We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claires of Sandton
Nearby Hotels
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$599
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
289
39
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
39
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury guest househome away from homeexcellent breakfastlovely guesthousesandton cityfresh fruitevery morningbeautiful gardenwonderful staybreakfast roomsouth africacomfortable roomsan oasisbusiness tripmini barchantaljoburg
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed at Claires for about 2 weeks with a group of fellow travellers. The place was spotless clean, anything i needed they had, the gardens are dreamy, the food is to die for and the staff is the most friendly, welcoming, sweet and polite staff I have ever encounter. I felt like I was visiting family. Thanks for your delicious breakfasts Zodwa, my mornings are certainly not the same without you! I will be back !!!
ps: heated tile floors made it for a beautiful morning shower!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

What an encouraging review, thank you! We loved the lively atmosphere that you and the group created, especially at the braai! We would love to see you again, perhaps a summer visit so you can enjoy a swim in the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed at Claires on Sandton for a couple nights after a long flight and loved it! The team is friendly and they go an extra mile to make your stay unforgettable. I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms and was very comfortable. I would highly recommend it..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MercyWambui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Your recommendation is greatly appreciated, thank you. Restful, Friendly & Welcoming, what a wonderful compliment from such a wonderful guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After arriving on an (very!) early flight from Cape Town, we were warmly welcomed at this delightful guesthouse. The hosts were inviting and offered to hold onto our luggage for us until our rooms were ready for inhabiting.
The garden with surrounding birdlife and gorgeous blue swimming pool were a welcomed site and made our stay that much more delightful.
The rooms were adequately furnished with two single beds side-by-side, although Queen sized beds are available upon request. The bathroom housed a spacious bath and separate shower with a large vanity mirror and basin.
Breakfasts in the morning were hearty and neatly laid out at a cosy breakfast table with a long menu of all your favourite breakfast treats.
The Johannesburg weather (warm and humid) attracted it's fair share of mosquitos, and the Claires' team went the extra mile to prevent any discomfort by supplying cans of mosquito repellent that made our sleep more peaceful.
All-in-all a lovely friendly team who went out of their way to ensure my whole family's comfort. A pleasure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your kind words; our team will always go the extra mile to ensure our guests are comfortable and breakfasts are a favourite with our guests, the menu variety seems to "tick all the boxes"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We arrived at this delightful guest house after a 15Hr direct flight from New York, to a warm welcome and immediately enjoyed the friendly do anything for you atmosphere by the staff and management team. We spent 5-days staying at this luxury guest house, just 8-mins away from down town Sandton shopping mall and only 30 mins from the airport, so convenient. We often stay at some of the best international brand hotels, but we just wanted a change in pace. This was a real delight to be pampered with a private, quiet bedroom and on suite. Just outside our room is the adjacent garden, with outside seating around patio and pool area in this very tranquil guest house setting. This was our first stay at Claires and we felt right at home, will be back for more soon. Business or pleasure, Claires will offer you great hospitality and luxury accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

After such a long flight, a bit of tranquillity and pampering are important. We are delighted that you enjoyed the private, quiet room and the pool area; we look forward to your return to Claires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stay in many hotels and consequently tend to play it very safe by staying in the sterile faceless corporate brands, where at least you can always be sure (ish) what you are going to get.
Consequently staying at Claires was a bit of departure from normal and at the time seemed a bit of a risk. We needn't have worried, we had a fantastic couple of days.
The area was safe, the setting beautiful, a tranquil guesthouse, with a lovely friendly team, including Zodwa, who makes one of the best and freshest breakfasts ever. Our room was secure, cosy and yet still very modern. Outside there are beautiful gardens, a clean swimming pool and some wonderful local wildlife. We would certainly recommend Claires to everyone and suggest people not be put off by the guest house tag - our accommodation matched any chain hotel and the service was much more friendly and a lot better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midlifetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for taking the plunge into Guesthouse Accommodation and for noticing our efforts in ensuring that our guests have a fantastic experience.
I have passed on your compliments to Zodwa; she prides herself in making the freshest, tastiest individual breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews