantastic buffet with selections that vary from day to day. everything i ate was good and service, by a small army of staff ensure that no matter how busy (and on weekends the place was packed) the buffet was always full and guests coffee and tea needs were met without delay.
Check in and check out was fast and efficient and the billing correct. Perhaps the only downside was that I found the rooms a bit small but the free wifi and great service made up for this shortfall. I intend to return again net month for another 6 nights and and such would recommend this property to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamirAbdallahAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

All communication with customer should be routed through the reception especially if it is early in the morning. hotel staff should refrain from heading straight to the hotel room especially early in the morning

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Africanman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Garden Court Sandton is my favorite hotel in Joburg!
I strongly recommend this hotel chain to anyone who travels to RSA! The rates are reasonable, location good, excellent service , internet available

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Damaris Eugenia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Sandton City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Sandton City

Property: Garden Court Sandton City
Address: Cnr West and Maude Streets, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Sandton City 3*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish urban design and fuss-free approach to accommodation, Garden Court Sandton City is situated in the heart of Johannesburg. It is here that functional design meets smart technology, resulting in a surprisingly simple hotel that is easily able to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. The convenient location meanwhile has plenty of advantages for all guests. Business travellers are within easy reach of the acclaimed Sandton Convention Centre along with the rest of the Sandton CBD, while leisure travellers can enjoy the world-class shopping, entertainment and sight-seeing attractions found within the area. Getting around has never been easier, thanks to the high speed Gautrain route that spans across the city.Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Features A total of 444 rooms are offered, each furnished in a modern style. Aside from basic features such as baths and separate showers, facilities in each room include invitingly comfortable double or queen beds, workstations, air-conditioning, tea and coffee stations, DSTV, plug points and porter service among others. Wheelchair-accessible and smoking rooms can also be arranged on request. Other facilities that can be enjoyed within the hotel itself include free WiFi, complementary Gautrain station shuttles, Riffs Bar & Grill, a breakfast room, Sandton Sun Spa and access to other nearby amenities. Conferencing venues and facilities include two full-service meeting rooms, with packages on offer to suit your business needs. As a guest at our hotel, you can also look forward to a host of specials that add more value to your stay, such as our Frequent Guest loyalty programme. Take the stress out of travel planning with Garden Court Sandton City – an ideally located hotel that understands your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Garden Court Sandton City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Sandton City Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing