We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claires of Sandton
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$158
US$141
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$302
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$121
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$146
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$708
US$686
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$188
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
284
39
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
39
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury guest househome away from homeexcellent breakfastlovely guesthousesandton cityfresh fruitevery morningbeautiful gardenwonderful staybreakfast roomsouth africacomfortable roomsan oasisbusiness tripmini barchantaljoburg
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on our way back home. Reviews were more than right. Thought it was overrated, but it is not at all!
Superfriendly and personal staff, excellent breakfast and luxurious rooms!
Beautiful garden as well, you don't even feel like being in the city.
Had some stuff in a locker on the other side of town and they even picked this up for us without any extra charge.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauracvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Happy travellers, we were happy to assist with bringing your luggage over for you.
When returning from safari, many of our guests appreciate our comfortable rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were welcomed with a smile when we arrived. Everyone was very helpful as this was my first time driving in Johannesburg. The staff went out of there way to assist us. The Breakfast in the morning was 5 star and also the hospitality at the Guest House.

I will recommend this B & B to anyone that would go to Johannesburg....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis Adriaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Manager at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dankie Louis, it was fun helping you navigate your way through Joburg and we look forward to meeting the whole family later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I can't speak highly enough of this wonderful place hidden away in Parkmore. The rooms were spacious with a very comfortable bed and free wifi. The bathroom had twin sinks, lovely long bath and a powerful shower.

The swimming pool in the beautiful gardens looked inviting but as it was the middle of winter in Joburg, I didn't brave it. On a summers day, it would be wonderful.

Breakfast was superb with fresh fruit, cereal and cooked breakfast all on offer. There was always a good selection of tea and coffee.

We had a hire car so the location wasn't a problem. If you want to eat out, the restaurants of Sandton are a short drive away or there is also a large "Pick and Pay" supermarket a couple of minutes drive away.

Next time I'm in Joburg, we'll definitely look to stay at Claires.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 92rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

You are such a wonderful family and we would love you to return to Claires. Your next visit has to be in Summer so we can all enjoy a barbeque and swim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had read the reviews and they don't lie. Lovely surrounds - eating the excellent top quality breakfast whilst watching the birds outside was a great experience.

Service was friendly but excellent. The room was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable, as was the bathroom. Would always stay if we returned to Johannesburg.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 507ChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you and we would love to have you stay with us again. With Spring in the air, the birds & flowers are beautiful and a treat to watch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Reading all the reviews on Claires had us a bit suspicious at first--could any place actually deserve these ebullient comments? Having decided to take the plunge after poring over 30+ hotels/inns/B&Bs in the area, we were happy to find that all was consistent at Claires with what others had written.

We were hoping for a quiet and relaxing few days in Joburg, and our stay at Claires was exactly that. We liked that it was removed from the hustle and bustle of the city center, and for the gentleman from Iowa who was complaining about the location: perhaps next time you should do your research on Google maps before picking a place (also, in case nobody told you, here in South Africa you should be thankful for those high walls and electric wires--they keep you safe).

For the rest of us, why choose a hotel when you're going to get all the same amenities at a more picturesque place with friendly staff that comes with free wi-fi and a scrumptious complimentary breakfast? Also, the staff graciously upgraded us to the biggest room at no extra charge simply because it was available; in my book, that should be filed under "best practices in B&B management."

Tip: Claires is more of an ideal accommodation for those bringing their own cars. While it sounds easy enough to arrange for cab services, I can see the location being a bit of an inconvenience for those who like to be out and about. Parking is available and complimentary.

All in all, we are definitely going back when we visit Joburg again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

We so appreciate your high praise and are glad that you loved your upgrade. I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed my crash course in the "truth behind" Greys Anatomy and have asked my local video store to order in Scrubs.
We look forward to seeing you two soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews