We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Court Sandton City
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Kitwe, Zambia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Good location, clean and friendly hotel. Walking distance to great shops and restaurants. Only downside noise from slamming doors and thin windows so you hear the traffic below despite being in the 9th Floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLinz, General Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. It is sincerely appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be back again soon.
I do apologise for the disturbance and noise caused by the doors and have asked my team to adjust them so that they close softly.

All the best and warmest regards

Linda Reddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    599
    180
    54
    22
See reviews for
245
242
84
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our trip to Sandton was comfortable and enjoyable because we stayed at the Garden Court which is literally next door to Nelson Mandela Shopping Mall, with its outstanding shops and restaurants. The room was superb, clean and homely, but for a little splash from the shower. We had an extra blanket just in case it got too cold! Breakfast was refreshing, with chicken sausage

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLinz, General Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed it and hope that you will be back again soon.

Warmest Regards

Linda Reddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX, Elkhart Lake WI
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

General South Africa advice -
There are few power outlets in any hotel we stayed in over 2 weeks, including this one. In addition to your South Africa power adapters take both UK and European Standard power adapters as this will give you access to 2 additional outlets - there seems to be always one or two SA, one UK and one European outlet. If there is power in the bathrooms it seems to be a South African standard because we saw it a few times, but it's not the South African adapter that you can find online. Plan on using your non-SA bathroom appliances outside the bathroom or to purchase new ones for use in SA only.


We stayed 3 nights in June 2014.. The first stay was for 2 nights and a second stay for 1 night.
The rooms are clean and "modern chic", very clean and quiet. Rain shower and very nicely done - small bathrooms.

The Elevators were impossibly slow and very small - don't be afraid to use the staff elevator (facing the elevator doors it's immediately behind you).

We were a group of 34 so the food comment may not apply to the general restaurant. Food the first night was a buffet and was very good, excellent variety - meats, veg, fruit, etc., quality was excellent. The curry was particularly nice. The food the other 2 nights was from a set menu and was fish, steak or lamb. Because we had children in the group this was an exceptionally poor menu selection - not sure if it was the tour company or the hotel who set the menu. The steak was poorly prepared, just a great slab of steak either overdone or underdone and tough no matter how it was cooked. The fist and lamb were unremarkable. It was nearly impossible to have the water glasses refilled.

The breakfast buffet was excellent at all times. Excellent variety, fruit, meats, omelettes, bagels, waffles, marmite and much more - even better on the Sunday morning we were there. Universal to almost all the places we stayed and true here was a wonderful array of juices. mango, strawberry, apple, orange and more.

Sandton is a very upscale area and we felt safe outdoors at night. There is not much in the area for walking about but immediately across the street and across a small outdoor pedestrian courtyard is an entrance to a Mall. It was absolutely huge and we did not begin to see all of it in our time available. Note that the prices we found in the "Africa" shops were very competitive. For example decorated ostrich eggs were 390 Rand, we found this same price for the same merchandise at all locations including the airport with one exception - the lowest price we found was 320 Rand at a roadside tent at God's Window.

I cannot comment on price as we only paid one price for the entire tour for 2 weeks.

Yes we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXFROMWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLinz, General Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is sincerely appreciated.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the country and hope that you will have the opportunity to come back again.
I must apologise for the inconsistency in the quality of the dinners you were served. Irrespective of the menu, the food should have been cooked to perfection and certainly tasty and service should have been much more attentive. I assure you that corrective action has taken place.

I wish you all the best and thank you for your honest feedback.

Warm Regards
Linda Reddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel can be simply described as very decent and well located.

The location is fantastic, in the heart of financial business district and literally across the road from the famous Mandela Square Mall and few walking distance from the Guatrain station (train service) which is a 10 minutes journey from the international airport. Varied night life options within walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel has just experienced a refit so the décor is modern. The rooms are very functional and very convenient for a business traveler though some amenities such as laundry service are not readily available, an iron board and iron had to be brought up to my room to help myself.

The breakfast was really good, I remembered this from a previous stay some years back and this has not changed.

The property is best suited to business travelers and couples on short stays not for family with children. I will definitely stay here again for my short business trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLinz, General Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is sincerely appreciated.
We will continue to ensure that our service is hassle-free and I am glad that you will be back to stay with us.
Whilst our inhouse option for laundry is self-service, we can arrange for laundry to be done off site but this will delivered to your bedroom in the evening.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes
Linda Reddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The stay was comfortable and hassle free. We arrived on the Saturday at 5pm and got help quickly. We order takeaway breakfast since we were leaving the next morning at 6am again. The breakfast was for 2.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jacques S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLinz, General Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the time taken to review our hotel on TripAdvisor as it aids in monitoring our service. I am glad that you had a good short stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Linda Reddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We visited southern Africa for 3 months in 2014. We began in Joburg and ended in Joburg. We stayed at the Garden Court a total of 27 days in 4 separate visits. Loved the location, the staff and the breakfasts! We highly recommend the Garden Court/Sandton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Maristhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLinz, General Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad to have you refer to our hotel as your "Joburg home". It is a great compliment and aids in ensuring we maintain our service levels. Thank you for your support and taking the time to review us.
I hope that you will be back again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards
Linda Reddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I requested a one-night stay at this hotel, but I was hoping to have a single bed. The room was a bit too small for a double bed as a single person. I think it is always feasible to provide rooms based on the number of occupants. The hotel is in a great location (just across from Sandton City Mall). The mall is a great place for food and shopping. The hotel is on the other side of the mall from the train station, which is ultra convenient for intracity travel to check out near and new places for an excellent tour of the surrounding areas.

The customer service was ok and the dining was not so much experienced, due to the mall restaurants being so near. I would recommend this hotel due to the cost and location. I just wish the room was not so cramped.

Room Tip: Ask for a single bed if traveling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLinz, General Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is really appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that the location of our hotel met your needs.
I apologise that the bedroom was not to your satisfaction but hope that you will be back to stay with us when you are next in Sandton.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
Linda Reddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Sandton City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Sandton City

Property: Garden Court Sandton City
Address: Cnr West and Maude Streets, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Sandton City 3*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish urban design and fuss-free approach to accommodation, Garden Court Sandton City is situated in the heart of Johannesburg. It is here that functional design meets smart technology, resulting in a surprisingly simple hotel that is easily able to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. The convenient location meanwhile has plenty of advantages for all guests. Business travellers are within easy reach of the acclaimed Sandton Convention Centre along with the rest of the Sandton CBD, while leisure travellers can enjoy the world-class shopping, entertainment and sight-seeing attractions found within the area. Getting around has never been easier, thanks to the high speed Gautrain route that spans across the city.Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Features A total of 444 rooms are offered, each furnished in a modern style. Aside from basic features such as baths and separate showers, facilities in each room include invitingly comfortable double or queen beds, workstations, air-conditioning, tea and coffee stations, DSTV, plug points and porter service among others. Wheelchair-accessible and smoking rooms can also be arranged on request. Other facilities that can be enjoyed within the hotel itself include free WiFi, complementary Gautrain station shuttles, Riffs Bar & Grill, a breakfast room, Sandton Sun Spa and access to other nearby amenities. Conferencing venues and facilities include two full-service meeting rooms, with packages on offer to suit your business needs. As a guest at our hotel, you can also look forward to a host of specials that add more value to your stay, such as our Frequent Guest loyalty programme. Take the stress out of travel planning with Garden Court Sandton City – an ideally located hotel that understands your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Sandton City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Sandton City Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing