We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER STAY”
Review of Claires of Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claires of Sandton
Ranked #2 of 78 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

All in all a great place to stay. All staff is friendly, accommodating and super. Was staying here for business the second time and felt really at home. No effort is too much! Everything has a special touch. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The 'luxury' rooms' are maybe nicer to have because they are upstairs, but the standard...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianejandrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

You ladies are wonderful and we love having you stay with us at Claires. Thank you for my present, I am still savouring them!
We look forward to seeing you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Claires of Sandton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

While visiting South Africa on business I had the pleasure of staying here for 10 days. It provided a home away from home. Everything was impeccable. The staff were amazing and showed great kindness to me during my stay. The breakfasts were nutritious and beautifully presented. It couldn't get any better. I would highly recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We had such a great time with all of you and were thrilled to be a part of your "African Adventure". We hope that your next trip will be soon and that you get to experience a South African summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

While visiting South Africa for business, a friend highly recommended that I stat at Claires of Sandton. My 5 days stay at Claires was nothing short of a pleasant and memorable experience - I really used to look forward to finishing my business during the day so that I could go back and enjoy my beautiful room and tranquil garden! The breakfast was wonderful and healthy. All this was made possible by the great service offered by Claire's wonderful team of amazing professionals all of whom were more than happy to serve and make my stay as well as that of other guests special.

I highly recommend Claire's for business, family or time out alone to refresh - definitely will not disappoint!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the top floor for more privacy & to enjoy the wonderful view of the garden...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your review and recommendation. The summer garden is looking beautiful and the birds are loving it; the next time you need a time out to "refresh", give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I had two children playing in a water polo tournament at St Stithian's School and found Claires of Sandton via Tripadvisor. It turned out to be the best decision we made ... the guest house was 4 min from the venue and the owners were very accommodating towards our non-compliant breakfast requests - one morning we had an early start, so they served us slightly early and the other morning we went to watch some games and then had a later breakfast, with which they were very accommodating. The room was perfect for us and the environment was very peaceful - something I was not expecting so close to Sandton. We went out for supper both evenings we were there and found restaurants very close by.
The staff were fantastic and there was nothing we could fault.
All in all a wonderful stay at a lovely oasis in Johannesburg and we can highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs, so there was no foot traffic past us.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManaC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We do our best to ensure that all our guests needs are met; thank you for noticing this. Our close proximity to Sandton and local restaurants is extremely convenient.
We appreciate you kind words and look forward to seeing you for the next tournament, hopefully the weather will be a bit kinder to the players.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Whilst the four of us from Australia were due to stay two nights, in the end we only stayed one night. How we wished we could have stayed longer. it is one of he best guest houses that we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail and the hospitality of the staff is what makes this guest house outstanding. If we ever come back to J'burg we would only consider staying at Claires

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryandneridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for kind words and compliments. We strive to maintain guest satisfaction and attention to detail is key in this process. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed at Claire's with my sisters their children, my children, my father and a few other relatives a few weeks ago. The accommodation is first class and her breakfasts are terrific. We were there for my bother's wedding and had a few night's out with family. Claire was good enough to arrange baby sitting which was a real treat.

Claire's is a lovely spot that I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieran f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

A fabulous time for a fabulous family. We loved meeting all of you and Zodwa thoroughly enjoyed spending time with the children. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you all soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My extended family and I took over Claire's for 4 nights as had flown over for our brothers wedding and from early engagement on email upto the moment we checked out, Chantal, Zodwa and the team went out of their way to ensure our every need (and boy were we needy!) was catered for. Our children had great fun by the pools all day, the breakfasts were OUSTANDING and after long days of socialising, we all slept in fabulously comfortable beds and rooms. It was a perfect time and we will definitely return - if Chantal can bear it!
PS - blackout curtains in the bedrooms are also such a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Not only can we bear it...we insist on you returning for a visit. We loved meeting all of you and hope that there is a family reunion for the 1st wedding anniversary (or stork party).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,335 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.6 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claires of Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claires of Sandton

Address: 42 8th Street | Parkmore, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: £55 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Claires of Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claires is a welcoming, secure oasis, minutes from Sandton City offering easy comfort, personalised service and excellent food. Spacious, tastefully decorated rooms have quality amenities and separate entrances into an enticing garden and pool.Enjoy breakfast on the charming, shady verandah. Within easy reach of major attractions in Sandton and environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Claires of Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claires Of Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing