We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, relaxed atmosphere”
Review of Tladi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tladi Lodge
Ranked #16 of 75 Sandton B&B and Inns
Basra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I have stayed at the Tladi a number of times before on business, mostly recently this week. They effortlessly accommodated my early arrival and allowed me to freshen up early prior to going onto my office. The grounds and accommodation are much more reminiscent of a rural environment than downtown Sandton yet are ideally placed to access urban highlights such as Nelson Mandela Square. The breakfasts are excellent, the rooms comfortable and importantly the wifi works well - a key drawback of many South Africa hotels. Ultimately it is a great place to stay with a relaxed service focused attitude.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. We are pleased we were able to accommodate your early check in. We always try to allow for early check ins, but this is sometimes dictated to us by what time the previous guest checks out.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Sandton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    7
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
26
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed at the Tladi Lodge before disappearing into the bush to work for 3 months so it was a very nice piece of luxury before my hardship.
The directions given to the hotel were very good, although I have driven in Jo'burg before and a check on Google Maps backed up the instructions. The arrival at the hotel was nice being met by the owner and the adorable dogs. After a brief checking in procedure where I was treated as an individual, not just another guest. I was taken to my room, located in a small cottage about 50m from the main building, The room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable.
I had a problem accessing wifi from the room which was very quickly resolved by the owner.
I had booked a meal at the hotel that evening and was given the choices early on so chef could prepare it. When I turned up for my meal I found that the well stocked bar area was done on trust. You simply helped yourself and jotted it on a list on the bar. There were no shocks as the reasonable prices were listed on the sheet.
I was asked by the owners if I wanted to sit with another single guest at dinner, which I agreed. It was nice to chat to someone else over my meal. The food was excellent and plentiful. After vour dessert the chef came out to talk to us, a very nice touch and spent some time with us talking about all sorts of stuff not just the food. A great experience.
Breakfast was also very nice with a large variety of choices.
It was very easy to come and go during the day having been given an access key to the secure car park.
The grounds of the hotel are very nice and although I didn't use the pool or tennis courts they looked in good order.
All in all a fantastic stay and one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. I would highly recommend all aspects of it and will definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thanks for your detailed review of Tladi Lodge. We hope you enjoyed your 3 month stint in the bush, and look forward to hosting you in South Africa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I can recommend this lodge for anyone seeking a relaxed and peaceful environment after a day at work. Both the owners go out their way to make sure you have a pleasant stay and if you wish, dinner is cooked for you at the lodge. Good sized rooms with comfy beds.
Only small downside is that you definitely will need a 10 minute drive into the centre in case you choose to dine-out or have a drink in the city.
Loved the pet dogs.
Recommended for any trip to Jo'burg area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serr_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, the only downside was it was a business trip ! The lodge was beautiful, with plenty of character, it has a homely feel and nothing was too much trouble. Ian and Sylvia clearly work hard to make their guests feel at home and get the most from their stay. The food was delicious and the dining experience pleasurable. I would certainly recommend this lodge for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I spend three weeks at Tladi Lodge in May 2012 and loved it. It is beautiful, serene, clean and friendly without the owners and staff being too 'in your face'. The two pet dogs and cat are also friendly without being over-familiar.

It is a short drive (under ten minutes) to Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square and yet still has a nice quiet, suburban feel. I didn't get to use the lovely pool or tennis courts, but breakfast was delish and dinner is available on request.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keishamaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schertz, TX
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

If you're looking for first class lodging at very affordable rates, look no further! We found Tladi Lodge on TripAdvisor and after spending three nights there, we are thankful this was our lodging of choice. The exceptional service provided by Ian & Sylvia and their entire staff, the peaceful atmosphere, the wonderful accommodations, the excellent meals by Chef Daryl and his kitchen staff and the nonobtrusive presence and companionship of Savannah and Levi made for a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. Tladi Lodge has our highest recommendation for anyone desiring quality lodging in the Jo-Burg area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at Tladi Lodge for Valentine's night. What a good choice! A beautiful lodge, stunning suite, great food and attentive hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fish Eagle Suite. A large bedroom, large lounge, beautiful bathroom and even a wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
5.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
714 reviews
4.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
390 reviews
2.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 48 in Sandton
1,264 reviews
1.4 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
2.4 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tladi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tladi Lodge

Property: Tladi Lodge
Address: 16 David Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tladi Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 2 acres of lush tranquil gardens, Tladi Lodge Johannesburg, combines all the benefits of a hotel with the intimacy of a guest house. This beautiful area boasts an abundance of cultural, natural and social highlights - you'll be spoilt for choice for things to do. Whether you fancy an awe-inspiring champagne balloon ride or a day on a manicured golf course, the hospitality staff at this 5 star guest house will be happy to advise. Tladi Lodge is an extensive thatched property surrounded by verdant trees and set amidst romantic winding pathways. The on-site tennis court and swimming pool will keep you in shape whilst you enjoy the open-air life. Welcoming business executives, couples and families with children of 8 years and older, the guest house is the perfect haven for work, relaxation or that extra-special break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tladi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tladi Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing