We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Quality and Service”
Review of Claires of Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Claires of Sandton
Ranked #2 of 79 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is the third year in a row that my family has stayed at Claire's. Prime location, great service, friendliness and professionalism are the hallmarks of the experience. From the initial correspondence with Chantelle organising airport transfers to the day to day support and service from Zodwa, everything was fantastic. Claire was also around during this stay and we had a chance to chat and catch up which is fantastic compared to other similar guest houses i have stayed in in other parts of the world. We were also able to catch a live event at Nelson Mandela square which is a short distance away which was great. If my travels take me to Southern Africa again, i am sure i will be adding South Africa and Sandton in particular as a stop to experience the relaxed breakfasts, bird watching and comfy rooms at Claire's.

Room Tip: I have been in the The Hoopoe Room in a previous stay and this time we had The Cape room. Both were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Haggai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

.
My 3 day experience was tremendously enjoyable. Chantelle, ,Zodwa and their team were friendly, taking care of me as if I was royalty, but also professionally. The room was squeaky clean and pleasantly comfortable. A five star hotel has nothing on this place.
Breakfast was out of this world with coffees from Ethopia, Arabia and other exotic locations, fresh fruit that tasted like it was just plucked from the adjacent garden not to mention the scrumptuous French toast which remains my firm favourite. Will always be my first choice if I need accomodation in the area.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnceyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for 11 nights while in South Africa for a family member's operation.
Great location with lovely garden and pool, perfect for a spot of bird watching from the breakfast room. Breakfasts are as good as any 5 star hotel I've stayed in, and communal lounge area very comfortable post-op.
Thanks to Chantal and Zodwa for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjmazzer126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I have just spent an excellent weekend hosted @ Claire's of Sandton.

Where do I start....

Centrally located
Spacious parking (rare in this day and age! )
Relaxed but professional team!
Excellent breakfast choice
Rooms with attention to detail (multiple adaptors,microwave,bar fridge,double his and hers basins,underfloor heating,couch! )

What made the stay something special is I was unwell during my stay and Chantelle and Zodwa did as much as possible to assist me even giving me some medication.

Thank you so much. You guys really went the extra mile.There is a reason Claire's is rated so highly and now I know why!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank MikeBlue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

as comfortable as home. spacious bedroom and bathroom. friendly staff with a sense of humour and delicious breakfast. place of choice when in jhb.price is reasonable for a guest house of this standard.good to wake up to birdsong in a garden setting. Chantalle and Zodwa are helpful, friendly and both have a sense of humour which makes staying there even more welcoming.
there are some good restaurants nearby and Sandton is not too far away. my colleagues raved about the omlettes they had for breakfast and my only complaint was that i ate too much!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeterSO458WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a very good place to stop when In Johanesburg.
It's quiet, very cosy, the poeple are very nice, friendly
The rooms are clean and big.
I had a great time , Unfortunately I could not enjoy the outdoor swimming pool in the garden, I went there in winter
Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofia054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The friendly staff feel more like family and this for me, just makes all the difference. The rooms are impeccable, the breakfasts are scrumptious and the location is perfect.
For this reason, I dont always get the opportunity to stay at Claires as they are usually booked well in advance and I tend to travel at short notice.
They remain for my first choice however and I would recommend them well above any other establishment in the Sandton area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.6 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
2.0 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#24 of 46 in Sandton
106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 79 in Sandton
660 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyde Park Villas
Hyde Park Villas
#3 of 79 in Sandton
124 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bellgrove Guest House
Bellgrove Guest House
#10 of 79 in Sandton
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claires of Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claires of Sandton

Address: 42 8th Street | Parkmore, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: £58 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Claires of Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claires is a welcoming, secure oasis, minutes from Sandton City offering easy comfort, personalised service and excellent food. Spacious, tastefully decorated rooms have quality amenities and separate entrances into an enticing garden and pool.Enjoy breakfast on the charming, shady verandah. Within easy reach of major attractions in Sandton and environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Claires of Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claires Of Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing