We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the Hustle and Bustle of Jo,berg”
Review of Claires of Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claires of Sandton
Ranked #2 of 77 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“An oasis in the Hustle and Bustle of Jo,berg”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Claires of Santon is one of the best guest houses I have stayed at in a 30 year career of travelling the world. It is set in a safe residential area of Santon but within easy reach of the shops and restaurants. Your hostess Claire is a delightful person and very knowledgeable on Africa.

Within walking distance is "Dylans" restaurant which provides a comprehensive menu at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithT554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you and such kind words and wonderful compliments.
We were thrilled that you got to spend some quality time at Claires and that the discovery of Dylans added to your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    37
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
70
31
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My brother and I spent several nights at Claire's and loved every minute! He arrived a day earlier than scheduled and was welcomed. They staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We walked to Nelson Mandela square for dinner but took a taxi back. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkeleykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we were really happy that David could join you on your visit to South Africa.
How many more countries/continents to go until you achieve your goal?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My friends and I had the great pleasure of staying at Claires in March 2013.
The service from before you arrive until your absolute last moment is impeccable. Due to my own mistake I had managed to make a mess out of bookings, but it was really no problem as the staff and patron easily fixed the necessary and we all had a great stay.
The hotel is quiet, friendly and absolutely done with great taste. The food is excellent and in volume.
Locationwise the hotel could hardly be placed in a more convenient spot

Room Tip: All room are good, dont worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranckKayser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We so appreciate you comments and compliments and enjoyed having you and your friends "decorating" our pool.
I am glad your trip to South Africa was an all round success.
Come back to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I came to South Africa for a work trip and booked Claires as it was in a central location close to our meetings. Located in a nice part of town, and close to all the normal amenities, you couldn't ask for more. Excellent rooms and a great home cooked fresh breakfast, it certainly added a relaxing element to our trip. The occasional dip in the pool was also welcome during those hot days.

An all round great stay, very welcoming and relaxed staff staff, with a fast wireless connection around the whole complex; very important if on business!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are delighted that you were able to enjoy a relaxing time with us and make use of our lovely pool. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Claires is superb.Looking back at earlier reviews it is hard to find anything new to add, We have stayed there several times on overnight stops on our way to and from Maputo. After a long flight from Europe Claires is just what you need. To our shame we have never spent any time in Joburg. Each time we think we should, but then we look at the lovely pool and garden and the comfortable rooms and outside areas and decide to stay put and have a cup of tea and watch the birds. Claire organises our pick ups from the airport, packed lunches and a wonderful dinner. As long as we visit Joburg we won't be going anywhere else. Thanks again Claire it is a pleasure to know you and your staff. Only sorry it will be severfal months before we are back. Toni

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
What can I say? Can I wait for that long for the friendly clink of glasses at the pool side? Wishing you the best of seasons. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Makes you feel all the attention is on you alone. Specious rooms with all required (seemingly refurbished given the outside structure looks older) amenities, good internet. The silence around the place makes it perfect for relaxing away from the busy Sandton neighborhood. I would not exchange this for any big-name hotel in Sandton even for the same amount of money!!
Today is my last day here but I will certainly come back and will highly recommend to any one

Richard G

Room Tip: upper floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Well you certainly know to charm us ladies. Thank you for your prompt and warm review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I chose Claires because of its TripAdvisor ratings and value.

The ratings are correct! Top class hotel style rooms but way better atmosphere, and those 'oh so important' little personal touches......very friendly and warm, helpful people.

It's a quiet spot, you can just relax at Claires. OK. Acid test time......when I go back to Jo'burg will I stay there again? Definitely, it's a no-brainer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROB_H_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for your endorsement of Claires. We look forward to your swift and frequent return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.5 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
861 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
1.7 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#6 of 48 in Sandton
819 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claires of Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claires of Sandton

Property: Claires of Sandton
Address: 42 8th Street | Parkmore, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Claires of Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claires is a welcoming, secure oasis, minutes from Sandton City offering easy comfort, personalised service and excellent food. Spacious, tastefully decorated rooms have quality amenities and separate entrances into an enticing garden and pool.Enjoy breakfast on the charming, shady verandah. Within easy reach of major attractions in Sandton and environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Claires of Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claires Of Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing