We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Jo'burg”
Review of Claires of Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claires of Sandton
Ranked #2 of 79 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our family group of 9 (3 gen.) took the whole upstairs rooms at Claires at our 2 visits in April and May. We had a great time. The staffs were all v. helpful. "Z" was on site 24/7 almost so assistance was always available. We wouldn't stay at anywhere else if we visit Jo'burg again. Honestly I don't know how Claire can offer such luxury at this great rate. At night, we couldn't hear any sound from the streets so a v. quiet neighborhood. V. safe!

Room Tip: Room 2 upstairs is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charnchai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Being a part of your family holiday in SA was a treat and a wonderful experience for us. You were gracious guests and we are delighted that you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here and if I need to stay in the Johannesburg area I will always choose Claire's! Where to start? The rooms are clean and completely lovely - all modern furnishings and fixtures (even underfloor heating in my bathroom in the room I stayed in this time around!) The staff are lovely and will take real care of you. There are so many nice little touches in the rooms such as the provision of a caffetiere and "proper" coffee as well as some really cool little snacks as additions to the usual hotel mini-bar selection (the bags of dried peaches are my favourite!) There's also a microwave and some cutlery and other bits and bobs in the rooms which just makes life a bit more convenient if you don't always have time to head out for dinner. The breakfast is so delicious and has such individual style from the yummy plates of fruit to the home cooked food and the mind boggling selection of teas available!!! Wi-fi is free and fast (I really can't stress how much I no longer take free wi-fi for granted these days - if I find a place which includes it they get a big thumbs up!!) and to top it all off the rate is so reasonable. I really cannot find fault with this place - in fact my colleague is now also a big fan of Claire's since I also booked him in here this trip. Two happy customers :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazmantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for noticing all the "nice little touches" in your room. The free and fast Wi-Fi is an added extra that many of our guests find essential and we are delighted that you made good use of it. We hope to see you on your next trip to South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Claires deserves the best rating, it is just like a home away from home and just so relaxing. Zodwa always welcomes you like a part of the family, Chantal will always have you laughing and Claire as busy as she is always makes time to say hello. I officially love going to JHB due to the above mentioned people, keep it going..you are all brilliant!!! See you sooner rather than later...

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Such compliments, thank you so much and we love having you stay with us. You are a charmer!
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Exceptionally friendly and efficient staff, gorgeous, well-appointed rooms and scrum-diddly-umptious breakfasts. My only regret was that the following two days of my Jhb trip were fully booked at Claires and I had to find alternative accommodation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Claires regularly offer a room upgrade over weekends - just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Your scrum-diddly-umptious breakfast gave us a good giggle. Thank you for your kind words and next time we would love you stay longer at Claires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have recently returned from our trip to south Africa,our first 3 nights and last night were spent at this beautiful guest house. You could not find fault with anything here.Excellent value for money, Fabulous rooms, very helpful and attentive staff and all amenities you could wish for.We were made to feel so welcome, and on returning for our last nights stay it was like coming home! Our only regret it is that we couldn't stay for a few more nights to relax after our trip to the Kruger. The breakfasts are to die for. I would certainly recommend staying here if you are looking for somewhere in this location. Nothing is too much hassle for the owner and her staff. We really hope that we can come back here again sometime.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellabecksozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

We do hope you will come back and visit for a while longer, you are a wonderful group of people. Thank you for the high praise and for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My wife and I stayed in Claires for two nights last month. The location was really convenient as it was close to Mandelar square and Rosebank. All the staffs there were very kind. Breakfast was exceptional. We will definitely stay there again if we go to Joburg later.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taehoon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

We were glad that we could help with your travel plans and that everything worked out well with your visa. Zodwa is always grateful for feedback on our breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This place was amazing, the service is world class and the people are brilliant. All of them. You will never feel like a stranger and they will bend over backwards to accommodate your needs. Highly recommend this place. Its peaceful and tranquil. the rooms are clean, airy and massive.
The breakfast will fill you for the rest of the day.
This place will not compromise on quality....

Will see you again soon......

Room Tip: Top floor has more sunshine coming through, so if you are not an early bird, the sun will motivate y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

From the onset, your energy and enthusiasm was contagious and we were delighted to be part of your "home coming" trip. You have to promise to bring the kids next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.6 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,356 reviews
2.0 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 46 in Sandton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claires of Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claires of Sandton

Address: 42 8th Street | Parkmore, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Claires of Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claires is a welcoming, secure oasis, minutes from Sandton City offering easy comfort, personalised service and excellent food. Spacious, tastefully decorated rooms have quality amenities and separate entrances into an enticing garden and pool.Enjoy breakfast on the charming, shady verandah. Within easy reach of major attractions in Sandton and environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Claires of Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claires Of Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing