We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 'home' in Johannesburg”
Review of Claires of Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claires of Sandton
Ranked #2 of 78 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My 'home' in Johannesburg”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Since 2010 I have stayed at Claires each time I have come to Johannesburg on business - so every month. Comfortable rooms and a very accommodating team - I always enjoy staying here. Breakfasts are delicious. The team goes the extra mile - even delivering my laptop power cable to me when i needed it for a presentation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
That you consider us “your home in Johannesburg” means so much to us, we always look forward to your arrival and to our morning chat over a good cup of coffee at breakfast.
Thank you for your review and a special thank you for your continued support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    37
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
70
31
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a choice we have made! Based on favourable guest reviews we picked up Claires and hit the jackpot. Claires offers you much more than good bed and breakfast. The house is nice and well located, the garden is beutifully taken care of. Claires staff treat you with a warm welcome, a friendly good morning every day, useful tips for your stay in town. They provide reliable partners for your safe transportation in the city or outside it. Claire, Chantal, Zodwa etc - are like old friends and even give you hugs on departure, just for you to wish come back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Some guests with impaired movements may prefer to stay in ground-level apartments as there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to write a review for us. We so enjoyed sharing your memorable occasion with you and we would love for you to return to Claires. I have to mention that the chocolate cake was delicious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Professional, respectful, safe, and welcoming are a few words that come to mind when I think about my seven (7) day stay at Claires of Sandton. Mama Z and Chantal arranged my travels to the Sandton convention center and other nearby destinations. My room was immaculately kept. In short, Claires of Sandton is for you if enjoy eating delicious food (ask Chantal about the bread), watching colorful birds while you dine, engaging in great conversations, and a serene outdoor setting to reflect on your day. It is my hope to return to Joberg and Claires of Sandton in the near future. I only hope that space is available...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Professional, respectful, safe, and welcoming are what we strive for and we appreciate that took the time to write this review. You are such a warm and engaging person and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time with you. We look forward to your return and would love to offer you a free upgrade for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay a lot. The rooms are very spacy and extraordinary clean. The breakfast is excellent and the staff very friendly. The location is in a good neighbourhood, however you will need a taxi to go anywhere, because there is nothing in walking distance. The staff assists you in providing services like taxis etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guzata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Your review is appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your spacious rooms. We do our best to ensure that our guests needs are met and this includes transport requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I have now stayed here a couple times. The staff is fantastic and go above and beyond to make your trip enjoyable. Don't hesitate to ask for suggestions for things to do around JNB or really any of SA. They are a wealth of knowledge and I ended up having a great time in Lesotho taking their advice. The house is great, the breakfast is one of the best you will find in a guesthouse in SA and the location is perfect if you want something close and quiet in Sandton. Highly reccomend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jugglesfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Your enthusiasm and spontaneity are a breath of fresh air. Thank you for choosing Claires and for allowing us to participate in the planning of your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again, either in Jo'burg or Helsinki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here on another business trip, not our first stay here, which says it all. The "office" under the trees, at the pool, in the garden was an absolute pleasure! Zodwa and Chantelle made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. Situated in a quiet area, lovely spacious rooms and fabulous breakfasts in the morning, the view of the birds from the dining room was a real treat and a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
We love having you stay with us and appreciate your kind words. Your "office under the trees" is the perfect way to start the day, especially on a beautiful spring morning.
We consider you part of the family and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unterschleissheim, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We only stayed there for 1 night but had a great time there.
Excellent breakfast, great rooms, very comfortable! And the staff is extremely friendly!
The only "negative" thing is that the number of restaurants near the accommmodation is very limited!

Anyway, if I would travel to Jo'burg once again I would choose this guesthouse again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_C_Bayern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
We delighted that you enjoyed your night with us and found the room very comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Claires and hope that you will allow us to introduce you to a few local restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.7 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1,303 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
1.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claires of Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claires of Sandton

Property: Claires of Sandton
Address: 42 8th Street | Parkmore, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Claires of Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claires is a welcoming, secure oasis, minutes from Sandton City offering easy comfort, personalised service and excellent food. Spacious, tastefully decorated rooms have quality amenities and separate entrances into an enticing garden and pool.Enjoy breakfast on the charming, shady verandah. Within easy reach of major attractions in Sandton and environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Claires of Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claires Of Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing